By Stéphane Comeault

What do a job in highway construction, two historic sites, a 30-year career with Parks Canada, countless friends and colleagues and the love of a northern Ontario island and its people have in common? One amazing woman, friend and colleague: Ms. Frances Power Robb.

Fran’s northern Ontario debut came when her employer at the time, a highway construction company, accepted a contract and sent her “up north”. It didn’t take long for Fran to fall in love with the tranquil lifestyle the area offered. Wanting to remain in the area following the end of the construction season, Fran accepted a job at Fort St. Joseph National Historic Site on St. Joseph Island, where she developed an incredible passion for the history and characters associated with this unique War of 1812 outpost. Fran settled in for a long, successful and fulfilling career in her chosen home. What sealed the deal however, was getting the chance to own a little historic site of her own; a quaint little school house at the heart of St. Joseph Island.

Fran’s wealth of knowledge at Fort St. Joseph soon made her a legend. Her Parks Canada career spanned decades, and she watched as superintendents, supervisors, co-workers, and innumerable volunteers came and went. Fran created and spearheaded numerous events for which she will forever be remembered, such as the annual Ghost and Medicine Walks. She became the main trainer at Fort St. Joseph, and developed close relationships with numerous local Métis and First Nations. Fran has been responsible for the fort winning “best float” titles in both the Richards Landing and Hilton Beach Community Day parades year after year with the prize monies going to Matthews Memorial Hospital in Richards Landing.

When she isn’t giving a tour of the site to a local family’s relatives or entertaining visitors with her tales of Indigenous warriors, British soldiers and good-spirited, hardworking folk that called the ol’ fort home at the turn of the 19th century, Fran is conducting research for universities, collaborating with Indigenous groups, recruiting new volunteers, writing scripts and drawing maps for the upcoming season’s events or passing her knowledge on to the next cohort of workers at Fort St. Joseph.

When she isn’t at the fort, Fran can be found at home stacking firewood for the coming winter, spending quality time with Cricket, her best friend and four-legged partner in crime, caring for her countless furry friends (both domesticated and wild) who cherish her friendship, or engaging in all sorts of community events.

Fran is one of the best people we have ever had the pleasure of knowing. She is a true icon of Fort St. Joseph and will go down in the history of the site along with individuals such as Lieutenant Landmann, John Askin Jr. and Mary McCauley. A celebration of Fran’s career is planned for Friday, May 31, 2019 at the Fort St. Joseph Visitor Centre from 3 to 5 pm. Friends and colleagues are invited to drop by and share in the walk down memory lane!

All the best in your retirement, Fran! You will be dearly missed.

Back to shoreLINES

Par Stéphane Comeault

Qu’ont en commun un emploi dans la construction routière, deux lieux historiques, une carrière de 30 ans à Parcs Canada, d’innombrables amis et collègues et l’amour d’une île du Nord de l’Ontario et de ses habitants? Une femme épatante, amie et collègue : Madame Frances Power Robb.

Frances est arrivée dans le Nord de l’Ontario lorsque son employeur de l’époque, une entreprise de construction routière, a accepté un contrat et l’a envoyée « dans le Nord ». Il n’a pas fallu longtemps à Frances pour tomber amoureuse du mode de vie tranquille qu’offrait la région. Désireuse de rester dans la région après la fin de la saison de construction, Frances a accepté un emploi au lieu historique national du fort St. Joseph, sur l’île Saint-Joseph, où elle a développé une réelle passion pour l’histoire et les personnages associés à cet avant-poste unique datant de la guerre de 1812. Frances entreprenait donc une longue et fructueuse carrière dans sa nouvelle région. Toutefois, un fait déterminant pour elle a été la chance de pouvoir posséder son propre petit lieu historique, une petite école pittoresque au cœur de l’île Saint-Joseph.

La richesse des connaissances de Frances au fort St. Joseph a vite fait d’elle une légende. Au cours de sa carrière à Parcs Canada, qui s’est échelonnée sur plusieurs décennies, elle a été témoin des arrivées et départs de surintendants, de superviseurs, de collègues de travail et d’innombrables bénévoles. Frances a créé et dirigé de nombreux événements auxquels elle sera longtemps associée, dont la marche des fantômes et la marche de la médecine annuelles. Elle est devenue la formatrice principale à fort St. Joseph et a développé des relations étroites avec de nombreux Métis et les Premières nations de la région. Grâce à elle, le fort s’est mérité le titre de « meilleur char allégorique » lors des défilés de Richards Landing et du Hilton Beach Community Day, année après année, dont les prix en argent ont été remis au Matthews Memorial Hospital de Richards Landing.

Quand elle ne fait pas visiter le site aux parents d’une famille locale ou ne divertit pas les visiteurs avec ses récits de guerriers autochtones, de soldats britanniques et de gens travailleurs qui, au tournant du 19e siècle, avaient à cœur le vieux fort, Frances mène des recherches pour des universités, collabore avec des groupes autochtones, recrute de nouveaux bénévoles, écrit des scénarios et dessine des cartes pour les événements de la prochaine saison ou transmet ses connaissances à la prochaine cohorte d’ouvriers au fort St. Joseph.

Quand elle n’est pas au fort, on peut la trouver chez elle, empilant du bois de chauffage pour l’hiver à venir, passant du temps de qualité avec Cricket, son meilleur ami et complice à quatre pattes, s’occupant de ses innombrables amis à fourrure (domestiques et sauvages) qui chérissent son amitié, ou participant à toutes sortes de manifestations communautaires.

Frances est l’une des meilleures personnes que nous avons eu la chance de connaître. C’est une véritable icône du fort St. Joseph et elle fera partie de l’histoire du lieu aux côtés de personnes comme le lieutenant Landmann, John Askin Jr. et Mary McCauley. Une fête est prévue le vendredi 31 mai 2019 au centre d’accueil du fort St. Joseph, de 15 h à 17 h, pour souligner la carrière de Frances. Amis et collègues sont invités à venir nous voir et à partager les souvenirs d’une longue carrière!

Bonne retraite Frances! Vous nous manquerez beaucoup.

<< Au fil de l’EAU