Want a more in-depth experience? Come and explore the extensive grounds and historic structures of the Sault Ste. Marie Canal. Join one of our knowledgeable interpreters as they guide you through the site on one of our themed tours. 


Site Tour

Join a knowledgeable interpreter and learn everything there is to know about the history of the first electrically operated lock in the world. Highlights include the Powerhouse, historic machinery, the Emergency Swing Dam and its role in the accident of 1909, and how Parks Canada is preserving this national historic site. Admission to the new exhibit in the Stores Building is included in the tour.

The Site Tour is about one hour long,  walking approximately 1.3 km along a paved sidewalk.  Tours can be adjusted to fit your needs.

Dates and Times: Available during regular Visitor Centre hours

Price: Visit our fees page

Reservation:
Individual and family walk-ins are welcome;  large groups require advanced reservations. Please call 705-941-6205 or email pc.infolhncssm-ssmcnhsinfo.pc@canada.ca to make a reservation.

Island Tour

Take a walk across South St. Mary’s Island to view the St. Marys River rapids. This tour features the history of Whitefish Island and North and South St. Mary’s Islands and how they are significant to the story of Sault Ste. Marie and the Indigenous peoples of the region. The tour passes through a continually changing landscape and highlights some of Parks Canada’s environmental conservation projects. Admission to the new exhibit in the Stores Building is included in the tour.

The Island Tour is about 1.5 hours long, walking approximately 2 km on trails and hard surfaces.

Dates and Times: Available during regular Visitor Centre hours

Price: Visit our fees page

Reservation:
Individual and family walk-ins are welcome;  large groups require advanced reservations. Please call 705-941-6205 or email 
pc.infolhncssm-ssmcnhsinfo.pc@canada.ca to make a reservation. 

Travel Trade

  • Suitable for large groups
  • Suitable for small groups
  • Suitable for FIT (Fully Independent Travelers)
  • Motor coach parking available
  • Washrooms on site
  • Gift shop

Visite avec un expert : Vous voulez une expérience plus approfondie ? Venez explorer les vastes terrains et les structures historiques du canal de Sault Ste. Marie. Rejoignez l'un de nos interprètes compétents qui vous guidera à travers le site lors de l'une de nos visites thématiques.


Visite du site

Rejoignez un interprète compétent et apprenez tout ce qu'il y a à savoir sur l'histoire de la première écluse électrique au monde. Parmi les points saillants, mentionnons la centrale électrique, les machines historiques, le barrage tournant de secours et son rôle dans l'accident de 1909, et la façon dont Parcs Canada préserve ce lieu historique national. L'entrée à la nouvelle exposition dans le bâtiment des magasins est incluse dans la visite.

La visite du site dure environ une heure et comprend une marche d'environ 1,3 km sur un trottoir pavé.  Les visites peuvent être adaptées à vos besoins.

Dates et heures : Disponible pendant les heures d'ouverture du centre d'accueil des visiteurs
Prix : Consultez notre page de tarifs

Réservez :
Les particuliers et les familles sont les bienvenus ; les grands groupes doivent réserver à l'avance. Veuillez appeler le 705-941-6205 ou envoyer un courriel à pc.infolhncssm-ssmcnhsinfo.pc@canada.ca pour faire une réservation
.

Tour de l'île 

Faites une promenade sur l'île South St. Mary's pour voir les rapides de la rivière St. Cette visite présente l'histoire de l'île Whitefish et des îles North et South St. Mary's, ainsi que leur importance dans l'histoire de Sault Ste. Marie et des peuples autochtones de la région. La visite traverse un paysage en constante évolution et met en lumière certains des projets de conservation de l'environnement de Parcs Canada. L'entrée à la nouvelle exposition dans le bâtiment des magasins est incluse dans la visite.

La visite de l'île dure environ une heure et demie, avec une marche d'environ 2 km sur des sentiers et des surfaces dures.

Dates et heures : Disponible pendant les heures normales d'ouverture du centre d'accueil des visiteurs
Prix : Consultez notre page de tarifs

Réservez :
Les particuliers et les familles sont les bienvenus ; les grands groupes doivent réserver à l'avance. Veuillez appeler le 705-941-6205 ou envoyer un courriel à pc.infolhncssm-ssmcnhsinfo.pc@canada.ca pour faire une réservation
.

Industrie du tourisme

  • Convient aux grands groupes
  • Convient aux petits groupes
  • Convient aux voyageurs entièrement indépendants (VEI)
  • Stationnement pour autocars disponible
  • Toilettes sur place
  • Boutique de cadeaux