By Elia Marini

 

Last winter, I brought you a story about how we are working towards creating a new visitor experience strategy for Fort St. Joseph National Historic Site. This winter, I want to update you on our progress and provide a sneak peek into the process of visitor planning at the site.

 

To re-cap, a Visitor Experience Strategy is a planning tool used by Parks Canada for developing, implementing, and evaluating a site's programs, services, and amenities. The strategy is based on direction from the site's management plan, and creates a direction for visitor experiences.

 

The strategy is broken down into four pillars: (1) information gathering, (2) analysis, (3) options, and (4) action. The first two items were completed by a team of partners, stakeholders, and staff last year. We are now in the final stages of the strategy.

 

Information Gathering

First, the team assessed the site's strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats. Next, we developed an "Essence of Place" statement outlining the fort’s unique qualities, which serves as the foundation for building all our new experiences. At this stage goals are set. The team came up with three:

                1. Improve visitor centre infrastructure and revitalize exhibits;

                2. Create new programs and opportunities for visitors; and,

                3. Create a promotional strategy for the site.

 

Analysis

This is my favourite part of the process because under this pillar we get to break everything down. There are two steps in this pillar:

                1. Understanding the visitor; and,

                2. Evaluating the current services, amenities, and programs.

 

To understand our visitors, we needed to ask:  Who are they? Where are they coming from? What are their wants, likes, and needs while travelling? To find the answers we used market reports generated through on-site surveys or postal code collection, and spoke to site staff whose daily interactions with visitors provide a good understanding of visitor expectations.

 

Turning our attention to what the site currently offers, we created an exhaustive list of our programs, services, and amenities and evaluated each one, asking questions like: Will this help meet Parks Canada goals? Does it represent the elements of the "Essence of Place" statement? Does it satisfy the needs, wants, and likes of visitors? This information helps us see where we are doing well and where we need to improve—what to keep, modify, or eliminate.

 

Options

Finally, we get to everyone's favourite part of the strategy: coming up with NEW programs, services, and amenities! This is where our interpretation staff shine, as they research and develop the best possible programs for our visitors.

 

Action

In this final step, which we are currently working on, we bring everything together. We create a timeline for new projects to roll out, make sure there is a solid promotions plan in place, and create an investment plan to ensure we have the necessary resources.

 

Parks Canada’s ultimate goal is providing visitors with meaningful experiences while visiting Fort St. Joseph. So, what do we have planned for the site? I invite you to come down and check it out for yourself. Let's just say you’re in for a BANG of a good time!

 

Back to shoreLINES

Par Elia Marini

 

L’hiver dernier, je vous ai parlé de la nouvelle stratégie d’expérience du visiteur que nous élaborons pour le lieu historique national du Fort-St. Joseph. Cet hiver, je souhaite vous informer de nos progrès et vous donner un aperçu du processus de planification des visiteurs sur le site.

 

Pour résumer, une stratégie d’expérience du visiteur est un outil de planification utilisé par Parcs Canada pour aider à l’élaboration, la mise en œuvre et l’évaluation des programmes, des services et des commodités d’un site. La stratégie est basée sur le plan de gestion du site et crée une orientation pour les expériences des visiteurs sur le site.

 

La stratégie repose sur quatre piliers : 1) la collecte d’informations, 2) l’analyse, 3) les options, et 4) l’action. Les deux premiers points ont été terminés l’année dernière par une équipe de partenaires, d’intervenants et de membres du personnel. Nous en sommes maintenant aux dernières étapes de la stratégie.

 

La collecte d’informations

D’abord, l’équipe a évalué les forces, les faiblesses, les possibilités et les menaces du site. Ensuite, nous avons élaboré une déclaration sur « l’essence du lieu » soulignant les qualités uniques du fort, ce qui jette les bases de toutes nos nouvelles expériences. À ce stade, des objectifs sont fixés. L’équipe en a établi trois :

                1. Améliorer l’infrastructure du centre d’accueil et revoir les expositions.

                2. Créer de nouveaux programmes et de nouvelles possibilités pour les visiteurs.

                3. Créer une stratégie de promotion pour le site.

 

L’analyse

C’est la partie du processus que je préfère, car dans le cadre de ce pilier, nous avons la possibilité de tout disséquer. Ce pilier comporte deux étapes :

                1. Comprendre le visiteur.

                2. Évaluer les services, les commodités et les programmes actuels.

 

Pour comprendre nos visiteurs, nous devions nous informer : qui sont-ils? D’où viennent-ils? Quels sont leurs souhaits, leurs goûts et leurs besoins pendant leurs excursions? Pour trouver les réponses, nous avons utilisé des rapports de marché obtenus par des enquêtes sur place ou par la collecte de codes postaux, et nous nous sommes entretenus avec le personnel du site dont les interactions quotidiennes avec les visiteurs permettent de bien comprendre les attentes de ceux-ci.

 

En nous penchant sur ce que le site offre actuellement, nous avons créé une liste exhaustive de nos programmes, services et commodités et avons évalué chacun d’entre eux en posant des questions comme : aideront-ils à atteindre les objectifs de Parcs Canada? Représentent-ils les éléments de la déclaration sur « l’essence du lieu »? Répondent-ils aux besoins, aux désirs et aux goûts des visiteurs? Ces informations nous aident à voir où nous allons bien et où nous devons nous améliorer – ce que nous devons conserver, modifier ou éliminer.

 

Les options

Enfin, nous arrivons à la partie de la stratégie que tout le monde préfère : proposer de NOUVEAUX programmes, services et commodités! C’est là que notre personnel d’interprétation brille, car il recherche et développe les meilleurs programmes possible pour nos visiteurs.

 

L’action

Nous travaillons actuellement à cette dernière étape, au cours de laquelle nous rassemblons tout. Nous établissons un calendrier pour le lancement de nouveaux projets, nous nous assurons qu’un plan de promotion solide est en place et nous créons un plan d’investissement pour nous assurer que nous disposons des ressources nécessaires.

 

L’objectif ultime de Parcs Canada est d’offrir aux visiteurs des expériences significatives lors de leur visite du Fort-St. Joseph. Alors, qu’avons-nous prévu pour le site? Je vous invite à venir voir par vous-même. Aucun doute, vous passerez un bon moment!


<< Au fil de l’EAU