Management Planning and the Rideau Canal

Management planning is a process undertaken to set out, and periodically assess, the strategic management direction of a national historic site. Management plans are important documents that communicate a site’s long term vision and outline key strategies to achieve management goals.

This process helps to ensure Parks Canada delivers on its commitments to heritage places on behalf of Canadians. It also provides an opportunity for Indigenous peoples, residents, boaters, visitors and all types of stakeholders to share their ideas and thoughts.

The Rideau Canal's Management Plan was last updated in 2005. Since then, some changes to the planning process have occurred. Most notably, management planning is now undertaken on a ten-year cycle (previously five-year cycle), with strengthened implementation and monitoring procedures put in place throughout the cycle. In addition, management plans are now more integrated, strategic and results-based. Emphasis is placed on articulating objectives (desired results / outcomes) instead of providing a list of specific management actions.

Public Engagement

Management planning provides the opportunity to take stock of our site and set a course for the future. To kick off our engagement process, a series of informal open houses were held along the Rideau, which highlighted key findings from an assessment of the current state of the site. In addition, we completed an assessment of the 2005 management plan and subsequently held informal visioning sessions to continue the process of developing a long-term vision for the canal and identifying strategies for achieving it.

Your Input

Parks Canada is seeking your input to assist us in developing a strong and effective plan that provides direction for the management of the Rideau Canal for the next ten years. We will soon be updating our website with an email address specific to the management plan process. In the meantime, please contact RideauCanal.Info@pc.gc.ca for further information.

Please continue to check this website for further opportunities to participate in the management plan review as we move toward the public consultation phase of the process.

Communications

May 31, 2016Dear Rideau Canal Confrère (PDF 32 KB)
2006 - Rideau Canal World Heritage Site Management Plan (PDF 3.6 Mb)
May 2005 - Management Plan

La planification de la gestion et le canal Rideau

L’élaboration d’un plan directeur est un processus mis en œuvre pour établir, et évaluer périodiquement, l’orientation stratégique de gestion d’un lieu historique national. Les plans directeurs sont d’importants documents qui présentent la vision à long terme d’un lieu et décrivent les principales stratégies pour atteindre les objectifs de gestion.

Ce processus aide à s’assurer que Parcs Canada s’acquitte de ses engagements à l’égard des endroits patrimoniaux, pour le compte des Canadiens. Il permet aussi aux peuples autochtones, aux résidents, aux plaisanciers et aux visiteurs, et à tous les types d’intervenants, d’exprimer leurs idées et de faire part de leurs réflexions.

La dernière mise à jour du plan directeur remonte à 2005. Depuis ce temps, le processus de légèrement changé. Le changement le plus important vise l’élaboration des plans directeurs, qui se fait maintenant selon un cycle de dix ans (il était auparavant de cinq ans) et le renforcement des procédures relatives à la mise en œuvre et à la surveillance tout au long du cycle. De plus, les plans directeurs sont désormais davantage intégrés, stratégiques et axés sur les résultats. L’accent est mis sur la formulation des objectifs (résultats escomptés) plutôt que sur une liste de mesures de gestion précises.

Mobilisation du public

L’élaboration d’un plan directeur nous donne l’occasion de faire le bilan de notre lieu historique et d’établir un plan d’action pour l’avenir. Pour lancer le processus de mobilisation, on tiendra une série d’activités portes ouvertes le long du canal Rideau, activités qui mettront en valeur les principales constatations de l’évaluation de l’état actuel du lieu. De plus, nous avons terminé l’évaluation du plan directeur de 2005 et avons tenu des séances informelles d’établissement de la vision pour continuer le processus entourant la formulation d’une vision à long terme pour le canal et de stratégies pour la réaliser.

Vos commentaires

Parcs Canada désire obtenir vos commentaires pour l’aider à mettre au point un plan solide et efficace qui orientera la gestion du canal Rideau pour les dix prochaines années. Nous afficherons prochainement sur notre site Web une adresse de courriel propre au processus d’élaboration du plan directeur. En attendant, veuillez écrire à RideauCanal.Info@pc.gc.ca pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Continuez à consulter le site Web pour savoir quelles sont les occasions de participer à la révision du plan directeur alors que nous progressons vers la phase de consultation publique du processus.

Communications

Le 31 mai 2016canal Rideau Confrère (PDF 35 Ko)
2006 - Plan de gestion du site patrimoine mondial du Canal Rideau (PDF 2,2 Mo)
mai 2005 - Plan directeur