by Stéphane Comeault

For the first time in 125 years, the western face of the Powerhouse building at the Sault Ste. Marie Canal National Historic Site will be unearthed, exposing the large, underground water intake system that supplies water to this iconic building.  For almost fifty years, the Powerhouse generated hydroelectricity at the Canal for the world's first electrically operated lock.

This three-storey, federally designated heritage building originally housed twin water-activated turbines to drive generators which produced electricity for operating the lock machinery and site lighting. A large intake pipe, called a penstock, carried water from the upper end of the canal to the Powerhouse. Just outside the west wall of the building, the penstock branched into two, five-foot diameter pipes—one for each turbine.

Today, the Powerhouse, one of the main reasons the Canal was designated a national historic site in 1987, is experiencing serious water infiltration issues. This situation must be rectified to preserve the structural integrity of the building. A two phase project began in March 2019.

Phase one of the project consists of removing the existing infrastructure to thoroughly investigate and understand the water infiltration issues. This will be the first time since the mid-1890s that the bottom of the western wall of the Powerhouse is seeing daylight.

Phase two will focus on developing engineering solutions to fix the infiltration issues, reinstating the Powerhouse to its original intent and function, and determining the best way to move visitor traffic around the historic core of the site. 

The end goal is to restore this century-old building to its original glory complete with new, interactive and modern exhibits and displays to build awareness and understanding of its fascinating story and importance to Canada's history.

Note, an undertaking of this magnitude will span multiple visitor seasons and will require certain restrictions to visitor access. For updates and behind-the-scenes photos of work being done, visit the Sault Ste. Marie Canal's infrastructure webpage, as well as the site's Facebook and Twitter pages.

Back to shoreLINES

par Stéphane Comeault

Pour la première fois en 125 ans, la façade ouest de la centrale électrique située sur le lieu historique national du Canal-de-Sault Ste. Marie fera l'objet de travaux, exposant le vaste système souterrain d'amenée d'eau qui alimente en eau cet édifice emblématique.  Pendant près de cinquante ans, la centrale a produit de l'hydroélectricité, faisant du canal la première écluse du monde à fonctionner à l'électricité.

Cet édifice de trois étages désigné qui fait partie du patrimoine fédéral abritait à l'origine deux turbines activées par l'eau pour alimenter des génératrices qui produisaient de l'électricité de sorte à faire fonctionner les machines de l'écluse et l'éclairage du lieu. Un long tuyau d'amenée d'eau, appelée conduite forcée, acheminait l'eau de l'extrémité supérieure du canal à la centrale. À l'extérieur du mur ouest de l'édifice, la conduite forcée se ramifie en deux tuyaux de cinq pieds de diamètre – un pour chaque turbine.

Aujourd'hui, la centrale, qui constitue l'une des principales raisons pour lesquelles le canal a été désigné lieu historique national en 1987, connaît de graves problèmes d'infiltration d'eau. Cette situation doit être corrigée pour préserver l'intégrité structurale de l'édifice. Un projet en deux phases a débuté en mars 2019.

La première phase du projet consiste à retirer l'infrastructure existante pour étudier et comprendre en profondeur les problèmes d'infiltration d'eau. Ce sera la première fois depuis le milieu des années 1890 que le bas du mur ouest de la centrale sera exposé à la lumière du jour.

La deuxième phase visera à élaborer des solutions techniques pour régler les problèmes d'infiltration de sorte à rétablir la centrale selon sa vocation et sa fonction initiales, et à déterminer la meilleure façon de faire circuler les visiteurs autour du point central historique du lieu. 

L'objectif final est de redonner à cet édifice centenaire sa splendeur d'antan grâce à de nouvelles expositions interactives et modernes qui permettront de mieux faire connaître et comprendre son histoire fascinante et son importance dans l'histoire du Canada.

Il est à noter qu'une entreprise de cette envergure s'étendra sur plusieurs saisons touristiques et que certaines restrictions quant à l'accès des visiteurs seront imposées. Pour des mises à jour et des photos des coulisses des travaux en cours, visitez le site Web de l'infrastructure du Canal-de-Sault Ste. Marie ainsi que les pages Facebook et Twitter.

<< Au fil de l’EAU