Special Events on the Rideau Canal NHS require a valid permit from Parks Canada to proceed.

If you are looking for the perfect venue for a special event, the Rideau Canal National Historic Site is a premier setting. This UNESCO World Heritage Site, Canadian Heritage River, and part of a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve, is one of Canada’s best-known and treasured sites. Use of the Rideau Canal, both on land and on water, for public or private use, is subject to the Historic Canals Regulations that require all events be permitted by Parks Canada.


Special Events include:
  • Flotillas/Regattas
  • Rallies & Festivals
  • Weddings
  • Fishing tournaments
  • Community Events

Special Events fee:


Fishing 
Several racing paddlers make their way on the Rideau Canal

Permits and fees

All Special Events held at the Lockstations, or on/over the bed of the Rideau Canal must be permitted through Parks Canada as outlined in the Historic Canals Regulations. All parties wishing to hold a special event on the Rideau Canal are subject to the application process, the associated timelines, and accompanying fees. All Special Event Permit applications will be evaluated on the following criteria:

  • Impact on Cultural or Natural Resources
  • Appropriate use of site
  • Structures, and equipment necessary to operate the event
  • Municipal, Provincial, Federal regulations
  • Safety
  • Collateral effect on navigation, and or use and enjoyment of the site by others
  • Water Management implications
  • Construction and external pressures
  • Event overlap

Fees are charged at all national parks, national historic sites, national marine conservation areas and historic canals. These revenues are applied toward the support of the ongoing administration, visitor services and facilities of the Rideau Canal. They represent an investment in the future of the site to uphold as a legacy for future generations.


Apply for a permit
How to apply
  1. Complete and submit a permit application
  2. Allow 6-8 weeks for processing
  3. After reviewing your application, Parks Canada will contact you about the status
Fees

Special Event fee:

$210.00/day

Permit application:

$50 - $196.20
(non-refundable; per event application)

Electrical hook-up
(upon availability)

$34.30/day

Cold water hook-up
(upon availability)

$34.30/day

Liability and insurance

In order to obtain a Special Event Permit, organizers must, at their own expense, obtain and maintain commercial general liability insurance of a minimum of two million dollars ($2,000,000.00) per incident for their events.

More information about Public Liability Insurance

The Organizer must provide, to Parks Canada, proof of Insurance which shall include “Her Majesty the Queen, in Right of Canada, as represented by the Minister of Environment for the purpose of the Parks Canada Agency” as additional insured. Her Majesty shall be indemnified against all legal liability arising from the death or injury to any person as well as the loss of or damage to any property, to the extent that liability for these incidents is attributable to the use of the Site covered by this agreement. The address to be used on the Insurance Certificate should be :

Parks Canada Rideau Canal
34 Beckwith Street South
Smiths Falls, ON
K7A 4S5

Other applicable costs

Lockstation use, early bridge swings and parking will continue to be charged as applicable.

Les événements spéciaux sur le LHN du canal Rideau nécessitent un permis valide de Parcs Canada pour continuer.

Si vous cherchez l’endroit parfait pour un événement spécial, le canal Rideau est tout indiqué. Le canal Rideau est un lieu historique national, un site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO et une rivière du patrimoine canadien. Il fait également partie des réserves de biosphère de l’UNESCO. L’utilisation du canal Rideau (que ce soit sur terre ou dans l’eau) à des fins publiques ou privées est assujettie à les Réglements sur les canaux historiques qui exigent que tous les événements sur le canal Rideau soient autorisés par Parcs Canada.


Activités spéciales :
  • Flottilles / Régates
  • Rallyes et Festivals
  • Mariages
  • Concours de pêche
  • Événements communautaires

Pêche 
Plusieurs pagayeurs naviguent sur le canal Rideau. Lieu historique national du Canal-Rideau

Permis

La tenue d’une activité spéciale près des écluses ou sur le canal Rideau même exige un permis délivré par Parcs Canada, conformément au Règlement sur les canaux historiques. Toute personne souhaitant organiser une telle activité doit présenter une demande en respectant les délais prescrits et payer les frais connexes. Les aspects suivants sont pris en considération dans l’évaluation des demandes d’activité spéciale :

  • Impact sur les ressources culturelles et naturelles;
  • Utilisation appropriée du site;
  • Structures et matériel requis;
  • Réglementation municipale, provinciale et fédérale;
  • Sécurité;
  • Effets sur la navigation et la jouissance du site par les autres visiteurs;
  • Effets sur la gestion de l’eau;
  • Construction et contraintes externes;
  • Chevauchement d’activités

Des frais sont exigés dans tous les parcs nationaux, lieux historiques nationaux, aires marines nationales de conservation et canaux historiques. Ces revenus sont affectés au soutien de l'administration, des services aux visiteurs et des installations du canal Rideau ; Ils représentent un investissement dans l'avenir du lieu à préserver pour les générations présentes et futures.


Permits des évènements spéciaux
Comment faire application
  1. Remplissez et soumettez une demande de permis
  2. Accordez 6-8 semaines pour le traitement de votre application
  3. Après avoir examiné votre demande, Parcs Canada vous contactera au sujet de votre application
Frais

Frais pour événements spéciaux :

210$ par jour

Frais de demande :

50$ - 196,20$
(non remboursable; par demande d'événement)

Branchement électrique :

34,30$/par jour selon disponibilité

Branchement d’eau froide

34,30$/par jour selon disponibilité

Responsabilité et assurance

Pour obtenir un permis d'événement spécial, les organisateurs doivent, à leurs frais, obtenir et maintenir de l’assurance responsabilité civile générale pour leurs événement pour un montant d'au moins deux millions de dollars (2 000 000,00 $) lors d'un incident ou d'une série d’incidents attribuables à une même cause.

Plus d'information

Ils doivent désigner «Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de l’Environnement agissant pour le compte de l’Agence Parcs Canada » à titre d'assurée additionnelle designee. Cette police doit contenir les protections suivantes pour Sa Majesté : les préjudices moraux, les préjudices corporels y compris le décès, les préjudices matériels et la responsabilité contractuelle assurée en vertu du permis. Preuve de certificat d’assurance valide doit être être fourni pour approbation par Parks Canada. L'adresse à utiliser sur le certificat d'assurance doit être :

Parcs Canada canal Rideau 
34 rue Beckwith sud
Smiths Falls, ON
K7A 4S5

Autres frais applicables

Les exigences supplémentaires concernant les activités, comme l’utilisation d’un poste d’éclusage, la mise à l’eau d’embarcations, les ouvertures de pont tournant effectuées plus tôt que prévu et le stationnement continueront d’être facturées au tarif applicable.