The largest animal found at Fort St. Joseph National Historic Site is the moose (Alces alces). Moose are the world's largest living deer - standing almost two metres at the shoulder. They have a long face with overhanging muzzle, a dewlap or 'bell' under the throat, and long powerful legs that allow the moose run at speeds up to 56km/h. The moose is usually dark brown to black, with beige or gray lower legs.

 

The male moose, or bull, has large, palmate antlers that drop in the fall after the mating season and re-grow each summer. The female, or cow, does not have antlers, and often gives birth to one or two calves in May or June. A moose can live up to 20 years in the wild.

 

The marshy and forested areas all around Fort St Joseph National Historic Site make an ideal moose habitat. They eat non-grass herbaceous plants in the summer and the bark, twigs and buds of woody plants in the winter. They also spend a lot of their time in water and are excellent swimmers, which gives them protection from predators as well as access to aquatic plants.

Le plus gros animal que l’on retrouve sur le lieu historique national du Fort-St. Joseph est l’orignal (Alces alces). L’orignal est le plus grand cerf vivant au monde, mesurant près de deux mètres à l’épaule. Ils ont un long visage avec un museau en surplomb, un fanon ou une « cloche » sous la gorge et de longues pattes puissantes qui lui permettent de courir à des vitesses allant jusqu’à 56 km/h. La couleur de l’orignal varie habituellement du brun foncé au noir. Ses pattes inférieures sont beiges ou grises.

 

L’orignal mâle, ou taureau, a de grands bois palmés qui tombent à l’automne après la saison des amours et qui repoussent chaque été. La femelle, ou vache, n’a pas de bois et donne souvent naissance à un ou deux veaux en mai ou en juin. Un orignal peut vivre jusqu’à 20 ans dans la nature.

 

Les zones marécageuses et boisées tout autour du lieu historique national du Fort-St. Joseph constituent un habitat idéal pour l’orignal. Ils mangent des plantes herbacées non graminées en été et de l’écorce, des brindilles et des bourgeons des plantes ligneuses en hiver. Ils passent aussi beaucoup de temps dans l’eau et sont d’excellents nageurs, ce qui leur donne une protection contre les prédateurs ainsi qu’un accès aux plantes aquatiques.