In 1979, after 80 years of round-the-clock operation, the canal was retired from the St. Lawrence Seaway system and began a new role under the management and direction of Parks Canada. In 1987, due to a structural failure of the lock wall, the canal was closed to navigation.

In 1996, an agreement between federal, provincial, and municipal governments was signed and construction of a new recreational lock began. On July 14, 1998 the new recreational lock opened to boat traffic, after being closed for eleven years.

History

From the 1890s to the 1980s, the Sault Ste. Marie Canal locked through the old and the new: tired old schooners with leaky bottoms and worn riggings, gleaming new steam-driven passenger ships, coal-blackened freighters (dubbed Upper Lakers) and private yachts with spit-polished brass.

En 1979, après 80 ans de fonctionnement interrompu, le canal cesse de faire partie de la voie maritime du Saint-Laurent et commence une seconde vie sous la gestion et la direction de Parcs Canada. En 1987, suite à l'affaissement d'un mur de l'écluse, le canal est fermé à la navigation.

En 1996, les gouvernements fédéral et provincial signent un accord visant la reconstruction d'une nouvelle écluse pour la navigation de plaisance. Celle-ci fut ouverte le 14 juillet 1998; elle avait été fermée pendant 11 ans.

Histoire

Des années 1890 aux années 1980, l'ancien et le nouveau se sont succédés dans l'écluse de Sault Ste. Marie : de vieilles goélettes aux voilures usées, des navires à passagers immaculés, des vraquiers noircis par le charbon (appelés « Upper Lakers ») et des yachts privés aux gréements brillants comme de l'or.