Hogs Back Fixed Bridge

August 3, 2018 – Parks Canada’s infrastructure projects planned for the Ottawa Canal Walls – Echo Drive section and Hogs Back Dam and Fixed Bridge are now out to tender. Tender will close for each project in August, after which time bidders will be selected and further information on the project schedules will become available. These projects are currently planned to begin in fall 2018.

Ottawa Canal Walls Replacement – Echo Drive section

Beginning this fall, 262 metres of Ottawa Canal Walls along Echo Drive will undergo replacement. Work will include reconstruction of the wall and the multi-use pathway. Safety features such as the railings will also be replaced. During construction, a pedestrian detour will be in place. Further details will be communicated as we draw nearer to the start of construction. Repairs to this section of the Ottawa Canal Walls are expected to complete in fall 2019.

Hogs Back Dam and Fixed Bridge Rehabilitation

The Hogs Back Dam and Fixed Bridge will undergo rehabilitation beginning in the fall. Work will include repairs to the piers and abutments of both the dam and bridge, repairs to the east and west upstream retaining wall, and to the tunnel under the west abutment of the bridge. The bridge deck will also be replaced. This project will be completed in phases, with substantial completion of the project expected in spring 2021.

These projects are part of Parks Canada’s unprecedented $3 billion dollar investment over 5 years to support infrastructure work to heritage, visitor, waterway and highway assets located within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas across Canada. These investments represent the largest federal infrastructure plan in the history of Parks Canada.

 

For More Information:

For up-to-date news about Parks Canada infrastructure work in this area, please visit www.pc.gc.ca/RCInfrastructure. If you have any questions about either project, or if you would like to receive email updates, please email us at: RideauCanal.info@pc.gc.ca and include “Ottawa Canal Walls” or “Hogs Back Dam” in the subject heading.

Pont fixe de Hog’s Back

3 août 2018– Les projets d'infrastructure de Parcs Canada prévus pour le tronçon de la promenade Echo des murs du canal d'Ottawa ainsi que pour le barrage et le pont fixe de Hog’s Back font maintenant l'objet d'un appel d'offres. L'appel d'offres pour chaque projet prendra fin en août, après quoi les soumissionnaires seront sélectionnés et d'autres informations sur les calendriers des projets seront disponibles. Ces projets devraient débuter à l'automne 2018.

Remplacement des murs du canal d'Ottawa– tronçon de la promenade Echo

À compter de cet automne, 262 mètres de murs du canal d'Ottawa le long de la promenade Echo seront remplacés. Les travaux comprendront la reconstruction du mur et du sentier multifonctionnel. Les dispositifs de sécurité tels que les garde-corps seront également remplacés. Pendant la construction, un détour piéton sera en place. D'autres détails seront communiqués à l'approche du début des travaux de construction. Les réparations de cette section des murs du canal d'Ottawa devraient être terminées à l'automne 2019.

 

Remise à neuf du barrage et du pont fixe de Hog’s Back

Le barrage et le pont fixe de Hog’s Back feront l'objet de travaux de réfection à compter de l'automne. Les travaux comprendront la réparation des piliers et des culées du barrage et du pont, la réparation du mur de soutènement est et ouest en amont et du tunnel sous la culée ouest du pont. Le tablier du pont sera également remplacé. Ce projet sera réalisé par étapes et l'achèvement substantiel du projet est prévu pour le printemps 2021.

Ces projets s’inscrivent dans un investissement sans précédent de Parcs Canada de trois milliards de dollars sur cinq ans dans les biens patrimoniaux, les installations destinées aux visiteurs, les voies navigables et les routes des lieux historiques nationaux, des parcs nationaux et des aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada. Il s’agit du plus important investissement jamais effectué dans les infrastructures fédérales de toute l’histoire de Parcs Canada.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Pour obtenir des renseignements à jour sur les travaux d’infrastructure de Parcs Canada dans cette région, visitez www.pc.gc.ca/crInfrastructure. Si vous avez des questions à propos du projet ou si vous souhaitez recevoir par courriel des mises à jour sur le projets, écrivez-vous à : RideauCanal.info@pc.gc.ca et inscrivez « Murs du canal d’Ottawa »ou « barrage de Hog’s Back » en objet.