Starting June 1, some Parks Canada places will begin to offer limited access and services while maintaining physical distancing measures. Information will be updated regularly.

Only places and activities where health and safety risks can be managed will be available for visitation. We are asking visitors to be cautious and conservative in their use of these places, to observe travel restrictions, respect closures, follow the guidance of public health experts, and to make every effort to keep one another safe.

Opening details will differ across the country. Please check the Parks Canada national information portal dedicated to COVID-19 for regular updates.

Parks Canada and COVID-19 (updated May 27, 2020)

The health and safety of Canadians, visitors and Parks Canada team members is our top priority.

Being outdoors and in nature brings a number of health and wellness benefits., It is important that people have access to natural spaces where they can go to get exercise and fresh air in settings that facilitate physical distancing.

On June 1, 2020, Parks Canada will begin a safe, gradual opening of some outdoor locations in national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas.

This means:

  • Starting June 1, visitors will be permitted to access some trails, day use areas, and green spaces at some locations. Until then, all suspensions of visitor services and closures of facilities announced in March remain in place.
  • For their own safety, visitors should not try to access locations that are closed.
  • All camping facilities remain closed until at least June 21, 2020, while Parks Canada assesses whether and how these services might resume. Group activities and public events will be prohibited until further notice. All existing reservations set to take place prior to June 21, 2020, will be automatically cancelled and refunded in full.
  • Highways and roadways which pass through Parks Canada places will remain open.


Starting June 1, 2020

Starting June 1st 2020, the Rideau Canal National Historic Site will offer limited visitor access and basic services along the entire system, with the exception of Jones Falls and Kingston Mills.

Visitors will be able to access the following services and facilities:

  • lockage, boat launches, access points and mooring areas;
  • day-use areas, including green spaces, picnic areas, and parking lots;
  • day-use trails, including some cycling access on designated trails and pathways;
  • lockstation grounds; and
  • public toilets where enhanced cleaning protocols will be implemented.

Until June 1, these facilities remain closed and we ask that visitors respect these closures in order to allow canal staff to do the necessary work to prepare for opening.

Jones Falls and Kingston Mills lockstations will not open on June 1 as important infrastructure work is ongoing in both of these locations. It is expected that this work will be completed and the entire system will be open for navigation later in June.

Visiting the Rideau Canal National Historic Site will be different than it has been in the past. Visitors are asked to plan ahead by checking the Rideau Canal National Historic website before they travel.

Important information about your visit to the Rideau Canal National Historic Site

Parks Canada's priorities for Ontario Waterways at this time are the provision of the critical services of construction projects and water management. The Rideau Canal National Historic Site and its associated mooring areas and boat launches are closed to the public in the interest of limiting the potential risk of spreading the COVID-19 virus. Unmarked hazards may exist and aids to navigation may be missing, off-station, or inoperable. Use of the waterway at this time is discouraged and at one’s own risk. The public is asked to follow the advice of public health experts on physical distancing.

Lockage and mooring will remain suspended until May 31

On April 15th Parks Canada announced that its visitor facilities, including lockage and mooring, will remain suspended until May 31. As such, the Rideau Canal National Historic Site will not open for through navigation before June 1st. In the interim, Parks Canada will continue to deliver critical services to support public safety including water management on the Rideau Canal.
What's Open (updated June 1st 2020)

Starting June 1st 2020, visitors will be able to access the following services and facilities:

  • Lockstations and lockstation grounds
  • Boat Launches
  • Access points
  • Mooring areas
  • Day use areas (including green spaces, picnic areas, and parking lots)
  • Day-use trails (Including some cycling access on designated trails and pathways)
  • Public toilets
What's closed (updated June 1st 2020)

Starting June 1st 2020, the following will be closed:

  • Locks 39 to 42 - Jones Falls
  • Locks 46 to 49 - Kingston Mills
  • Camping facilities
  • Group activities
  • Public events
Your safety when visiting
 

After June 1st 2020:

  • Nautical distancing
  • Wash your hands
  • Touchless locking
  • Follow direction from Lock Staff
  • Stay on boat while locking
  • No rafting
  • Cashless payment preferred

Visitors should follow the advice of public health experts, including necessary hygiene practices and physical distancing of two metres from others.

For More information

Special Events permitting: accepting electronic applications

Water Management
 

Parks Canada’s water management responsibilities on the Rideau Canal are considered part of the Agency’s critical services to the public and continue to be carried out on a 24/7 basis with the same level of commitment in terms of resources and effort.

Parks Canada maintains the Ontario Waterways Water Management InfoNet on this website. The InfoNet contains background information on water management practices, water management updates, frequently asked questions about water management, various reports on water management, and the most recent water level of lakes along both the Rideau Canal and the Trent-Severn Waterway.

The primary source of relevant local flood forecasting information for residents and visitors continues to be their respective Conservation Authority or the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry.

Infrastructure projects
 

The health and safety of Canadians, visitors, and Parks Canada team members is of the utmost importance to the Agency. Parks Canada’s infrastructure program is considered part of the Agency’s critical services to the public. We will continue to communicate if there are any changes in project status or schedule that impact the public.

Management plans
 

The health and safety of Canadians, visitors, and Parks Canada team members is of the utmost importance to the Agency. Parks Canada is following the advice of public health experts and implementing measures to support Canada’s efforts to limit the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) and reduce risks to employees and visitors.

As a result, Parks Canada has also suspended all public consultations and formal engagement with stakeholders and Indigenous peoples on management plans until further notice.

Management plans are developed through consultation and input from various people and organizations, including Indigenous peoples, local and regional residents, visitors, and the public.

The Agency is currently focusing its efforts on critical operations. There is, therefore, limited capacity to undertake full and meaningful management planning consultations at this time. Parks Canada also recognizes that the focus of the Canadian public, Indigenous partners and our stakeholders is on public health and safety and the economy.

Parks Canada is committed to resuming all management planning activities, including public consultations and formal engagement with stakeholders and Indigenous peoples, once operations return to normal and capacity allows.

Stay informed

À compter du 1er juin, certains endroits de Parcs Canada offriront un accès et des services limités tout en maintenant des mesures de distanciation physique.

Seuls les lieux et activités où les risques pour la santé et la sécurité peuvent être gérés seront disponibles pour les visites. Le gouvernement demande aux Canadiens d'être prudents et conservateurs dans leur utilisation de ces lieux, de respecter les restrictions de voyage, de respecter les conseils des experts en santé publique et de tout mettre en œuvre pour se protéger mutuellement.

Les détails d’ouverture varieront d'un bout à l'autre du pays. Veuillez consulter le portail national d'information de Parcs Canada dédié à COVID-19 pour des mises à jour régulières.

Parcs Canada et la COVID-19 (mise à jour du 27 mai 2020)

La santé et la sécurité des Canadiens et Canadiennes, des visiteurs et des membres de l’équipe Parcs Canada est d’une importance primordiale pour l’Agence.

Le contact avec la nature apporte un certain nombre de bienfaits pour la santé et le bien-être. Il est important qu’ils aient accès à des endroits où ils peuvent profiter du grand air, faire de l’exercice et pratiquer la distanciation physique.

Le 1er juin 2020, Parcs Canada commencera une ouverture progressive et sécuritaire de certains emplacements extérieurs des parcs nationaux, lieux historiques nationaux et aires marines nationales de conservation.

Cela signifie que :

  • À compter du 1er juin, les visiteurs seront autorisés à accéder à certains sentiers, aires de fréquentation diurne et espaces verts à certains endroits. D'ici là, toutes les suspensions des services aux visiteurs et les fermetures d'installations annoncées en mars restent en vigueur.
  • Pour leur propre sécurité, les visiteurs ne doivent pas essayer d'accéder à des lieux fermés.
  • Toutes les installations de camping restent fermées au moins jusqu'au 21 juin 2020, tandis que Parcs Canada évalue si et comment ces services pourraient reprendre. Les activités de groupe et les événements publics seront interdits jusqu'à nouvel ordre. Toutes les réservations existantes qui doivent avoir lieu avant le 21 juin 2020 seront automatiquement annulées et remboursées en totalité.
  • Les autoroutes et les routes qui traversent les sites de Parcs Canada resteront ouvertes.


À compter du 1er juin 2020

À compter du 1er juin 2020, le lieu historique national du Canal-Rideau offrira un accès et des services aux visiteurs limités le long de la voie navigable, à l’exception des postes d’éclusage Jones Falls et Kingston Mills.

Les visiteurs auront accès aux installations et aux services suivants :

  • écluses, rampes de mise à l’eau, points d’accès et aires d’amarrage ;
  • aires de fréquentation diurne, notamment les espaces verts, les aires de pique-nique et de stationnement ;
  • sentiers d’excursion diurne, notamment l’accès en vélo à des sentiers et des pistes désignés ;
  • terrains des postes d’éclusage ;
  • toilettes publiques où des protocoles de nettoyage renforcés seront mis en place.
D’ici au 1er juin, ces installations restent fermées et nous demandons aux visiteurs de respecter ces fermetures pour permettre au personnel de Parcs Canada d’accomplir les travaux nécessaires pour l’ouverture.

Les postes d’éclusage Kingston Mills et Jones Falls n’ouvriront pas le 1er juin, car d’importants travaux d’infrastructure se déroulent sur ces sites. L’achèvement de ces travaux et l’ouverture de l’ensemble du système à la navigation sont prévus pour plus tard en juin.

La visite du lieu historique national du Canal-Rideau sera différente de ce qu’elle était par le passé. On demande aux visiteurs de planifier à l’avance en consultant le site Web du lieu historique national du Canal-Rideau avant leur visite.

Informations importantes sur votre visite au lieu historique national du Canal-Rideau

Les priorités de Parcs Canada pour les voies navigables de l’Ontario à ce stade ci sont la prestation de services essentiels de projets de construction et la gestion des eaux. Lieu historique national du Canal-Rideau et les terrains de stationnement, les sentiers, les aires de fréquentation diurne et les rampes de mise à l’eau connexes sont interdits d’accès au public afin de réduire les risques de propagation de la COVID-19. Il est possible qu’il y ait des dangers non signalés et que les aides à la navigation ne soient pas toutes en place, qu’elles aient été déplacées ou qu’elles soient inutilisables. Nous demandons à la population de ne pas y naviguer et de suivre les conseils des experts en santé publique concernant la distanciation sociale.

L’éclusage et l’amarrage, demeurent suspendus au moins jusqu’au 31 mai

Parcs Canada a annoncé le 15 avril que ses installations destinées aux visiteurs, y compris l’éclusage et l’amarrage, demeurent suspendus jusqu’au 31 mai. Ainsi lieu historique national du Canal-Rideau ne seront pas ouverts à la navigation avant le 1er juin. Dans l’intervalle, Parcs Canada continuera à livrer des services clés à l’appui de la sécurité publique, y compris la gestion des eaux du canal Rideau.
Ce qui est ouvert (mis à jour : 1er juin 2020)

À compter du 1er juin 2020, les visiteurs auront accès aux installations et aux services suivants:

  • Écluses et terrains des postes d’éclusage
  • Rampes de mise à l’eau
  • Points d’accès et aires d’amarrage
  • Aires de fréquentation diurne (notamment les espaces verts, les aires de pique-nique et de stationnement)
  • Sentiers d’excursion diurne (notamment l’accès en vélo à des sentiers et des pistes désignés)
  • Toilettes publiques

Ce qui est fermé (mis à jour : 1er juin 2020)

À compter du 1er juin 2020, ces installations restent:

  • Éclusess 39 à 42 - Jones Falls
  • Éclusess 46 à 49 - Kingston Mills
  • Installations de camping
  • Les activités de groupe
  • Les événements publics
Votre sécurité lors de votre visite
 

À compter du 1er juin 2020:

  • Distanciation nautique
  • Lavez vos mains
  • Éclusage sans contact
  • Suivez les directivesdu personnel
  • Restez sur le bateau pendant le passage des écluses
  • Pas de rafting
  • Pas d’argent comptant si possible

Les visiteurs devraient suivre les conseils des spécialistes de la santé publique, y compris en ce qui concerne les bonnes pratiques d’hygiène et la distanciation physique de deux mètres.

Pour en savoir plus

Octroi de permis pour activités spéciales : Les demandes par voie électronique sont acceptées.

Gestion des eaux
 

Les responsabilités de Parcs Canada en matière de gestion des eaux sur le Canal Rideau sont considérées comme faisant partie des services essentiels que l’Agence offre au public et ces services sont maintenus en tout temps avec le même niveau d’engagement pour ce qui est des ressources et des efforts.

Parcs Canada tient à jour le portail d’information sur la gestion des eaux des voies navigables de l’Ontario sur le site Web du Canal Rideau. Ce portail contient des renseignements généraux sur les pratiques de gestion des eaux, des mises à jour, une foire aux questions et divers rapports sur la gestion des eaux, ainsi que les données les plus récentes sur les niveaux d’eau des lacs le long du Canal Rideau et de la voie navigable Trent-Severn.

La principale source de renseignements pertinents sur la prévision des inondations propre à une région pour les résidents et les visiteurs demeure leur office de protection de la nature ou le ministère des Richesses naturelles et des Forêts de l’Ontario.

Projets d’infrastructure
 

La santé et la sécurité des Canadiens, des visiteurs et des membres de l’équipe Parcs Canada sont d’une importance capitale pour l’Agence. Le programme d’infrastructures de Parcs Canada est considéré comme faisant partie des services essentiels que l’Agence offre au public. Nous continuerons d’informer la population si un changement pertinent est apporté à l’état d’avancement d’un projet ou au calendrier.

Les plans directeurs
 

La santé et la sécurité des Canadiens et Canadiennes, des visiteurs et des membres de l’équipe Parcs Canada est d’une importance primordiale pour l’Agence. Parcs Canada suit les conseils des experts en santé publique et met en place des mesures pour appuyer les efforts du Canada visant à limiter la propagation de la COVID-19 et réduire les risques pour les visiteurs et les employés.

Par conséquent, Parcs Canada a également suspendu toutes les consultations publiques ainsi que tous les processus de mobilisation officiels des intervenants et des peuples autochtones concernant les plans directeurs jusqu’à nouvel ordre.

Les plans directeurs sont élaborés au moyen de consultations et selon les rétroactions de diverses personnes et organisations, notamment les peuples autochtones, les résidents locaux et régionaux, les visiteurs et le public.

L’Agence concentre actuellement ses efforts sur les activités clés. Les moyens pour entreprendre des consultations approfondies et utiles sur l’élaboration des plans directeurs sont donc limités en ce moment. Parcs Canada reconnaît aussi que l’attention du public canadien, des partenaires autochtones et des intervenants porte actuellement sur la santé et la sécurité publiques ainsi que sur l’économie.

L’Agence Parcs Canada est déterminée à reprendre toutes les activités d’élaboration des plans directeurs, notamment les consultations publiques et les processus de mobilisation avec les intervenants et les peuples autochtones, une fois que les activités seront de retour à la normale et que les moyens le permettront.

Restez informé