A historic waterway

The Sault Ste. Marie Canal was constructed between 1889 and 1895 to bypass the turbulent rapids of the St. Marys River and to provide the last link in Canada's Great Lakes St. Lawrence shipping route.

With the retreat of the Wisconsin Glacier some 12,000 years ago, the St. Marys River ultimately carried Lake Superior waters east to Lake Huron. The St. Marys rapids result from a six-metre difference between the two lakes.

The fur traders' canal

As they began to explore the rich fur lands of the Lake Superior area in the 17th century, European traders were hampered by the fierce rapids at Sault Ste. Marie. In 1797, the North West Company established a trading post on the north side of the rapids and in 1798 built a small lock. It was intended for the passage of bateaux and it facilitated the transfer of goods between the company's schooners on Lake Huron and Lake Superior. Destroyed in 1814, when the Americans attacked the company's nearby trading post, the canal was not rebuilt. The lock has been reconstructed on the original site, next to the St. Marys Paper administration building.

Canada hesitates

In the 1840s, when the great mineral potential of the Lake Superior area began to be developed, the Sault Ste. Marie Canal was reborn. Several proposals envisaged a canal large enough for lake vessels but Canadian enthusiasm dies in 1855 when the Americans completed a shipping canal on their side of the river. For the next four decades, all traffic between Lake Huron and Lake Superior passed through the American canal.

Canada's dependence on the American canal was not without conflict. In 1870, the Americans refused passage to Chicora, a vessel that had served as a blockade-runner in support of the South during the American Civil War. The Chicora was bound for the west with military supplies for the Red River Expedition. After weeks of diplomatic negotiating, the vessel was finally allowed passage on the condition that her military cargo be unloaded on the northern shore before passing through the American lock.

Although the Chicora incident raised concerns about the country's dependence on the Americans for access to Lake Superior, the decision to build a Canadian canal was not finally made until it was evident that the flow of wheat from the Canadian west, and of minerals from Lake Superior, justified the expenditure.

Cast iron and cut stone

Construction began in 1889 and was completed in 1895, in very challenging conditions. The canal was cut through the bedrock of St. Marys Island. Red sandstone excavated from the cut was used for the construction of buildings on the site. When the lock opened in 1895, its chamber, 274 m long and 18 m wide, was the world's largest.

Stonecutters laboured for four years, using sandstone for the approach walls and limestone from the Windsor area and Manitoulin Island for the lock chamber. Foundries in Owen Sound, Welland, Toronto, and Montréal poured the cast-iron valves and lock gate machinery parts, and the four-year old Canadian General Electric Company supplied the generators, switches, wiring, and panels to power the machinery and illuminate the canal. On September 7, 1895, the lock was officially opened with the locking through of the Majestic, a new Canadian passenger steamer. Canada finally had an all-Canadian waterway from the Atlantic Ocean to the head of the Great Lakes.

Voie navigable historique

Le canal de Sault Ste. Marie a été aménagé entre 1889 et 1895 pour contourner les rapides tumultueux de la rivière St. Marys; il était également le dernier tronçon de la voie navigable canadienne reliant les Grands Lacs et le Saint-Laurent.

Lors du retrait des glaciers pendant le Wisconsinien, il y a 12 000 ans, les eaux du lac Supérieur ont emprunté la rivière St. Marys pour se déverser au sud, dans le lac Huron. Les rapides doivent leur existence à une dénivellation de 6 mètres entre les deux lacs.

Le canal des commerçants de fourrures

Les rapides quasi infranchissables de Sault Ste. Marie constituaient un obstacle pour les commerçants européens qui avaient entrepris, au XVIIe siècle, l'exploration de la région de Sault Ste. Marie où abondaient les animaux à fourrure. En 1797, la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest établit un poste de traite sur la rive nord des rapides et y construisit une petite écluse en 1798. Cette dernière devait faciliter le passage des bateaux et le transbordement des marchandises entre les goélettes voguant sur le lac Huron et le lac Supérieur. Détruite en 1814 lorsque les Américains avaient attaqué le poste de traite voisin, l'écluse avait été laissée à l'abandon. Elle a été reconstruite à son emplacement initial, près du bâtiment d'administration de l'usine de papiers St. Mary's Paper.

Le Canada hésite

Dans les années 1840, l'idée d'un canal à Sault Ste. Marie refait surface lorsque l'énorme potentiel minier de la région du lac Supérieur commence à attirer des exploitants. Plusieurs projets préconisent la construction d'un canal suffisamment large pour les navires des Grands Lacs, mais en 1855, on y renonce lorsque les Américains terminent une voie navigable de leur côté de la rivière. Pendant quarante ans, toute la navigation maritime entre le lac Huron et le lac Supérieur empruntera le canal américain.

L'utilisation du canal américain par le Canada comportait certains conflit. En 1870, les Américains refusèrent de laisser passer le Chicora, un navire qui, pendant la guerre de Sécession, avait forcé le blocus pour ravitailler le sud. Cette année-là, le Chicora était chargé de matériel militaire destiné à l'expédition de la rivière Rouge dans l'Ouest. Après des semaines de négociations, il obtint finalement la permission de franchir l'écluse américaine, après avoir débarqué sa cargaison militaire sur la rive nord.

Bien que l'incident du Chicora ait sensibilisé les Canadiens aux risques rattachés à l'utilisation du canal américain pour avoir accès au lac Supérieur, c'est uniquement quand le transport de blé de l'Ouest canadien et de minéraux du lac Supérieur a justifié la dépense qu'on a finalement décidé de construire un canal canadien.

Fonte et pierre de taille

Commencée en 1889, la construction s'est achevée en 1895 dans des conditions très difficiles. Le canal a été creusé dans le substratum de l'île St. Marys. Le grès rouge excavé pendant les travaux a servi à la construction des bâtiments au bords du canal. À l'ouverture en 1895, le sas de l'écluse de 274 m de long sur 18 m de large était le plus grand au monde.

Les tailleurs de pierre ont travaillé pendant quatre ans pour façonner le grès des murs d'approche et le calcaire de Windsor et de l'île Manitoulin pour le sas. Des fonderies d'Owen Sound, Welland, Toronto et Montréal ont coulé les vannes en fonte et les parties mécaniques des portes d'écluse. La Compagnie générale électrique du Canada, en place depuis quatre ans à peine, a fourni les génératrices, les commutateurs, le câblage et les panneaux pour alimenter la machinerie et éclairer le canal. Le 7 septembre 1895, le Majestic, un nouveau vapeur canadien, a été le premier bâtiment à franchir l'écluse officiellement. Le Canada disposait enfin d'une voie navigable entièrement canadienne entre l'océan Atlantique et les Grands Lacs.