From 1796 to just after the War of 1812, Fort St. Joseph, the most westerly British outpost in North America, was a thriving community of soldiers, fur traders, Indian Department officials and Indigenous people. The British garrison provided a vital military presence on the upper Great Lakes that strengthened the Aboriginal alliance and supported the fur trade.

Explore the Visitor Centre and wander the ruins to learn what life was like in this bustling fort before it was abandoned, burned by American forces and later reclaimed by the British following the takeover of Fort Michilimackinac. Join the Ghost Walk, listen for the voices of long-ago inhabitants, and examine fascinating relics of that bygone era.

Don’t miss the Fort’s stunning natural setting. Hike the trails to Lake Huron’s edge where wildlife, migratory birds and waterfowl are all waiting to be discovered.

Site management

  • Two women standing in a forest.
    Plans and policies

    A key principle in Parks Canada’s approach to management is the delivery of the three elements of its mandate in an integrated manner, that is, the elements are mutually supportive, and actions are carried out interdependently.


  • Two women in 19th century period costume.
    Jobs with Parks Canada

    Find and apply for jobs with Parks Canada Agency.


  • A rocky shore.
    shoreLINES: Stories from our guides and guardians

    shoreLINES is a quarterly newsletter intended to keep our partners and stakeholders informed about Parks Canada's activities and heritage places in Northern Ontario.


  • Two people on a shoreline at sunset.
    Contact us

    How to reach us.

De 1796 jusqu’après la fin de la guerre de 1812, le fort St. Joseph, l’avant-poste britannique le plus à l’ouest en Amérique du Nord, était une agglomération prospère de soldats, de commerçants de fourrures, d’agents du ministère des Affaires indiennes et de peuples des Premières Nations. La présence militaire britannique était vitale pour le secteur supérieur des Grands Lacs, renforçant son alliance avec les Premières Nations et appuyant la traite des fourrures.

Explorez le centre d’accueil et promenez-vous à travers les ruines pour comprendre la vie de l’époque. Ce fort était grouillant de vie jusqu’à ce qu’il soit incendié par les forces américaines, puis récupéré par les Britanniques après la prise de contrôle du Fort Michilimackinac. Joignez-vous à la Marche du fantôme! Soyez attentifs : vous entendrez la voix d’habitants depuis longtemps disparus. Pour en apprendre davantage, examinez des reliques fascinantes de cette époque lointaine.

Venez admirer le cadre naturel époustouflant du fort. Partez en randonnée sur les sentiers pédestres qui mènent jusqu’aux rives du lac Huron. Contemplez les animaux sauvages, les oiseaux migrateurs et la sauvagine qui n’attendent que votre passage pour se faire découvrir.

Gestion du site

  • Deux femmes debout dans une forêt.
    Plans et politiques

    Un principe clé de l'approche de Parcs Canada envers la gestion est la prestation de façon intégrée des trois éléments de son mandat, ce qui signifie que les éléments s'appuient mutuellement et que les mesures sont prises de manière interdépendante.


  •  Deux femmes en costume d'époque du 19ème siècle.
    Emplois à Parcs Canada

    Trouvez et postulez pour des emplois avec Parcs Canada.


  • Une rive rocheuse.
    au fil de L'EAU : Récits de nos guides et gardiens

    au fil de L'EAU est un bulletin trimestriel qui vise à tenir nos partenaires et intervenants au courant des activités de Parcs Canada et des lieux patrimoniaux dans le Nord de l'Ontario.


  • Deux personnes sur un rivage au coucher du soleil.
    Contactez-nous

    Comment nous joindre.