Smiths Falls, Ontario, April 29, 2020– Parks Canada would like to advise that the Hogs Back Fixed Bridge, that spans the Rideau Canal National Historic Site, will be closing to vehicle traffic on May 4, 2020 with an anticipated reopening in late December 2020. This work is part of a larger federal infrastructure renewal project, which will result in improved, safer traveling experiences for bridge users.

During this forthcoming closure, the contractor will replace the deck on the Hogs Back fixed bridge. Detours will be in place for vehicle traffic, as well as pedestrians and cyclists.

Work will be ongoing concurrently for both the Hogs Back Swing Bridge and the Hogs Back Fixed Bridge during the spring and summer months. From May 2020 until approximately the end of August 2020, road closures to vehicular traffic will include Hogs Back Road between Prince of Wales Drive and Riverside Drive, as well as for Colonel By Drive between University Drive and Hogs Back Road. Following the reopening of the Hogs Back Swing Bridge, expected at the end of August, Hogs Back Road between Prince of Wales Drive and Colonel By Drive will reopen, with only the portion of Hogs Back Road between Colonel By Drive and Riverside Drive remaining closed until the end of December.  

For cyclists and pedestrians, a detour around the construction site will be in place for the full period from May to end of December 2020. The detour will pass over the deck of the Hogs Back Dam and through the National Capital Commission’s Hogs Back Park, rejoining to the pathways along Hogs Back Road. Signs will be in place to direct all traffic to the appropriate routes.  

Visitor safety is a priority for Parks Canada. Members of the public are asked to respect the detours in place and use caution in the areas surrounding the Hogs Back Swing and Fixed Bridges. Parks Canada appreciates the patience from the travelling public and apologizes for the inconvenience of this closure. 

The upgrades to the Hogs Back Fixed Bridge are part of the Government of Canada’s Federal Infrastructure Investment program. Parks Canada is leading this important infrastructure work to ensure safe, high-quality experiences for visitors by improving heritage, visitor, waterway, and highway assets located within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas.

Please note:

  • Parks Canada is following advice from public health experts and implementing measures to support Canada’s efforts to limit the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) and reduce the risks to Canadians, visitors, Parks Canada team members, and contractors working at our places.
  • Parks Canada is calling on Canadians to stay home and help limit the spread of COVID-19. Camping, group activities and events at all national parks, national historic sites, heritage canals and national marine conservation areas are suspended until at least May 31, 2020. The current suspension of visitor services and vehicle access by visitors, as well as the temporary closure of visitor facilities, will remain in place until further notice. The Agency will continue to monitor the situation closely and take action, as required, to mitigate risks to visitors and team members.
  • Parks Canada’s construction projects are considered part of the Agency’s critical services to the public. Most scheduled construction activities are proceeding as planned, but are subject to change due to the evolving situation related to COVID-19. Parks Canada will continue to communicate all developments to the public.

For questions or concerns, or to receive email updates regarding this project, please contact us at Rideau.info@pc.gc.ca. For news about this or other infrastructure projects in your area, please visit our public website at www.parkscanada.gc.ca/rcinfrastructure

Smiths Falls (Ontario), 29 avril 2020 – Parcs Canada souhaite vous informer que le pont fixe de Hogs Back, qui surplombe le lieu historique national du Canal-Rideau, sera fermé à la circulation automobile à compter du 4 mai avec une réouverture prévue à la fin décembre 2020. Ces travaux s’inscrivent dans un vaste projet de renouvellement de l’infrastructure fédérale qui rendra les déplacements plus agréables et plus sécuritaires pour les usagers du pont.

Durant cette période de fermeture, l’entrepreneur remplacera le tablier du pont fixe de Hogs Back. Des déviations seront aménagées pour les automobilistes ainsi que pour les piétons et les cyclistes. 

Les travaux seront en cours simultanément pour le pont tournant de Hogs Back et le pont fixe de Hogs Back pendant le printemps et l’été. De mai 2020 jusque vers la fin août 2020, les fermetures à la circulation routière incluront : le chemin Hogs Back entre la promenade Prince of Wales et la promenade Riverside, ainsi que la promenade Colonel-By entre la promenade University et le chemin Hogs Back. Suite à la réouverture du pont tournant de Hogs Back, qui est prévue à la fin août, le chemin Hogs Back entre la promenade Prince of Wales et la promenade Colonel-By rouvrira. Seulement le tronçon du chemin Hogs Back entre la promenade Colonel-By et la promenade Riverside demeurera fermé jusqu’à la fin décembre.

Pour les cyclistes et les piétons, une déviation autour du site de construction sera en place à compter de mai jusqu’à la fin décembre 2020. La déviation passera sur le tablier du barrage de Hogs Back et traversera le parc Hogs Back de la Commission de la capitale nationale, pour rejoindre les sentiers le long du chemin Hogs Back. Des panneaux de signalisation seront installés pour diriger tous les usagers vers les voies appropriées.

La sécurité des visiteurs est une priorité pour Parcs Canada. On demande à la population de respecter les déviations en place et de faire preuve de prudence dans les secteurs entourant les ponts fixe et tournant de Hogs Back. Parcs Canada tient à remercier les usagers pour leur patience et à s’excuser des inconvénients causés par cette fermeture. 

Les travaux d’amélioration du pont fixe de Hogs Back s’inscrivent dans le Programme d’investissement dans les infrastructures fédérales du gouvernement du Canada. Parcs Canada dirige ces travaux d’infrastructure importants pour veiller à ce que les visiteurs vivent des expériences de qualité en toute sécurité grâce à l’amélioration des biens patrimoniaux, des installations destinées aux visiteurs, des voies navigables et des routes des lieux historiques nationaux, des parcs nationaux et des aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada.

Veuillez noter :

  • L’Agence Parcs Canada suit les conseils des experts en santé publique et prend des mesures pour soutenir les efforts déployés par le Canada en vue de limiter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus (COVID-19) et de réduire les risques pour la population canadienne, les visiteurs, les membres de l’équipe Parcs Canada et les entrepreneurs qui travaillent dans les lieux qu’elle gère.
  • Parcs Canada demande aux Canadiens et Canadiennes de rester à la maison et d’aider à limiter la propagation de la COVID-19. Le camping, les activités de groupe et les événements tenus dans tous les parcs nationaux, lieux historiques nationaux, canaux historiques et aires marines nationales de conservation sont suspendus au moins jusqu’au 31 mai 2020. La suspension actuelle des services aux visiteurs et de l’accès en véhicule ainsi que la fermeture temporaire des installations destinées aux visiteurs demeureront en vigueur jusqu’à nouvel ordre. L’Agence continuera de surveiller la situation de près et de prendre des mesures, au besoin, afin d’atténuer les risques pour les visiteurs et les membres de l’équipe.
  • Les projets de construction de Parcs Canada sont considérés comme faisant partie des services indispensables que fournit l’Agence à la population. La plupart des activités de construction planifiées se déroulent comme prévu, mais cela pourrait changer selon l’évolution de la situation liée à la COVID-19. Parcs Canada continuera de communiquer toute information nouvelle au public.

Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations ou si vous souhaitez recevoir des mises à jour par courriel au sujet de ce projet, écrivez-nous à Rideau.info@pc.gc.ca. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur ce projet et sur d’autres travaux d’infrastructure dans votre secteur, consultez notre site Web au www.parcscanada.gc.ca/crinfrastructure