We will remember them…

Canada’s participation in the First World War (1914-1918) and the Second World War (1939-1945) touched every community in this country. Parks Canada invites Canadians to join us in commemorating individuals from all walks of life who made unique contributions to the war effort. During these global conflicts, civilians and those in the armed forces played a crucial role in protecting and building their communities and thus Canada as a whole. Get to know the remarkable stories of these Hometown Heroes, honour their memory and express your gratitude for their service by visiting Parks Canada’s National Historic Sites, National Parks, and National Marine Conservation Areas. 

David Kyle | Sydney Penhorwood | William Merrifield | J.W. LeBreton Ross


David Kyle David Kyle
© Parks Canada

David Kyle

David Kyle was born in 1885 in Dalry Ayrshire, Scotland and moved to Sault Ste. Marie in 1910 at the age of 25. He worked at Algoma Steel from 1910 until the beginning of the First World War where he served as a captain. After the war he returned to Sault Ste. Marie to become the Vice President of Algoma Steel and president of the Great War Veterans Association. In 1917, he received the military cross which can be awarded to commissioned officers with the rank of captain or below for distinguished or meritorious service in battle. He died at the age of 35 (1920) from Influenza. During his funeral men and machinery were stopped for ten minutes out of respect for Kyle.


Sydney Penhorwood Sydney Penhorwood
© Parks Canada

Sydney Penhorwood

Sydney Penhorwood was born in Wales in 1872 and moved to Canada with his father, where he became a location engineer at the Sault Ste. Marie Canal. At only 18 years old, Penhorwood joined the military and became part of the Sault Mountain Battery. Even after Penhorwood graduated from school and began working as an engineer, he remained actively involved with Sault Ste. Marie militia. Penhorwood organized the 51st Regiment in 1911, and was appointed Lieutenant Colonel of the regiment in 1913. At the beginning of the war, Lt. Col. S.L. Penhorwood remained in Sault Ste. Marie to command the 51st Regiment Soo Rifles, who had been given the task of protecting the Sault Ste. Marie Canal. Eventually in 1915 Penhorwood did travel overseas, but not to fight on the front lines. Instead, Penhorwood was charged with a different task: he was appointed Assistant Director of Timber Operations for the Canadian Forestry Battalion in Great Britain. During his time as the Assistant Director, Penhorwood became close friends with King George VI, who was very impressed with Penhorwood’s efficient manner of completing his work. Penhorwood supervised the Canadian Forestry Corps until the end of the war. After the war, Penhorwood was transferred to the reserve. For his services during the war, Sydney Penhorwood received the Order of the British Empire in 1917, as well as the Royal Victorian Order in 1919.


William Merrifield William Merrifield
© Parks Canada

William Merrifield

William Merrifield was born in Brentwood, Essex, England on October 9, 1890. Merrifield came over to Canada at the age of 12 with his father. They moved from England to Sudbury, onto Ottawa and then eventually settled in Sault Ste. Marie. In 1914, Merrifield enlisted with the Canadian army to fight in the Great War. Merrifield fought from 1914-1919, and received the highest honour in the British and Commonwealth countries – the Victoria Cross. The London Gazette wrote in 1919 that Merrifield received the Victoria Cross for “most conspicuous bravery and devotion to duty during the attack near Abancourt on the 1st October, 1918.” After the war, Merrifield came back to Sault Ste. Marie, where he met and married his wife. He lived there with his wife and four children until his death in 1943. After returning to Sault Ste. Marie in 1919, Merrifield worked as an engineer for the Algoma Central Railway. The Algoma Central Railway Engine House is a National Historic Site of Canada, with a plaque in Sault Ste. Marie.


J.W. LeBreton Ross J.W. LeBreton Ross
© Parks Canada

J.W. LeBreton Ross

John Walter LeBreton Ross, was born in Ottawa in 1866. He began work in 1883 at the age of seventeen with the Department of Railways and Canals and continued his work with canals which led him to receive the position of Superintending Engineer at the Sault Ste. Marie Canal in 1907. He held the position of Superintendent at the Canal for the longest period of time in the SSM Canal’s history from 1907 to 1936. During his time in the Sault he was the president of the Horticultural Society as well as the Historical Society and his home was well known as a centre of social activity. At the time LeBreton Ross began as Superintending Engineer, the Sault Ship Canal was the busiest canal system in the world. During World War 1, the canal was guarded by the 51st Soo Rifles. After the declaration of the war, LeBreton Ross recognized the need for vigilance and for appropriate procedures to protect his facility. By December of 1914, 140 officers were stationed at the canal. Throughout his time at the canal he demonstrated his passion for the canal and surrounding area. After retiring in 1936, LeBreton Ross returned to Ottawa where he remained until his death in 1946.


* The Poppy Design is a registered trademark of The Royal Canadian Legion, Dominion Command and is used under licence.

Nous nous souviendrons d’eux ...

La participation du Canada à la Première Guerre mondiale (1914-1918) et à la Seconde Guerre mondiale (1939-1945) a touché toutes les communautés du pays, sans exception. L’Agence Parcs Canada invite les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à se joindre à elle afin de rendre hommage aux personnes de tous âges qui ont contribué à l’effort de guerre. Lors de ces conflits mondiaux, les civils et les soldats ont joué un rôle crucial dans la défense et l’édification non seulement de leurs communautés, mais aussi du pays tout entier. Découvrez les histoires remarquables de ces héros de chez nous. Rendez hommage et exprimez votre reconnaissance à ces personnages pour le service qu’ils ont rendu en visitant les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation de Parcs Canada.

David Kyle | Sydney Penhorwood | William Merrifield | J.W. LeBreton Ross

David Kyle David Kyle
© Parcs Canada

David Kyle

David Kyle est né en 1885 à Dalry Ayrshire, en Écosse, et s’est installé à Sault Ste. Marie en 1910 à l’âge de 25 ans. Il a travaillé à Algoma Steel de 1910 jusqu’au déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale, dans le cadre de laquelle il a servi comme capitaine. Après la guerre, il est retourné à Sault Ste. Marie pour occuper les postes de vice-président d’Algoma Steel et de président de la Great War Veterans Association. En 1917, il a reçu la Croix militaire qui peut être remise aux officiers commissionnés ne dépassant pas le grade effectif de capitaine en reconnaissance de services distingués et méritoires au combat. Il est décédé de la grippe à l’âge de 35 ans (1920). Pendant les funérailles de Kyle, les hommes et les machines ont observé dix minutes de silence par respect.


Sydney Penhorwood Sydney Penhorwood
© Parcs Canada

Sydney Penhorwood

Sydney Penhorwood est né aux Pays de Galles en 1872 avant d’immigrer au Canada avec son père, où il est devenu ingénieur du tracé au canal de Sault Ste. Marie. À 18 ans seulement, Penhorwood s’est enrôlé dans les forces armées et a joint la Sault Mountain Battery. Même après l’obtention de son diplôme et le début de sa carrière d’ingénieur, Penhorwood est demeuré activement engagé dans la milice de Sault Ste. Marie. Penhorwood a réorganisé le 51e régiment en 1911 et a été nommé lieutenant-colonel de ce régiment en 1913. Au début de la guerre, le Lt. Col. Penhorwood est demeuré à Sault Ste. Marie pour commander le 51e Regiment « Soo Rifles », qui s’était vu confier la tâche de protéger le canal de Sault Ste. Marie. Penhorwood a finalement été envoyé à l’étranger en 1915, mais il n’a pas combattu sur les lignes de front. Penhorwood a plutôt été chargé d’une tâche différente : il a été nommé directeur adjoint de l’exploitation forestière pour le Canadian Forestry Battalion en Grande-Bretagne. Pendant son mandat à titre de directeur adjoint, Penhorwood a noué des liens étroits avec le roi Georges VI, qui était très impressionné par l’efficacité avec laquelle Penhorwood s’acquittait de son travail. Penhorwood a ensuite supervisé le Canadian Forestry Corps jusqu’à la fin de la guerre. Après la guerre, Penhorwood a été transféré à la réserve. En reconnaissance de ses services en temps de guerre, Sydney Penhorwood a reçu l’Ordre de l’Empire britannique en 1917 et l’Ordre royal de Victoria en 1919.


William Merrifield William Merrifield
© Parcs Canada

William Merrifield

William Merrifield est né à Brentwood, Essex, en Angleterre le 9 octobre 1890. Il est venu au Canada à l’âge de 12 ans avec son père. Ils ont quitté l’Angleterre pour aller à Sudbury, puis à Ottawa avant de finalement s’installer pour de bon à Sault Ste. Marie. En 1914, Merrifield s’est enrôlé dans l’armée canadienne pour aller combattre pendant la Grande Guerre. Il a combattu de 1914 à 1919 et a reçu le plus grand honneur décerné dans le Commonwealth britannique, la Croix de Victoria. La London Gazette a écrit en 1919 que Merrifield avait reçu la Croix de Victoria pour « Pour sa bravoure exceptionnelle et son sens profond du devoir durant l’attaque survenue près d’Abancourt le 1er octobre 1918. » Après la guerre, Merrifield est retourné à Sault Ste. Marie, où il a rencontré et épousé sa conjointe. Il a vécu avec elle et leurs quatre enfants jusqu’à son décès en 1943. À son retour à Sault Ste. Marie en 1919, il a travaillé comme ingénieur pour la Algoma Central Railway. La salle des machines de la Algoma Central Railway est un lieu historique national du Canada qui comporte une plaque à Sault Ste-Marie.


J.W. LeBreton Ross J.W. LeBreton Ross
© Parcs Canada

J.W. LeBreton Ross

John Walter LeBreton Ross est né à Ottawa en 1866. Il a commencé à travailler en 1883 à l’âge de 17 ans pour le ministère des Chemins de fer et Canaux et a ensuite poursuivi sa carrière avec les canaux, ce qui lui a permis de se voir confier le poste d’ingénieur-surintendant du canal de Sault Ste. Marie en 1907. De toute l’histoire du canal de Sault Ste. Marie, personne n’a occupé cette fonction pendant plus longtemps que LeBreton Ross, qui est resté en poste de 1907 à 1936. Pendant cette période, il a occupé le poste de président de la Horticultural Society et de la Historical Society et sa maison est devenue un centre d’activités sociales bien connu. Au moment où LeBreton Ross a commencé à travailler comme ingénieur-surintendant, le canal de bateaux de Sault Ste. Marie était le canal le plus achalandé au monde. Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, le canal était gardé par les soldats du 51e « Soo Rifles ». Après la déclaration de guerre, LeBreton Ross s’est rendu compte qu’il était nécessaire d’être vigilant et d’utiliser les bonnes méthodes pour avoir une incidence sur son installation. En décembre 1914, 140 officiers étaient postés au canal. Pendant sa carrière, il a su démontrer sa passion pour le canal et ses environs. Après sa retraite en 1936, LeBreton Ross est retourné à Ottawa, où il est demeuré jusqu’à sa mort en 1946. 


* Le coquelicot est une marque de commerce enregistrée de La Direction nationale de La Légion royale canadienne, employée sous licence.