Award recipients

The Rideau Corridor Landscape Strategy is pleased to announce the recipients of the Rideau Corridor Recognition Awards. On October 6th at The Station Theatre, Smiths Falls, the award winners were recognized for their hard work to help protect, enhance, promote and celebrate the heritage value and sustainability of the Rideau Canal corridor.

Category: Community Building

Honourable Mention: Rebecca Whitman - Foley Mountain Conservation Area

Rebecca’s pride in the Rideau corridor shines through her work as supervisor at the Foley Mountain Conservation Area. She is a passionate advocate for the protection of the natural environment and believes that education of the next generation is key to sustaining the local ecosystem to benefit humans, flora and fauna. Since 2008, she has led the youth environmental education program for over 5,000 annual participants, combining modern technology with traditional outdoor activities to improve environmental awareness, and highlight the importance of responsible stewardship and conservation of the local environment.

Merit: Seeley’s Bay and Area Residents’ Association - Steps Up Program

This community-driven, multi-faceted revitalization project, launched in 2010, celebrates, protects and promotes this heritage community in its unique location within two UNESCO designated sites - the Rideau Canal and the Frontenac Arch Biosphere Reserve. Through components such as eco-friendly, affordable outdoor recreational activities, community branding and promotion, the enhancement of village nodes, such as Haskin’s Point and the Red Chairs program, and community festivals such as the Smalls Hall Festival and Red Canoefest, the Steps Up Program celebrates and promotes this charming village on the Rideau Canal.

Merit: Friends of Foley Mountain

The Friends of Foley Mountain is a community-based group of volunteers who has provided support to the Foley Mountain Conservation Area for over 20 years. Since 2007, the group has raised over $100,000 to develop a universally-accessible trail, install solar panels, and purchase educational material for the outdoor environmental youth education program. Through their volunteer efforts in the Visitors Centre, at festivals, and through their newsletters and newspaper articles, the Friends help raise awareness and knowledge about environmental protection in this conservation area.

Excellence: Scott Cameron - Rideau Ferry community champion<.

Scott is central to all of the projects and events that have put the hamlet of Rideau Ferry on the map and in the news over the last 10 years, including the revitalization of the Rideau Ferry Vintage Race Boat Regatta, the 2015 and 2017 Rock the Docks music festival, and the development of the new Rideau Ferry public docks and community space. He has earned the moniker "Mr. Rideau Ferry" for his tireless work and advocacy for his community that has made it a go-to destination on the Rideau Canal.

Category: Environmental Stewardship

Honourable Mention: Murphy’s Point Provincial Park and the Friends of Murphy’s Point Park – Adopt a Gray Ratsnake Program

For 10 years, the Adopt a Ratsnake program has presented demonstrations of captive ratsnakes to foster understanding of the snakes, provided updates to adopters who help fund tracking chips in snakes, and funded two years of radiotelemetry to locate critical habitat. This important work helps to conserve this Species at Risk and its critical habitat, educates the public about the unique landscape comprising southern boreal and temporal forest, and promotes the sustainability of the canal corridor by protecting a unique ecosystem within it and the diversity of wildlife which calls it home.

Merit: Friends of Foley Mountain

The Friends have been supporting environmental protection and awareness of the Foley Mountain Conservation Area since 1996. These volunteers supported the development of the Silversides Outdoor Learning Centre and the installation of a solar energy system; support the outdoor environmental youth education program to help students understand the natural environment and their relationship with it; work in the Visitors Centre and at festivals; and raise awareness and knowledge about environmental protection through their newsletters and newspaper articles.

Excellence: Perth Wildlife Reserve

The Perth Wildlife Reserve is a model for how the environment and heritage of the Rideau Corridor (Tay Canal) may be enhanced through a range of creative and quality protection and awareness-building activities, as the Rideau Valley Conservation Authority and community volunteers carry out at this site. The Reserve helps protect the Tay Marsh Provincially Significant Wetland and Jebbs Creek wetland, and engages visitors with its Butterfly Garden and Trail, bird-watching tours, the Tay Marsh Lookout, interpretive panels on natural and cultural heritage, and protected areas to support species at risk.

Category: Design

Merit: Seeley’s Bay and Area Residents’ Association - Steps Up Program

The community revitalization project emphasizes the authentic waterside village experience, as shown in its branding and new entrance signage, and the Haskin’s Point swimming hole, based on historic photos and designed to integrate with the rocky shoreline. The new park furniture and associated structures provide a cohesive village palette, while enhanced landscaping with native plant species and a shoreline renaturalization demonstration highlight the importance of the natural environment.

Excellence: Township of Drummond North-Elmsley - Rideau Ferry Public Docks

The creation of new public docks in the village of Rideau Ferry was a collaborative project that transformed an unused area of land into an integral public space for residents and tourists alike, featuring 180 feet of dock space, a gazebo, public washrooms and the adaptive reuse of the original bridge deck as a new picnic area. The compact, high quality design complements and integrates with the waterfront residential and tourist commercial village core and is a destination for community events and celebrations.

Category: Heritage Conservation and Promotion

Merit – Heritage Conservation: Friends of Andrewsville Bridge

The Friends of Andrewsville Bridge have been a strong steward of the conservation of the Andrewsville Bridge, promoting it as a heritage and aesthetically pleasing Rideau Canal crossing. The group began as a community effort based on the desire of the members to protect this heritage asset in their community. This single lane truss bridge continues to transport residents and visitors across the Rideau Canal. An interpretive plaque recognizes the bridge as part of the local history.

Merit – Heritage Promotion: Dr. Laura Murray - Inner Harbour Kingston

Dr. Murray’s work tells the story of the southern stretch of the Rideau Canal system, bringing the Inner Harbour’s dynamic past to light. Her tours, based on extensive research and oral histories, are inspiring, increasing public awareness of why the Inner Harbour is important, and offering a chance to appreciate the human activity that occurred in the area and to understand the Cataraqui River’s cultural heritage.

Excellence: Murphy’s Point Provincial Park and the Friends of Murphy’s Point Park – Silver Queen Mine Interpretation Program

There is no other living history presentation of the industrial mining history associated with the Rideau Canal besides the tours of the Silver Queen Mine. This fascinating program enhances the understanding of mining history along the Rideau Canal and its role in shipping to England and the United States, through the conservation of important cultural heritage features, costumed interpretation, theatrical spirit walks, and special events.

Category: Economic Development

Excellence: Seeley’s Bay and Area Residents’ Association - Steps Up Program

This multi-faceted revitalization plan is intended to help sustain and support local businesses, and to improve the overall quality of life for all area residents, both seasonal and full-time. Phase 1 work included critical infrastructure for the main street and new tourism products such as a new paddling station, parkette nodes, and the Red Canoefest. Phase 2 focuses on marketing and brand promotion, community signage, and educational support for local businesses, assisting with their online presence and capitalization of the Seeley’s Bay brand.

In celebration of the 10th anniversary of the Rideau Canal’s inscription as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and in honour of Canada’s 150th birthday, the Rideau Corridor Landscape Strategy presents the Rideau Corridor Recognition Awards Program. The goal of the awards program is to recognize, honour and promote good design, environmental stewardship and economic development, through public and youth engagement, that serves to protect, enhance, promote and celebrate the heritage value and sustainability of the Rideau Canal corridor.

For more information, please contact:

Individual:
Doug Struthers, Chair
Telephone:
613-207-1327

Titulaires des prix

Dans le cadre de la Stratégie d’aménagement du corridor Rideau, nous sommes heureux de faire connaître les titulaires des prix du Programme de prix de reconnaissance du corridor Rideau. Le 6 octobre, au Station Theatre de Smith Falls, les titulaires ont reçu un prix pour le travail qu’ils ont accompli pour contribuer à protéger, améliorer et promouvoir le corridor du canal Rideau et reconnaître sa valeur patrimoniale et sa viabilité.

Catégorie : Renforcement de la collectivité

Mention d’honneur : Rebecca Whitman - Aire de conservation du mont Foley

Superviseure de l’aire de conservation du mont Foley, Rebecca est fière de la région du corridor Rideau et cette fierté transparaît dans son travail. Elle prône ardemment la protection de l’environnement et elle est persuadée que, pour préserver l’écosystème local, il est essentiel d’éduquer la prochaine génération pour le plus grand bénéfice des gens, de la flore et de la faune. Depuis 2008, elle dirige le programme d’éducation des jeunes sur l’environnement qui compte plus de 5 000 participants chaque année, combinant la technologie moderne et les activités de plein air traditionnelles afin d’accroître la sensibilisation à l’environnement et de souligner l’importance d’une intendance responsable et de la protection de l’environnement local.

Prix de reconnaissance : Seeley’s Bay and Area Residents’ Association - Projet de revitalisation « Steps Up »

Ce projet de revitalisation à plusieurs volets, sous l’égide de la collectivité, a été lancé en 2010 afin de souligner, de protéger et de promouvoir la valeur patrimoniale de ce lieu unique situé près de deux sites du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, soit le canal Rideau et la réserve de la biosphère de l’arche de Frontenac. Par ses divers volets, comme ses activités écologiques et récréatives de plein air abordables, la promotion de sa collectivité unique, la mise en valeur de villages importants comme Haskin’s Point, le programme des Chaises rouges et les festivals comme Smalls Hall Festival et Red Canoefest, le programme de revitalisation met en valeur ce charmant village le long du canal Rideau.

Prix de reconnaissance : Friends of Foley Mountain (les amis du mont Foley)

Friends of Foley Mountain est un groupe de bénévoles qui contribue à la protection de l’aire de conservation du mont Foley depuis plus de 20 ans. Depuis 2007, le groupe a recueilli plus de 100 000 $ pour aménager un sentier accessible à tous, installer des panneaux solaires et acheter du matériel éducatif pour le programme de sensibilisation des jeunes à l’environnement. Grâce à leur travail bénévole au centre d’accueil et aux festivals, ainsi qu’à leurs bulletins et articles dans les journaux, le groupe a contribué à sensibiliser la population à la protection de l’environnement dans cette aire de conservation et à accroître les connaissances sur le sujet.

Prix d’excellence : Scott Cameron - champion de la collectivité de Rideau Ferry

Scott est au cœur de tous les projets et évènements qui ont fait connaître Rideau Ferry au cours des dix dernières années, notamment la revitalisation de la régate de bateaux anciens, les éditions 2015 et 2017 du festival de musique Rock the Docks et l’aménagement des quais publics et des terrains communautaires. On le surnomme « M. Rideau Ferry » en raison de son travail acharné et des efforts qu’il déploie pour faire de cette petite localité une destination à ne pas manquer le long du canal Rideau.

Liens connexes :

Catégorie : Intendance de l’environnement

Mention d’honneur : Parc provincial Murphy’s Point et les amis du parc Murphy’s Point – Programme « Adopt a gray ratsnake » (adoptez une couleuvre obscure)

Depuis dix ans, dans le cadre du programme « Adopt a gray ratsnake », on fait connaître la couleuvre obscure au moyen d’exposés mettant en vedette des couleuvres en captivité. On a aussi informé régulièrement les personnes qui avaient « adopté » une couleuvre obscure de l’évolution du programme d’implants de puces électroniques auquel elles avaient contribué. On a aussi financé deux ans de radiotélémétrie pour situer l’habitat essentiel. Ces travaux d’importance aident à protéger cette espèce en péril et son habitat essentiel, à éduquer le public sur le paysage unique composé de forêt boréale méridionale et de forêt tempérée, ainsi qu’à promouvoir la viabilité du corridor du canal Rideau en protégeant un écosystème unique et la diversité de la faune.

Prix de reconnaissance : Friends of Foley Mountain (les amis du mont Foley)

Les amis du mont Foley contribuent à la sensibilisation et à la protection de l’environnement dans l’aire de conservation du mont Foley depuis 1996. Ces bénévoles ont aidé à l’aménagement du centre d’éducation en plein air Silversides et à l’installation d’un système héliotechnique. Ils ont aussi contribué au programme d’éducation en plein air sur le milieu naturel. Ce programme à l’intention des jeunes vise à aider les élèves à comprendre le milieu naturel et leur lien avec celui-ci. Les amis du mont Foley travaillent bénévolement au centre d’accueil et aux festivals. De plus, ils s’emploient à accroître la sensibilisation à la protection de l’environnement et les connaissances à ce sujet par le biais de leurs bulletins et articles dans les journaux.

Prix d’excellence : Perth Wildlife Reserve (réserve faunique de Perth)

Perth Wildlife Reserve est un modèle à suivre pour ce qui est de l’amélioration de l’environnement et de la valeur patrimoniale du corridor Rideau (canal Tay) grâce à des activités de sensibilisation et de protection créatives de qualité qui sont réalisées par l’Office de protection de la nature de la vallée Rideau et les bénévoles provenant de la collectivité. La réserve aide à protéger le milieu humide d’importance provinciale du marais du canal Tay et le milieu humide de Jebbs Creek. Son jardin et son sentier aux papillons, ses excursions guidées d’observation des oiseaux, son belvédère avec vue sur le marais Tay, ses panneaux d’interprétation sur le patrimoine naturel et culturel et ses zones destinées à protéger les espèces en péril savent capter l’intérêt des visiteurs.

Catégorie : Design

Prix de reconnaissance : Seeley’s Bay et Area Residents’ Association – Programme de revitalisation « Steps Up »

Le projet de revitalisation de la collectivité accroît l’expérience vécue dans ce village riverain authentique, comme en font foi son image de marque, son nouveau panneau à l’entrée du village et la zone de baignade d’Haskin’s Point, d’après des photos historiques et un aménagement conçu pour s’harmoniser avec le rivage rocailleux. Le nouveau mobilier du parc et les structures qui s’y rapportent créent une harmonie tandis que le paysage rehaussé de plantes indigènes et la revitalisation des berges font ressortir l’importance de l’environnement naturel.

Prix d’excellence : Canton de Drummond North-Elmsley – Quais publics de Rideau Ferry

La création des quais publics au village de Rideau Ferry est un projet collectif qui a transformé une partie inutilisée d’un terrain en lieux publics à l’intention des résidents et des touristes. Il comprend notamment 180 pi2 de quais, un abri de jardin et des toilettes publiques. De plus, le tablier du pont original est devenu une aire de pique-nique. L’aménagement de grande qualité dans un espace restreint complète le cœur du village commercial touristique et résidentiel au bord de l’eau et s’y intègre. L’endroit accueille les activités et les fêtes de la collectivité.

Catégorie : Préservation et valorisation du patrimoine

Prix de reconnaissance – Conservation du patrimoine : Friends of Andrewsville Bridge (les amis du pont d’Andrewsville)

Les amis du pont d’Andrewsville ont toujours été les fiers intendants de la conservation du pont d’Andrewsville. Pour eux, le pont fait partie du patrimoine et il agrémente le paysage et la traversée du canal Rideau. Le groupe a vu le jour grâce aux efforts de la collectivité qui avait à cœur de protéger cet élément du patrimoine collectif. Ce pont à treillis à une seule voie permet encore aux résidents et aux visiteurs de traverser le canal Rideau. Sur une plaque, il est indiqué que le pont fait partie de l’histoire locale.

Prix de reconnaissance – Valorisation du patrimoine  : Laura Murray - Inner Harbour, Kingston

Les travaux de Laura Murray racontent l’histoire du tronçon sud du réseau du canal Rideau, jetant la lumière sur le passé animé de Inner Harbour. Ses visites guidées, basées sur une recherche approfondie et l’histoire orale, sont inspirantes et font connaître au public l’importance de Inner Harbour. Elles offrent aussi l’occasion de connaître l’activité humaine qui a eu cours dans cette région ainsi que le patrimoine culturel associé à la rivière Cataraqui.

Prix d’excellence : Parc provincial Murphy’s Point et les amis du parc Murphy’s Point – programme d’interprétation de la mine Silver Queen

Aucune présentation animée de l’histoire de l’exploitation minière industrielle associée au canal Rideau ne vaut celle de la mine Silver Queen. Par le biais du patrimoine culturel, d’interprètes en costume d’époque, de marches des esprits à caractère théâtral et d’évènements spéciaux, ce programme fascinant fait connaître cette histoire et le rôle de cette exploitation minière dans le transport maritime vers l’Angleterre et les États-Unis.

Catégorie : Développement économique

Prix d’excellence : Seeley’s Bay et Area Residents’ Association – Programme « Steps Up »

Ce plan de revitalisation à plusieurs volets vise à aider à soutenir les entreprises locales et à améliorer la qualité de vie des résidents de la région, tant par des emplois saisonniers que par des emplois à temps plein. Les travaux de la phase 1 comprenaient une infrastructure essentielle pour la rue principale et de nouveaux produits touristiques comme une nouvelle station pour les amateurs de kayak ou de canot, des mini-parcs et le Red Canoefest. La phase 2 se concentre sur le marketing et la promotion, la signalisation et le soutien à l’information pour les entreprises locales, par l’aide en ligne et la valorisation de la marque de Seeley’s Bay.

Pour souligner le 10e anniversaire de l’inscription du canal Rideau sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, et en l’honneur du 150e anniversaire du Canada, la Stratégie d’aménagement du corridor Rideau présente l’édition 2017 du Programme de prix de reconnaissance du corridor Rideau. Le but de ce programme est de souligner, de mettre en valeur et de promouvoir les bons aménagements, l’intendance environnementale et le développement économique, par la participation des jeunes et des membres du public, dont l’objectif est de protéger, d’améliorer, de promouvoir et de reconnaître la valeur patrimoniale et la viabilité du corridor du canal Rideau.

Pour plus d'information, veuillez contacter :

Individuel :
Doug Struthers, Président
Téléphone :
613-207-1327
Adresse électronique :