Hike the 2.2 kilometre Attikamek trail located across the lock gates on South St. Marys Island to experience the beauty of the natural world in the heart of the city of Sault Ste. Marie.

The rapids

Early explorers and fur traders were forced to portage their supply-laden canoes around these turbulent waters. The St. Marys River Rapids remained an obstacle for vessels entering and returning from Lake Superior until the construction of the first canals.

The shallow oxygenated waters of the rapids make this a productive aquatic ecosystem. The native whitefish, trout, perch and pike, along with the more recently introduced species of salmon, feed on the larvae of caddisflies and mayflies.

Whitefish Channel

Whitefish Channel, now a fish sanctuary, offers ideal spawning grounds for smelt in the spring, and salmon and whitefish in the fall. This stream duplicates in miniature the conditions, which have made the St. Marys rapids such a favoured fish habitat. The cold water becomes oxygenated as it tumbles around the rocks of the stream bed.

Further along the trail, a man-made stream bed was created in an attempt to encourage fish spawning: contrast its sterility with the varied plant and animal life of this natural watercourse.

Whitefish Island

"Attikamek" (or adikameg) - for which this trail is named - is the Ojibwemowin word for whitefish and means "caribou of the waters." Ojibwe fishermen came from miles around to harvest this bountiful food source. Fishing was done by dipping nets in the rushing waters while skilfully manoeuvring birchbark canoes among the eddies and pools of the rapids.

As Canada's natural areas are developed, harvested or plowed under, wetlands are too often major casualties. Our wetlands support a rich diversity of plant and animal life and play a role in filtering pollutants from the water.

Partez en randonnée sur le sentier Attikamek de 2,2 km, situé de l’autre côté des portes d’écluse, sur l’île de South St. Marys. Profitez de la beauté de la nature en plein cœur de la ville de Sault Ste. Marie.

Les rapides

Les premiers explorateurs et les commerçants de fourrures devaient portager leurs canots chargés de fournitures pour contourner ces eaux turbulentes. Les rapides de la rivière St. Marys sont demeurés un obstacle pour les bateaux qui entraient dans le lac Supérieur ou en sortaient jusqu'à la construction des premiers canaux.

Les eaux oxygénées et peu profondes des rapides en font un écosystème aquatique productif. Le cisco, la truite, la perche et le brochet indigènes, ainsi que les espèces introduites dernièrement comme le saumon, se nourrissent de larves de phryganes et d'éphémères communes.

Le chenal Whitefish

Le chenal Whitefish, aujourd'hui un refuge de poissons, sert de frayère d'abord au printemps pour le lançon, puis à l'automne pour le saumon et le cisco. Le ruisseau reproduit, à plus petite échelle, les conditions qui font des rapides St. Marys un habitat propice aux poissons. L'eau froide s'oxygène à mesure qu'elle tourbillonne sur les roches du lit.

Un peu plus loin, on a créé un lit artificiel pour inciter les poissons à frayer : voyez comme sa stérilité contraste avec la diversité de la vie animale et florale du cours d'eau naturel.

L'île Whitefish

Les Ojibwe « Attikamek » ou « adikameg » appelaient les corégones de la rivière , ce qui signifie « caribou des eaux ». Les pêcheurs Ojibwe venaient de milles à la ronde récolter cette nourriture abondante. Pour pêcher, ils laissaient tomber leurs filets dans les eaux vives de la rivière tout en manSuvrant adroitement leur canot d'écorce dans les remous des rapides.

Les milieux humides comptent trop souvent parmi les victimes du développement, de l'exploitation agricole et autres des aires naturelles du Canada. Un grand nombre d'animaux et de plantes dépendent de nos milieux humides qui aident à filtrer les polluants présents dans l'eau.