Anyone who experiences the Rideau Canal and the communities along its length knows they are in a very special place. You might be a visitor- paddling through a narrow channel of spectacular natural beauty, walking down an historic street soaking in its character or driving through an engineering marvel. You might be a resident- cycling or skating along the Canal, running a shop in one of its many towns and villages, working a century farm, or fishing along its shores near your cottage. Whoever you are, the Rideau Canal Corridor is a place with a unique identity and a remarkable spirit.

The Rideau Canal and its Corridor have been honoured with many distinctions:

  • National Historic Site
  • Canadian Heritage River
  • UNESCO World Heritage Site

The Rideau Canal and its Corridor is proclaiming its universal value to humanity. In 2008, the National Geographic Society declared the Rideau the:

Second most authentic, sustainable destination in the World!

Following the recommendation of the World Heritage Committee, Parks Canada committed to undertaking an assessment of the visual character of the Canal Corridor; this commitment resulted in the formation of the Rideau Corridor Landscape Strategy (the Strategy), a collective of representatives from First Nations, federal and provincial agencies, municipalities, NGOs, property owners and others working together to ensure a collective vision for the Rideau Corridor.

As part of its commitment to the Rideau Corridor Landscape Strategy, over the course of 2012, Parks Canada facilitated a Landscape Character Assessment to identify key features and values along the Rideau Corridor in order to support more effective planning and management of the Rideau Corridor's landscape. For more information about the project, visit the project website to view the Final report.

For more information, please contact:

Mailing address:
Susan Millar, Planner
Ontario Waterways
Parks Canada
34 Beckwith Street South
Smiths Falls, ON K7A 2A8
Telephone:
613-283-7199, ext. 242
Toll free:
1-888-773-8888
Teletypewriter (TTY):
866-787-6221
Fax:
613-283-0677

Toute personne qui découvre le canal Rideau et les communautés qui se trouvent le long de ses rives sait qu'il s'agit d'un endroit très spécial. Que ce soit en tant que visiteur qui pagaie à travers un canal étroit entouré de beautés naturelles spectaculaires, qui déambule le long d'une rue historique en s'imprégnant de son caractère ou qui roule dans la campagne en direction d'un poste d'éclusage pour y observer des bateaux écluser dans un merveilleux ouvrage d'art. Que ce soit en tant que résident qui pratique le cyclisme ou qui patine le long du canal, qui gère une boutique dans un des nombreux villages, qui travaille sur une ferme centenaire ou qui pêche le long des rives du canal près de son chalet. Qui que vous soyez, le corridor du canal Rideau possède un caractère unique et un esprit remarquable

Le canal Rideau et son corridor ont fait l'objet de nombreuses distinctions :

  • Lieu historique national
  • Rivière du patrimoine canadien
  • site du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, annonçant ainsi sa valeur universelle pour l'humanité
 

En 2008, la National Geographic Society a classé le canal Rideau au:

Deuxième rang au monde en termes d'authenticité et d'empreinte touristique!

 

Dans la foulée de la recommandation du Comité du patrimoine mondial, Parcs Canada s'est engagé à entreprendre une évaluation du caractère visuel du corridor du canal; cet engagement a entraîné la création de la Stratégie d'aménagement du corridor Rideau (la Stratégie). La Stratégie réunit des représentants des Premières Nations, d'organismes fédéraux et provinciaux, de municipalités et d'organisations non gouvernementales qui unissent leurs efforts pour créer une vision collective du corridor du canal Rideau

En 2012, dans le cadre de l’engagement qu’il a pris à l’égard de la Stratégie d’aménagement du corridor Rideau, Parcs Canada a mené une évaluation de caractérisation du paysage qui visait à relever les principales valeurs et les principaux éléments présents le long du corridor Rideau afin de pouvoir planifier et gérer plus efficacement son paysage. Pour plus d'informations sur le projet, voyez le rapport final ici:

Pour plus d'information veuillez contacter :

Adresse mail:
Susan Millar, Planificatrice
Voies navigables de l'Ontario
Parcs Canada
34, rue Beckwith Sud
Smiths Falls, ON K7A 2A8
Téléphone:
613-283-7199, poste 242
Sans frais :
1-888-773-8888
Appareil de télécommunication pour sourds (ATS) :
866-787-6221
Télécopieur :
613-283-0677
Adresse électronique :