Lower Nicholsons Wharf Replacement | Municipality of Merrickville - Wolford 

The wharves at Lower Nicholsons are well used throughout the navigation season by boaters travelling along the Rideau Canal. The project involved the replacement of the deteriorated wharves to ensure the quality and reliability of visitor facilities.


Upper Nicholsons Earth Dam Rehabilitation | Municipality of Merrickville - Wolford  

The rehabilitation of Upper Nicholsons Earth Dam on the Rideau River began in fall 2016 and completed in spring 2017. This project included stabilization work on the west embankment up stream of the spillway, excavation and back filling along the retaining wall, and repairs to the dam’s retaining wall masonry. 


Merrickville Swing Bridge Rehabilitation | Municipality of Merrickville-Wolford

The Merrickville Swing Bridge connects Highway 43 and crosses the Rideau Canal in the picturesque downtown area of the municipality of Merrickville-Wolford. The Merrickville Swing Bridge was built in 1990, and is the fifth swing bridge to be built at the lockstation. The rehabilitation project occurred over the winter and spring of 2015 and is now complete. Work involved repainting and repaving of the bridge.


Stabilization of Merrickville Depot Building | Municipality of Merrickville-Wolford 

The Merrickville Depot is a building located at the lockstation in the Village of Merrickville, Ontario. The building was originally constructed c1858 and is currently leased by the Friends of the Rideau. The Depot is a wood frame structure on a timber foundation that has reached the end of its lifespan. This project will involve raising the building and reconstructing its foundation.


Rehabilitation of Merrickville Weir | Municipality of Merrickville-Wolford

Merrickville Weir will undergo a rehabilitation to improve its water management capacity. This project will ensure the reliability and functionality of the dam for years to come.


Rehabilitation of Edmonds Lock, Dam and Weir | Municipality of Merrickville-Wolford

Parks Canada has been rehabilitating components of Edmonds Lock 25, Dam, and Weir on the Rideau Canal National Historic Site. Work includes heritage stone masonry repairs - repointing, conservation-minded stone replacement and grouting. 


Merrickville Lockstations Masonry Repairs | Municipality of Merrickville-Wolford

Merrickville Lockstations will undergo masonry repairs to ensure the continued safe passage of vessels along the canal. Work will include stone replacement, stone repair, repointing and grouting. This work will increase the longevity of this historic masonry.


Regular Dams (multiple) Repairs | Various locations from Ottawa to Kingston

The Parks Canada Agency manages more than 200 dams in canals and waterways. Throughout the systems, various types of dams are found including concrete gravity, earth embankment and stone arch dams. Regular repairs to these essential water management structures are needed to ensure that dams are reliable, functional, meet current engineering and safety codes and standards, and that water management capabilities are optimized. Dams on the Rideau Canal that have been identified as needing regular repairs include the following: Kingston Mills Earth Dam, Kingston Mills Arch Dam and Weir, Old Slys Weir, Long Island Arch Dam Vegetation, Jones Falls Arch Dam, Merrickville Weir, and Manotick Dam.

October 2, 2015 - Merrickville Weir Rehabilitation

Replacement du quai Lower Nicholsons | Municipalité de Merrickville-Wolford 

Les quais de Lower Nicholsons sont très fréquentés tout au long de la saison de navigation par les plaisanciers qui parcourent le canal Rideau. Le projet a consisté à remplacer les quais détériorés afin d’assurer la qualité et la fiabilité des installations destinées aux visiteurs.


Réfection du barrage en terre d’Upper Nicholsons | Municipalité de Merrickville-Wolford  

Le projet de réfection du barrage en terre d’Upper Nicholsons, sur la rivière Rideau, a commencé à l’automne 2016 et s'est terminé au printemps 2017. Il comprenait des travaux de stabilisation de la levée de terre située à l’ouest, en amont du déversoir, des travaux d’excavation et de remblai le long du mur de soutènement menant à l’écluse ainsi que des travaux à la maçonnerie du mur de soutènement du barrage. 


Rénovation du pont tournant de Merrickville | Municipalité de Merrickville-Wolford

Le pont tournant de Merrickville est situé sur la route 43. Il traverse le canal Rideau dans le centre-ville de la pittoresque municipalité de Merrickville-Wolford. Le pont tournant de Merrickville a été construit en 1990. Il est le cinquième pont tournant construit au poste d’éclusage. Le projet de rénovation a été réalisé à l’hiver et au printemps 2015. Il est maintenant terminé. La peinture et le revêtement bitumineux du pont ont été refaits.


Stabilisation du bâtiment du dépôt de Merrickville | Municipalité de Merrickville-Wolford 

Le dépôt de Merrickville se trouve au poste d’éclusage situé dans le village de Merrickville, en Ontario. Il a été construit c1858 et est actuellement loué par les Amis du Canal-Rideau. Il s’agit d’un bâtiment à charpente de bois sur fondations de bois, et il a atteint la fin de sa durée de vie. Le projet consistera à soulever le bâtiment pour reconstruire les fondations.


Réparation de la maçonnerie des postes d’éclusage de Merrickville | Municipalité de Merrickville-Wolford

La maçonnerie des postes d’éclusage de Merrickville fera l’objet de travaux de réparation, afin que le passage des bateaux le long du canal demeure sécuritaire. Ces travaux consisteront à remplacer, à réparer et à rejointoyer des pierres ainsi qu’à injecter du coulis. Ils permettront d’accroître la longévité de ces structures de maçonnerie patrimoniales.


Restauration de déversoir de Merrickville | Municipalité de Merrickville-Wolford

Le déversoir de Merrickville sera restauré afin d’améliorer sa capacité de gestion des eaux. Ce projet assurera la fiabilité et la fonctionnalité du barrage pour des années à venir.


Restauration du barrage et déversoir Edmonds | Municipalité de Merrickville-Wolford  

Parcs Canada a terminé le volet de réhabilitation de l’écluse 25, du barrage et du déversoir d’Edmonds dans le lieu historique national du Canal-Rideau. On a procédé à des réparations de la maçonnerie patrimoniale - rejointoiement, remplacement de pierres axé sur la conservation et injection de coulis.


Réparations de plusieurs barrages | Divers endroits entre Ottawa et Kingston

L’Agence Parcs Canada administre plus de 200 barrages sur des canaux et des voies navigables. Ce réseau inclut une variété de barrages, y compris les structures à embase-poids, les barrages de terre et les barrages-voûtes en pierre. La réparation régulière de ces structures essentielles de gestion de l’eau est nécessaire pour s’assurer que les barrages sont fiables et fonctionnels, qu’ils respectent les normes et codes de sécurité d’ingénierie actuels, et que la capacité de gestion de l’eau est optimisée. Les barrages du canal Rideau qui nécessitent des réparations régulières incluent le barrage de terre de Kingston Mills, le barrage-voûte et le déversoir de Kingston Mills, le déversoir d’Old Slys, la végétation du barrage-voûte de Long Island, le barrage-voûte de Jones Falls, le déversoir de Merrickville et le barrage de Manotick.

Le 2 octobre 2015 - Remise en état du déversoir Merrickville