One of Canada's heritage canals, Sault Ste. Marie Canal National Historic Site of Canada is maintained and operated by Parks Canada to protect and present the site's cultural and natural features, as well as to provide a safe navigable channel between Lake Huron and Lake Superior.


  • Notice to boaters

    There is continuous monitoring of VDX 23, Canadian Canal on Channel 14. To enjoy a safe visit please:

    • Stay well back from canal walls;
    • Stay clear of lock operating devices;
    • Accompany your children;
    • Ask lock staff for further advice.

    In 1998, a new recreational lock, constructed within the historic lock, was opened at the Sault Ste. Marie Canal. Boaters can enjoy the scenic view and historic setting while passing through the canal. The Sault Ste. Marie Canal is located on the St. Marys River (recently designated a National Heritage River), in the downtown core of the city. The lock is operated between May 15 and October 15, in partnership with the City of Sault Ste. Marie.

  • Recreational lock

    The lock operating season is daily, from mid-May to mid-October, up to 12 hours per day. See Hours of Operation for a complete schedule.

    • Length 77 meters 254 feet
    • Width 15.4 meters 51 feet
    • Depth 13.5 meters 44 feet
    • Draft 3 meters 9.8 feet
  • Locking through safely

    Locks are designed to raise and lower boats from one water level to another. They were built, along with a series of dams, to bypass rapids and waterfalls. In some locations, two or more locks are joined together to overcome greater changes in water levels. Locking through safely on heritage canals involves four basic steps approaching the lock, entering the lock, what to do once inside the chamber and exiting the lock.

  • Approaching the lock

    Please obey any posted speed limits between locks or out on the open water. Excessive wake can erode the shoreline, damage docked boats and injure employees operating the lock. Keep the channel near the lock gates to allow boats departing or entering a safe and easy passage.

    Contact the lockmaster for Dispatch for Lockage. The radio call sign for Sault Ste. Marie Canal National Historic Site of Canada recreational lock is: VDX 23, Canadian Canal on Channel 14.

    Vessels not equipped with marine radios should be brought to the Blue Zone, located above and below the lock (this is a temporary holding area for boats waiting to lock through). Instructions are often given over a P.A. system.

  • Entering the lock and safe mooring

    It is very important to remember that during the entire locking through process, you are under the direction of lock operations staff, so please observe their hand signals or verbal commands.

    Enter the lock on green light only. Tour boats and commercial vessels enter first, pleasure crafts second.

    After the lock gates are fully open and departing vessels are clear, the lockmaster will direct you to enter the lock. Approach the lock chamber cautiously and follow the instructions of staff. Be aware of wind speed, wind direction and possible cross currents. Concentrate on coming in straight and under control, using reverse gear to slow the boat down. Should your vessel get too close to the lock wall, use a boat hook to push yourself off. Never use your hands or feet to fend a moving boat off a lock wall. Your crew (adults if possible) should be posted at the bow and stern of your boat, with mooring lines free of knots and ready to use.

    As you approach the north lock wall, have your crew members ready to loop their vessel lines around the black drop cables. Do not tie mooring lines to the cables, loop lines around the cables.

  • Inside the lock chamber

    Once you have safely positioned your vessel inside the lock chamber, and looped the bow and stern lines around the black drop cables, follow these steps:

    • Turn off all ignition switches (engine, generators, etc.). Don't restart or idle your engine during lockage.
    • Turn off all open-flame appliances, including pilot lights, gas-powered generators and barbecues.
    • Do not smoke above or below vessel deck.
    • Leave the bilge blower on throughout the lockage procedures.

    Tend your lines carefully during the lockage. Never leave your bow or stern lines unattended. If you experience turbulence, looping a line around a deck cleat may give you extra leverage.

  • Exiting the lock

    When the lock operation is completed and the lock gates are fully open, the lockmaster will direct you to start your engine. Check to make sure bow and stern lines are back on your boat and please exit slowly. Remember to watch out for winds, currents and other boats. Exit on green light only. Pleasure crafts exit first, tour boats and commercial vessels second.

  • Special procedures

    At the railway swing bridge, wait until it is fully open before proceeding. Travel slowly, in single file, giving way to vessels travelling downstream. Wait at the Blue Zone until directed to proceed; then follow the lockmaster's instructions. American vessels that lock through and return to U.S. waters without landing in Canada are not obliged to clear Canadian Customs or Immigration.

  • Fees and mooring

    There are no fees to lock through; day and overnight mooring are prohibited.

  • Contact

    Lockmaster: (705) 941-2003

    Other information contacts

    NORTH CHANNEL MARINE TOURISM COUNCIL P.O. Box 70 Spanish ON P0P 2A0 Phone: (705) 844-2522 Fax: (705) 844-2622

    TOURISM SAULT STE. MARIE 1-800-461-6020 ext. 700

    CANADA CUSTOMS AND REVENUE AGENCY Sault Ste. Marie (705) 941-3063

    OTHER PARKS CANADA HERITAGE CANALS 1-800-839-8221

  • Weather radio

    Weather Radio Canada is operated by Environment Canada and provides the most up-to-date warning and forecast information available. Weather details are presented in continually repeated program cycles which average 5 to 7 minutes. The information is transmitted over three dedicated VHF-FM bands: 162.400, 162.475 and 162.550 (WX button on most marine radios).

  • Marine radio

    Canadian coast guard radio stations broadcast marine forecasts, nearshore forecasts, current wind conditions and weather bulletins in continuous cycle on VHF frequencies 161.65 MHz and 161.775 MHz (ch. 21B, ch. 83B). They also broadcast information on aids to navigation.

  • Police

    Sault Ste. Marie Police Service (705) 949-6300. Emergency 911.

Le lieu historique national du Canal-de-Sault Ste. Marie est l'un des canaux patrimoniaux du pays qui est entretenu et exploité par Parcs Canada pour protéger et mettre en valeur les caractéristiques culturelles et naturelles du lieu et pour assurer une voie navigable sûre entre le lac Huron et le lac Supérieur.

En 1998, une nouvelle écluse a été aménagée à des fins récréatives à l'intérieur de l'ancienne écluse pour faire partie du canal de Sault Ste. Marie. Les plaisanciers peuvent apprécier la vue panoramique et le cadre historique du lieu lorsqu'ils empruntent le canal. Le canal de Sault Ste. Marie est situé sur la rivière St. Marys (désignée récemment rivière du patrimoine canadien), au coeur de la ville de Sault Ste. Marie. L'écluse est ouverte du 15 mai au 15 octobre et est exploitée en partenariat avec la Ville de Sault Ste. Marie.

  • Écluse pour la navigation de plaisance

    L'éclusage se fait 12 heures par jour, tous les jours, du début juin au 5 septembre. Voir Heures d'ouverture pour l'horaire complet.

    • Longueur 77 mètres 254 pi
    • Largeur 15,4 mètres 51 pi
    • Profondeur 13,5 mètres 44 pi
    • Tirant 3 mètres 9,8 pi
  • Comment écluser en toute sécurité

    Les écluses permettent de hausser et de diminuer le niveau d'eau pour laisser passer les embarcations. Leur construction, tout comme celle d'un ensemble de barrages, permet de contourner les rapides et les chutes. À certains endroits, il y a au moins deux écluses qui sont reliées pour permettre aux embarcations de franchir des dénivellations importantes. Pour traverser les canaux historiques en toute sécurité, il y a quatre étapes simples à suivre Approche de l'écluse, Entrée dans l'écluse, Dans le sas et Sortie de l'écluse.

  • Approche de l'écluse

    Veuillez respecter les limites de vitesse indiquées entre les écluses ou à leur sortie. Les grosses vagues peuvent éroder le rivage, endommager les bateaux amarrés et blesser le personnel des écluses. N'obstruez pas le chenal situé près des portes pour permettre aux embarcations qui entrent dans l'écluse ou en sortent de passer facilement et en toute sécurité.

    Communiquez avec le maître-éclusier pour obtenir l'autorisation d'écluser. L'indicatif radio de l'écluse récréative du lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-de-Sault Ste. Marie est VDX 23, Canadian Canal sur la radiofréquence 14 (radio maritime).

    Les embarcations qui n'ont pas de radio maritime doivent se rendre dans la zone bleue, située en amont et en aval de l'écluse (il s'agit d'une aire d'attente temporaire avant de franchir l'écluse) Les instructions sont souvent données au moyen d'un système de sonorisation.

  • Entrée dans l'écluse

    Ilest très de se rappeler que pendant l'éclusage, vous relevez du personnel des écluses; veuillez donc suivre les signaux qu'ils font de la main ou leurs instructions verbales.

    Entrée dans l'écluse, au feu vert seulement! D'abord : bateaux d'excursion ou navires de commerce, Ensuite : embarcations de plaisance.

    Lorsque les portes de l'écluse sont complètement ouvertes et que les navires ont quitté l'écluse, le maître-éclusier vous dira d'y entrer. Approchez-vous prudemment du sas et suivez les instructions du personnel. Sachez quelle est la vitesse et la direction du vent et surveillez les courants traversiers. Efforcez-vous d'entrer en ligne droite et de garder le contrôle de votre embarcation en faisant marche arrière pour ralentir. Si votre embarcation se trouve trop près du mur, utilisez une gaffe pour la pousser vers le centre. Ne vous servez jamais de vos mains ni de vos pieds pour éloigner une embarcation en mouvement d'un mur d'écluse. Vos membres d'équipage (des adultes si possible) devraient se trouver à l'avant et à l'arrière de l'embarcation et avoir en main des amarres sans noeuds.

    Lorsque vous approchez du mur nord de l'écluse, demandez à vos membres d'équipage de se préparer à boucler leurs amarres aux câbles noirs qui sont suspendus. N'attachez pas les amarres aux câbles, bouclez les amarres aux câbles.

  • Dans le sas

    Lorsque votre embarcation est bien placée dans le sas et que les amarres à l'avant et à l'arrière sont bien bouclées aux câbles noirs, suspendus, veuillez respecter les consignes suivantes (ces symboles de sécurité figurent sur des panneaux posés sur les portes du poste d'éclusage) :

    • Fermez tous les interrupteurs d'allumage (moteurs, génératrice, etc.) Ne redémarrez pas votre moteur ou ne le laissez pas tourner au ralenti pendant l'éclusage.
    • Fermez tous les appareils à flamme nue, y compris les lampes témoins, les génératrices à essence et les barbecues.
    • Ne fumez pas à bord de votre embarcation.
    • Laissez la ventilation de la cale en marche pendant l'éclusage.

    Surveillez bien vos amarres pendant l'éclusage. Ne laissez jamais les amarres à l'avant ou à l'arrière sans surveillance. Si votre embarcation bouge trop, bouclez une amarre au taquet de pont pour mieux la stabiliser.

  • Sortie de c'écluse

    Lorsque l'éclusage est terminé et que les portes sont complètement ouvertes, le maître- éclusier vous dira de démarrer votre moteur. Assurez-vous que les amarres à l'avant et à l'arrière de votre embarcation sont bien sur le pont et sortez lentement du sas. Tenez compte des vents, des courants et des autres embarcations.Amarrage sûr - sortie de l'écluse. D'abord : embarcation de plaisance, ensuite : bateaux d'excursion ou navires de commerce.

  • Procédures spéciales

    Au pont ferroviaire tournant, attendez qu'il soit complètement tourné avant de vous engager. Déplacez-vous lentement, en file indienne, et cédez le passage aux embarcations qui se dirigent en aval. Attendez dans la zone bleue jusqu'à ce qu'on vous dise d'avancer; suivez alors les instructions du maître-éclusier.

    Les embarcations américaines qui éclusent pour retourner aux États-Unis sans arrêter au Canada ne sont pas tenues de passer aux services des Douanes ou de l'Immigration du Canada.

  • Droits et marrage

    Il n'y a pas de droits d'éclusage; l'amarrage est interdit le jour comme la nuit.

  • Pour nous rejoindre

    Maître-éclusier : (705) 941-2003

    Autres adresses pour obtenir de l'information

    NORTH CHANNEL MARINE TOURISM COUNCIL C.P. 70, Spanish (Ontario) P0P 2A0 Tél. : (705) 844-2522 Téléc. : (705) 844-2622

    CENTRE D'INFORMATION TOURISTIQUE DE SAULT STE. MARIE 1 800 461-6020, poste 700

    AGENCE DES DOUANES ET DU REVENU DU CANADA Sault Ste. Marie (705) 941-3063

    AUTRES CANAUX PATRIMONIAUX DE PARCS CANADA 1 800 839-8221

  • Radio météo

    Radio météo Canada est exploitée par Environnement Canada et communique les informations et les avertissements météorologiques les plus récents. Les rapports météorologiques sont présentés en cycles continus d'environ 5 à 7 minutes. L'information est transmise sur trois bandes VHF-FM réservées : 162,400, 162,475 et 162,550 (bouton WX sur la plupart des radios maritimes).

  • Radio maritime

    Les stations radio de la GARDE CÔTIÈRE CANADIENNE diffusent les prévisions maritimes et côtières, la vitesse des vents et les bulletins météorologiques en cycles continus sur les fréquences VHF 161,65 MHz et 161,775 MHz (canal 21B ou 83B) Elles diffusent également de l'information sur les aides à la navigation.

  • Police

    Service de police de Sault Ste. Marie (705) 949-6300. Emergency 911.