Black Rapids Lower Wharf Replacement
February 20, 2018 – The replacement of the upper and lower wharves at Black Rapids Lock 13 on the Rideau Canal National Historic Site is progressing well. The project is on target to be completed in spring 2018, in time for navigation.

Since early January, the contractor at Black Rapids has demolished both the upper and lower wharves. Recently, they placed the concrete foundation for both wharves and are currently building timber cribs for the upper wharf. The construction of cribs for the lower wharf will follow. Concrete slabs will be the final element placed on the cribs to form the deck of both wharves in March. The new wharves are slated to be available for recreational use this navigation season.

Work to replace the Black Rapids Wharves is part of Parks Canada’s unprecedented $3 billion dollar investment to support infrastructure work to heritage, visitor, waterway and highway assets located within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas across Canada. These investments represent the largest federal infrastructure plan in the 105-year history of Parks Canada.

About Black Rapids Lock 13

In 1827, Black Rapids Lock was built along a 2.4 kilometre stretch of rapids on the Rideau Canal. The lock was built out of local limestone sourced from a quarry on the east bank of the river, opened specifically to supply the lock construction. In 1829, the lockmaster’s house was completed, with the dam and artificial channel completion following thereafter.

Throughout the years, a number of repairs and modifications have been made at Black Rapids Lockstation. In 1925, the waste weir was rebuilt in concrete. Concrete was again used in the late 1940s and early 1950s to rebuild the timber dam. In the late 1960s, under the operation of Transport Canada, Black Rapids Lock was converted to hydraulic mechanized operation to improve efficiencies for recreational boat traffic.

For More Information:

For up-to-date news on infrastructure work along the Rideau Canal, please visit our website: www.pc.gc.ca/rcInfrastructure. If you would like to be added to our community engagement list and receive updates on this project, please e-mail RideauCanal.info@pc.gc.ca and include “Black Rapids Wharves” in the subject heading.

Remplacement des Quais de Black Rapids
20 février 2018 – Le remplacement des quais supérieur et inférieur de l’écluse 13 de Black Rapids, au lieu historique national du Canal-Rideau, va bon train. Le projet devrait être terminé comme prévu au printemps 2018, à temps pour l’ouverture de la saison de navigation.

Depuis le début de janvier, l’entrepreneur a démoli les quais supérieur et inférieur. Récemment, il a posé les fondations de béton des deux nouveaux quais; il fabrique actuellement des caissons en bois pour le quai supérieur. La construction des caissons du quai inférieur suivra. La pose sur les caissons des dalles de béton qui formeront le tablier des deux quais, dernière étape des travaux, se fera en mars. Les plaisanciers devraient pouvoir utiliser les nouveaux quais cette saison.

Cette projet s’inscrivent dans l’investissement sans précédent de trois milliards de dollars sur cinq ans fait par Parcs Canada dans des travaux d’infrastructure visant des biens patrimoniaux, des installations destinées aux visiteurs, des voies navigables et des routes situés dans les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada. Il s’agit du plan d’infrastructure fédéral le plus important des 105 années d’existence de Parcs Canada.

Au sujet de l’écluse 13 de Black Rapids

C’est en 1827 qu’est construite l’écluse de Black Rapids, sur une portion de 2,4 km des rapides du canal Rideau. Elle est construite en calcaire extrait d’une carrière située sur la rive est de la rivière, laquelle a été ouverte précisément pour fournir la matière première nécessaire à sa construction. En 1829, la maison du maître-éclusier est terminée; le barrage et le chenal artificiel seront achevés peu de temps après.

Au fil du temps, des réparations et des modifications sont faites au poste d’éclusage de Black Rapids. En 1925, on reconstruit le déversoir en béton. On utilise de nouveau le béton à la fin des années 1940 et au début des années 1950 pour reconstruire le barrage en bois. À la fin des années 1960, l’écluse de Black Rapids, exploitée par Transports Canada, est convertie en une écluse mécanisée hydraulique afin d’en améliorer l’efficacité pour la circulation des bateaux de plaisance.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Pour obtenir des renseignements à jour sur les travaux d’infrastructure le long du canal Rideau, consultez notre site Web : www.pc.gc.ca/crInfrastructure. Si vous souhaitez que votre nom soit ajouté à notre liste de mobilisation de la communauté pour recevoir par courriel des nouvelles du projet, envoyez-nous un courriel à l’adresse RideauCanal.info@pc.gc.ca et indiquez « Quais de Black Rapids » en objet.