Jones Falls Lock 39 Repairs

February 21, 2019 – The rehabilitation of the locks and replacement of the timber bridge at Jones Falls Lockstation on the Rideau Canal National Historic Site is well underway. Investments in the preservation, rehabilitation, and restoration of our national historic sites, such as Jones Falls, will protect our heritage and strengthen their appeal as destinations to celebrate our nation's achievements. Work on the Jones Falls Timber Bridge and Locks will preserve them for the enjoyment of future generations.

Jones Falls Lock 39-42 Rehabilitation

In January, the contractor installed the cofferdam – a temporary dam used to create a dry in-water work area – at Lock 39. Work has begun within the cofferdam on the installation of a concrete pile wall to prevent underground water migration into the lock. The contractor is also repairing a stone apron that was discovered on the upstream side of the lock.

Additionally, Locks 40 and 41 are undergoing repairs this non-navigation season. Lock 40 has been enclosed and repairs have begun on its floor. Lock 40 and 41 have had some of their timber gates removed to allow for repairs to the hollow quoins – the curved portion of the lock wall where the gates rest in the closed position.

This project will be completed over a three year period during the non-navigation season, with substantial completion expected for spring 2021.

Jones Falls Timber Bridge Replacement 

The old Jones Falls Timber Bridge, fixed dock, and concrete abutments have now been removed while the historic timber cribbing resting beneath the bridge are being preserved in their position underwater. The piles to support the new bridge deck are now in place and the west cofferdam is currently being installed. Construction of the new east and west abutment will soon follow.


These projects are part of Parks Canada’s unprecedented $3 billion dollar investment over 5 years to support infrastructure work to heritage, visitor, waterway and highway assets located within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas across Canada. These investments represent the largest federal infrastructure plan in the history of Parks Canada.

About Jones Falls

Work on Jones Falls began in 1827 and was completed in 1832. Given the rugged terrain, 
Jones Falls Lockstation demonstrates the impressive feats of the canal builders. In order to address the one mile long rapids with a fall of 60 feet, Colonel By proposed the construction of an arch dam 60 feet high and 350 feet in length. Four locks were constructed at the site, each with a lift of 15 feet. The upper lock and the flight of three lower locks are separated by a turning basin. 

In part, because of the breathtaking views throughout the site, Jones Falls Lockstation is designated as a cultural landscape of National Historic Significance by Parks Canada.   

For More Information:

For up-to-date news about Parks Canada infrastructure work in this area, please visit www.parkscanada.gc.ca/RCInfrastructure. If you have any questions about these projects, or would like to receive email updates, please email us at: RideauCanal.info@pc.gc.ca and include “Jones Falls” in the subject heading.

Réparations à l’écluse 39 de Jones Falls
21 février 2019 – Les travaux de réhabilitation des écluses et de remplacement du pont en bois vont bon train au poste d’éclusage de Jones Falls du lieu historique national du Canal-Rideau. Les investissements dans la préservation, la réhabilitation et la restauration de nos lieux historiques nationaux tels que Jones Falls, protègent notre patrimoine et renforcent leur attrait comme destinations pour célébrer les réalisations de notre pays. Ces travaux permettront de préserver le pont en bois et les écluses de Jones Falls au profit des générations futures.

Réhabilitation des écluses 39 à 42 de Jones Falls 

En janvier, l’entrepreneur a installé le batardeau – un barrage temporaire permettant de créer un espace de travail à sec – à l’écluse 39. Dans le batardeau, on a commencé l’installation d’un mur en béton pour empêcher l’infiltration des eaux souterraines dans l’écluse. L’entrepreneur répare aussi une aire en concassé découverte en amont de l’écluse.

Les écluses 40 et 41 font aussi l’objet de travaux de réparation pendant la morte-saison de la navigation. L’écluse 40 a été coffrée et les réparations du plancher sont commencées. Les portes en bois des écluses 40 et 41 ont été enlevées pour permettre les travaux au chardonnet – soit la partie incurvée du mur de l’écluse où les portent restent en position fermée.

Ce projet sera réalisé sur une période de trois ans en morte-saison de la navigation, et les travaux devraient être passablement avancés au printemps 2021.

Remplacement du pont en bois de Jones Falls 

L’ancien pont en bois de Jones Falls, son quai fixe et ses culées en béton ont été retirés et les caissons patrimoniaux en bois qui reposent sous le pont sont restés en place sous l’eau. Les piliers de soutien du nouveau tablier sont en place et le batardeau du côté ouest est en voie d’installation. La construction des nouvelles culées est et ouest suivra sous peu.

Ces projets s’inscrivent dans un investissement sans précédent de trois milliards de dollars sur cinq ans fait par Parcs Canada dans des travaux d’infrastructure visant des biens patrimoniaux, des installations destinées aux visiteurs, des voies navigables et des routes situés dans les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada. Il s’agit du plus important investissement jamais effectué dans les infrastructures fédérales de toute l’histoire de Parcs Canada.

Au sujet de Jones Falls

Les travaux à Jones Falls ont commencé en 1827 et ont été achevés en 1832. Compte tenu du terrain accidenté, les écluses de Jones Falls témoignent du génie remarquable des bâtisseurs du canal. Vu la présence de rapides d’une longueur d’un mille et d’une dénivellation de 60 pieds, le colonel By a proposé d’ériger un barrage-voûte de 60 pieds de haut et de 350 pieds de long. Quatre écluses ont été construites à cet endroit, chacune d’une hauteur de 15 pieds. L’écluse supérieure et les trois écluses inférieures sont séparées par un bassin d’évitage. 

C’est en partie parce que la vue sur l’eau comme sur la terre du lieu historique est saisissante que le poste d’éclusage de Jones Falls a été désigné paysage culturel d’importance historique nationale par Parcs Canada.   

Renseignements

Pour obtenir des nouvelles sur les travaux d’infrastructure de Parcs Canada dans cette région, rendez-vous sur le site https://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/lhn-nhs/on/rideau/visit/infrastructure. Si vous avez des questions à propos du projet ou si vous souhaitez recevoir par courriel des nouvelles à ce sujet, écrivez-vous à : RideauCanal.info@pc.gc.ca et inscrivez « Jones Falls » en objet.