Smiths Falls, Ontario, May 11, 2018 – On May 7th, 2018, Parks Canada began geotechnical investigative work on sections of the Rideau Canal’s walls in downtown Ottawa. This work is now coming to completion and on May 14th, 2018 the barge, from which the work was conducted, will be lifted by crane out of the Rideau Canal near the University of Ottawa. This crane work will have a short-term impact on vehicular, cyclist, and pedestrian traffic on Colonel By Drive.

To minimize traffic impacts, the crane operation will be limited to off-peak hours, between 9:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m., and is expected to be completed within a two-hour window. A traffic management plan will see vehicular traffic reduced to a single lane and controlled by flaggers. A signed detour route will be in place for pedestrians and cyclists.

A contractor had used this barge as part of geotechnical investigations on various sections of the Rideau Canal between Bank Street and the Ottawa Locks. This work will provide further information on the canal bed in these areas including additional data about soil or rock density and strength. This information will help in the preparation for future construction sites associated with the repair of canal’s walls in this area.

This project is part of Parks Canada’s unprecedented $3 billion investment over 5 years to support infrastructure work to heritage, visitor, waterway, and highway assets located within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas across Canada.

For up-to-date news on infrastructure work, please visit www.pc.gc.ca/rcInfrastructure or e-mail RideauCanal.info@pc.gc.ca to be added to our community engagement list.

 

Information:

Darryl Whitehead
External Relations Manager
Ontario Waterways
Parks Canada
darryl.whitehead@pc.gc.ca

Smiths Falls (Ontario), le 11 mai 2018 – Le 7 mai 2018, Parcs Canada a entrepris des travaux d'investigation géotechnique sur des sections des murs du canal Rideau au centre-ville d'Ottawa. Ces travaux sont en voie d'achèvement et, le 14 mai 2018, la barge, à partir de laquelle les travaux ont été effectués, sera retirée à l'aide d'une grue du canal Rideau près de l'Université d'Ottawa. Ces travaux de grue auront un impact à court terme sur la circulation des véhicules, des cyclistes et des piétons sur la promenade Colonel By.

Afin de minimiser les répercussions sur la circulation, le fonctionnement de la grue sera limité aux heures creuses, entre 9 h et 15 h, et devrait être terminé dans un délai de deux heures. Un plan de gestion de la circulation permettra de réduire la circulation des véhicules à une seule voie et de la contrôler par des signaleurs. Un itinéraire de déviation balisé sera mis en place pour les piétons et les cyclistes.

Un entrepreneur a utilisé la barge pour mener des études géotechniques en divers endroits du canal Rideau, entre la rue Bank et l’écluse d’Ottawa. Ces travaux permettront d’en savoir plus sur le lit du canal dans ces secteurs et d’obtenir des données supplémentaires sur la densité et la résistance du sol et des rochers. L’information aidera à la préparation de chantiers futurs liés à la réparation des murs du canal dans le secteur.

Le projet s’inscrit dans l’investissement sans précédent de trois milliards de dollars sur cinq ans réalisé par Parcs Canada afin d’améliorer l’infrastructure liée aux biens patrimoniaux, aux installations destinées aux visiteurs, aux voies navigables et aux routes situés dans les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada.

Pour obtenir les dernières nouvelles des travaux d’infrastructure, visitez le www.pc.gc.ca/fr/lhn-nhs/on/rideau/visit/infrastructure ou écrivez à RideauCanal.info@pc.gc.ca pour demander que nous ajoutions votre nom à notre liste de mobilisation communautaire.

Renseignements

Darryl Whitehead
Gestionnaire des relations externes
Voies navigables de l’Ontario
Parcs Canada
Darryl.whitehead@pc.gc.ca