Minister’s Response

 

The Honourable Jonathan Wilkinson, Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, presented his response to feedback received through the 2020 Minister’s Round Table on Parks Canada, which was held last fall.

 

The Minister’s Round Table takes place every two years and provides an opportunity for Canadians to share their perspectives and help shape the future of Parks Canada and our country’s most treasured places.

 

In October of last year, Canadians were invited to share their views on five themes relevant to the work of Parks Canada:

  • Urban Parks;
  • Ecological Corridors;
  • Diversity, Inclusion, and Accessibility;
  • Indigenous Leadership in Conservation; and
  • Protecting our Cultural Heritage.

 

Over 13,000 people from across the country, including representatives of national Indigenous organizations and over 60 stakeholder organizations took part in the consultation, making this the largest engagement ever received for a Parks Canada Minister’s Round Table.

 

In response to the thousands of contributions received, 12 action areas were outlined. These actions will help Canada move forward on our collective efforts to protect 25% of lands and waters by 2025 and facilitate Parks Canada’s leadership in natural and cultural heritage conservation and promotion. This includes the Agency’s work on ecological connectivity and urban conservation, as well as supporting reconciliation and the leadership of Indigenous peoples in the conservation and stewardship of natural and cultural heritage. In addition, these actions will help further the protection of historic buildings and heritage places, including through strengthened legislation, and ensure that the stories of Canada’s history are told from diverse perspectives. Finally, they will help to advance the Agency’s commitment to make national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas even more welcoming and accessible to all Canadians.

 

The details on the action areas identified and what was heard during the consultation can be found in the 2020 Minister’s Round Table on Parks Canada - Report and Response.

 

Back to shoreLINES

Réponse du ministre

 

L’Honorable Jonathan Wilkinson, ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada a présenté sa réponse aux commentaires reçus dans le cadre de la Table ronde du ministre 2020 sur Parcs Canada tenue l’automne dernier.

 

La Table ronde du ministre a lieu tous les deux ans et donne l’occasion aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens de partager leurs points de vue et contribuer à façonner l’avenir de Parcs Canada et des trésors naturels et culturels de notre pays.

 

En octobre dernier, les Canadiennes et les Canadiens ont été invités à partager leurs idées et commentaires sur cinq thèmes pertinents pour le travail de Parcs Canada :

  • les parcs urbains,
  • les corridors écologiques,
  • la diversité, l’inclusion et l’accessibilité,
  • le leadership autochtone en conservation, et
  • la protection de notre patrimoine culturel.

 

Plus de 13 000 personnes de partout au pays, incluant des représentants d’organisations autochtones nationales et plus de 60 groupes d’intervenants, ont pris part à la consultation, ce qui en fait la table ronde du ministre sur Parcs Canada ayant connu le plus haut taux de participation à ce jour.

 

En réponse aux milliers de commentaires reçus, 12 actions ont été déterminées. Ces actions aideront le Canada à aller de l’avant dans ses efforts collectifs pour protéger 25 % des terres et des eaux d’ici 2025 et faciliteront le leadership de Parcs Canada en matière de conservation et de promotion du patrimoine culturel et naturel. Il s’agit notamment du travail de l’Agence sur la connectivité écologique et la conservation urbaine, ainsi que de soutenir la réconciliation et le leadership des peuples autochtones en matière de conservation et d’intendance du patrimoine naturel et culturel. En outre, ces actions contribueront à la protection du patrimoine bâti et des lieux patrimoniaux, notamment par le renforcement de la législation, et permettront de s’assurer que les récits de l’histoire du Canada sont racontés selon des perspectives diverses. Finalement, ces actions aideront à appuyer l’engagement de l’Agence à faire des lieux historiques nationaux, des parcs nationaux et des aires marines de conservation des endroits encore plus accueillants et accessibles pour l’ensemble de la population canadienne.

 

Les détails sur les actions déterminées et sur ce qui a été entendu lors des consultations se trouvent dans le document Table ronde du ministre 2020 sur Parcs Canada – Rapport et réponses.

<< Au fil de l’EAU