April 29, 2020 - Info-Work: Closure of Hogs Back Fixed Bridge Beginning on May 4

The Hogs Back Fixed Bridge and Dam rehabilitation project includes repairs to the piers and abutments of both the dam and bridge, the east and west upstream retaining wall, and tunnel under the west abutment of the bridge. The bridge deck will also be replaced. This project will be completed in phases, with substantial completion expected in spring 2021.

Contact us:

Email address: RideauCanal.info@canada.ca

Follow us on social media:

Phase 1:

Work is focusing on concrete rehabilitation of the piers and abutments, as well as retaining wall.

Phase 1 (a) construction:
Date: Spring 2019 (Completed)

This phase included:

  • Demolition of the existing east upstream retaining wall
  • Pouring of its concrete footings
  • Excavation and extension of the east bridge abutment
Demolition
Reconstruction

Phase 1 (b) construction:
Date: Fall 2019 – Spring 2020

During this phase, the contractor will focus on concrete repairs to the west abutment and its pedestrian tunnel. The most westerly pier and a section of the west upstream retaining wall will also be repaired. During construction, the pedestrian tunnel under the west abutment will be closed.

Pedestrian detour


Phase 2
Date: Spring 2020 - mid 2021

During this time, the fixed bridge deck will be replaced and the pedestrian tunnel on the west side will be repaired. In order to complete this work, a road closure will be in effect, anticipated from spring 2020 to the end of December 2020.

Vehicle detour


About Hogs Back Dam and Fixed Bridge:

Construction of the first dam at Hogs Back began in the late 1820s and was plagued with many challenges. Throughout its construction, the dam was compromised by unexpected high waters and the winter frost impacting its foundation which resulted in its collapse on three separate occasions.

Colonel By’s team eventually installed timber cribwork and added a water waste weir to allow excess water to bypass the main dam during high flows. This dam was completed in 1830. Throughout the mid-to-late 1800s the dam sustained significant damage and underwent repairs. A reconstruction effort took place in the early 1890s.

The version of Hogs Back Dam in place today was completed in 1977 along with the fixed bridge. Hogs Back Dam is the currently second highest dam on the Rideau Canal system, following the dam located at Jones Falls.

The replacement of the Hogs Back Dam and Fixed Bridge is part of Parks Canada’s infrastructure program, a $3 billion dollar investment over 5 years that supports infrastructure work to heritage, visitor, waterway and highway assets located within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas across Canada

Communications

October 23, 2019 -Info-Work: Hogs Back Dam and Fixed Bridge Rehabilitation 
July 18, 2019Info-Work: Impact on Rideau Canal Waterway
April 12, 2019 -
Community Update: Construction Update
February 11, 2019 -
Community Update: Phase One Concrete Repairs Underway
December 18, 2018 -
Community Update: Ongoing Gate Replacements on the Rideau Canal
November 28, 2018 -
Community Update: Cofferdam to be installed
October 25, 2018 -
Community Update: Construction to Begin
August 03, 2018 -
Community Update: Projects out to Tender
February 28, 2018
- Info-Work: Temporary Closure Pedestrian Walkway 
February 23, 2018 - Info-Work: Temporary Closure 
January 19, 2018 - Info-Work: Inspection of Hogs Back Dam
April 20, 2016 - Potential Traffic Delays: Hogs Back Bridge, Ottawa

Le octobre 29 2021 - Info-Travaux: Fermeture temporaire d’une voie sur le pont fixe de Hog’s Back

Le projet de remise en état du pont fixe et du barrage de Hog’s Back comprend la réparation des piliers et des culées du barrage et du pont, du mur de soutènement en amont des côtés est et ouest et du tunnel sous la culée ouest du pont. Le tablier du pont sera également remplacé. Ce projet sera achevé en plusieurs phases et l’achèvement substantiel est prévu pour le printemps 2021.

Contactez-nous:

Email address: pc.rideau.pc@canada.ca

Suivez-nous sur les médias sociaux:

Phase 1:

Travaux portent sur la réfection du béton des piliers et des culées, ainsi que du mur de soutènement.

Phase 1 (a) construction:
Date: Printemps 2019 (Complété)

Travaux de construction:

  • Démolir le mur de soutènement existant en amont
  • Couler des fondations de béton
  • Excaver et à prolonger la culée est du pont
Démolir
Reconstruction

Phase 1 (b) travaux de construction
Date: L’automne 2019 au printemps 2020

Au cours de cette période, le tablier du pont fixe sera remplacé, et le tunnel piétonnier du côté ouest sera réparé. Pour que ces travaux puissent être réalisés, la route devra être fermée, probablement du printemps 2020 à la fin de décembre 2020.

Parcours de déviation pour piétons et cyclistes


Phase 2
Date: Du printemps 2020 jusqu’à la mi-2021

Au cours de cette période, le tablier du pont fixe sera remplacé, et le tunnel piétonnier du côté ouest sera réparé. Pour que ces travaux puissent être réalisés, la route devra être fermée, probablement du printemps 2020 à la fin de décembre 2020.

Parcours de déviation pour véhicules


À propos du barrage et du pont fixe de Hog’s Back:

La construction du premier barrage à Hog’s Back a commencé à la fin des années 1820 et a été confrontée à de nombreux défis. Tout au long de sa construction, le barrage a été compromis par des crues inattendues et le gel hivernal a affecté ses fondations, ce qui a entraîné son effondrement à trois reprises.

L’équipe du colonel By a fini par installer des caissons en bois et a ajouté un déversoir pour permettre à l’excès d’eau de contourner le barrage principal pendant les crues. Ce barrage a été achevé en 1830. Entre le milieu et la fin du XIXe siècle, le barrage a subi d’importants dommages et a subi des réparations. Un effort de reconstruction a eu lieu au début des années 1890.

La version actuelle du barrage Hog’s Back Dam a été achevée en 1977 en même temps que le pont fixe. Le barrage de Hog’s Back Dam est actuellement le deuxième plus haut barrage du réseau du canal Rideau, après le barrage situé à Jones Falls.

Le remplacement du barrage et du pont fixe de Hog’s Back s’inscrit dans le programme d’infrastructure de Parcs Canada, un investissement de 3 milliards de dollars sur cinq ans destiné à financer des travaux d’infrastructure sur certains biens patrimoniaux, installations destinées aux visiteurs, voies navigables et routes situés dans des lieux historiques nationaux, des parcs nationaux et des aires marines nationales de conservation répartis sur l’ensemble du pays.

Communications

Le 7 mai 2021 - Info-Travaux: Ralentissements intermittents de la circulation automobile sur le chemin Hog’s Back 
Le 23 decembre 2020 -
Bulletin de la collectivite: Nouvelles des travaux au pont fixe de Hog’s Back
Le 29 avril 2020
- Info-Travaux: Fermeture du pont fixe de Hogs Back à compter du 4 mai 2020
Le 23 octobre 2019 - Info-Travaux: Remise à neuf du barrage et du pont fixe de Hogs Back
Le 18 juillet  2019 - Info-Travaux: Répercussions sur la voie navigable du canal Rideau
Le 12 avril 2019 -
Bulletin de la collectivité: Le point sur les travaux
Le 11 février 2019
- Bulletin de la collectivité: La première phase des travaux de réparation du béton est en cours
Le 18 decembre 2018 -
Bulletin de la collectivité: Projet de remplacement de portes en cours au canal Rideau
Le 28 novembre 2018 -
Bulletin de la collectivité: Installation du batardeau
Le 23 octobre 2018 -
Bulletin de la collectivité: Amorce prochaine des travaux de construction
Le 03 août 2018 -
Bulletin de la collectivité: Projets en appel d’offres
Le 28 février 2018 -
Info-travaux: Fermeture temporaire Passage pour piétons
Le 23 février 2018 -
Info-travaux: Fermeture temporaire
Le 19 Janvier 2018 -
Info-travaux: Inspection du barrage de Hogs Back, à Ottawa
Le 20 avril 2016 -
Les risques de ralentissement de la circulation au pont Hogs Back, à Ottawa