Since its opening in 1895, the famous Sault Ste. Marie Canal has been the watery heart of the city. Though a new lock now moves pleasure craft between Lakes Superior and Huron, the old Canal is remembered in tales shared each day by informative Parks Canada interpreters/guides. Once the longest lock in the world and the only one of its kind to operate using electricity, the Sault Ste. Marie Canal still plays a significant role in the cultural life of the area. If you’re a pleasure boater, you’ll love the gentle sensation of rising up or down through the lock as you move from one side to the other. No boat? No worries! Picnic under the nearby shade trees and enjoy a vicarious ride!

Site management

  • A boat in a canal.
    Plans and policies

    A key principle in Parks Canada’s approach to management is the delivery of the three elements of its mandate in an integrated manner, that is, the elements are mutually supportive, and actions are carried out interdependently.


  • A Parks Canada employee standing at a table.
    Jobs with Parks Canada

    Find and apply for jobs with Parks Canada Agency.


  • Two children running on a boardwalk.
    Partners

    By working in collaboration with respected organisations that share our values, Sault Ste. Marie Canal National Historic Site is able to better deliver its promise to Canadians by continuing to be a world leader in the protection and presentation of Canada's natural and cultural heritage.  


  • A rocky shore.
    shoreLINES: Stories from our guides and guardians

    shoreLINES is a quarterly newsletter intended to keep our partners and stakeholders informed about Parks Canada's activities and heritage places in Northern Ontario.


  • A child looking at ducks in a pond.
    Contact us

    How to reach us.

Depuis son ouverture en 1895, le célèbre canal de Sault Ste. Marie représente le cœur maritime de la ville. Bien qu’une nouvelle écluse permette maintenant aux embarcations de plaisance de se déplacer entre le lac Supérieur et le lac Huron, l’ancien canal demeure d’actualité, grâce aux récits partagés chaque jour par des animateurs-guides bien renseignés de Parcs Canada. Autrefois la plus longue écluse du monde et la seule de son genre à fonctionner à l’électricité, le canal de Sault Ste. Marie joue toujours un rôle de premier plan dans la vie culturelle de la région. Vous êtes plaisancier ? Vous aimerez la sensation agréable que procure la montée ou la descente dans l’écluse lorsque vous passerez d’un côté à l’autre. Vous n’avez pas d’embarcation ? Aucun souci! Pique-niquez à l’ombre des arbres près du canal et faites une promenade gastronomique.

Gestion du site

  • Un bateau dans un canal.
    Plans et politiques

    Un principe clé de l'approche de Parcs Canada envers la gestion est la prestation de façon intégrée des trois éléments de son mandat, ce qui signifie que les éléments s'appuient mutuellement et que les mesures sont prises de manière interdépendante.


  • Une employée de Parcs Canada debout à une table.
    Emplois à Parcs Canada

    Trouvez et postulez pour des emplois avec Parcs Canada.


  •  Deux enfants qui courent sur une promenade.
    Partenaires

    La collaboration d’organisations respectées qui partagent ses valeurs permet au Lieu historique national du Canal-de-Sault Ste. Marie de mieux remplir sa promesse faite aux Canadiens tout en demeurant un chef de file mondial dans le domaine de la protection et de la mise en valeur du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada.


  • Une rive rocheuse.
    au fil de L'EAU : Récits de nos guides et gardiens

    au fil de L'EAU est un bulletin trimestriel qui vise à tenir nos partenaires et intervenants au courant des activités de Parcs Canada et des lieux patrimoniaux dans le Nord de l'Ontario.


  • Un enfant regardant les canards dans un étang.
    Contactez-nous

    Comment nous joindre.