Specifications of the lockstation

Two flight locks with a combined lift of 5.9 m (19.4 feet)

The Construction of the lockstation

The contractor was John Brewer, the miller at this site. He ran into financial difficulties and fled the country in 1831. Robert Drummond, the contractor at Kingston Mills, took over the job.

John Brewer set up mills here in the early 1820s. By the time of canal construction he had built a sawmill, a grist mill and a distillery at the site. Due to changes in construction plans, the government purchased the mills from Brewer and they were allowed to deteriorate.

Cranberry Bog, located just north of the site, was the major problem. This marshy area was a source for malaria which was so serious that, in the summer of 1828, work was halted at Upper Brewers. The solution was to flood the area using two dams, one here at Upper Brewers and a second near today’s Morton. The water impounded by those dams formed today’s Cranberry, Little Cranberry and Whitefish lakes.

Structures of the lockstation

Lockmaster's House: This house is one of 11 defensible lockmasters' houses built at various lockstations to protect them from American attack. Located at the top of the hill overlooking the lockstation, it is a one storey stone structure, built in about 1842.

Engineering Structures: An artificial channel was excavated at Upper Brewers and is the location for the two locks. A 5.5 m (18 foot) high arched dam of earth and stone and a waste weir were built at the northern end of the channel and a second dam was located near today’s village of Morton.

Former Swing Bridge: A timber swing bridge was installed over the lower lock in 1850. It was maintained/replaced over the years, but was removed in 1967 when a new high level fixed bridge was built downstream of Lower Brewers.

Spécifications du poste d'éclusage

Une échelle de deux écluses d’une élévation totale de 5,9 m (19,4 pi).

La construction du poste d'éclusage

L’entrepreneur était John Brewer, propriétaire du moulin de l’endroit. Faisant face à des difficultés financières, il fuit le pays en 1831. Robert Drummond, l’entrepreneur de Kingston Mills, prit la relève.

John Brewer avait fait construire des moulins à cet endroit au début des années 1820. Au moment de la construction du canal, il y avait érigé une scierie, un moulin à broyer le grain et une distillerie. En raison de changements dans les plans de construction, le gouvernement a acheté les moulins à Brewer et les a laissés se détériorer.

Un marécage appelé Cranberry Bog, juste au nord du site, fut le principal écueil des entrepreneurs. Cette zone marécageuse était une source de malaria à ce point sérieuse qu’à l’été de 1828, les travaux durent être interrompus à Upper Brewers. La solution consistait à inonder la zone au moyen de deux barrages, l’un à Upper Brewers et l’autre près de Morton. L’eau retenue par ces barrages a donné lieu à la formation des lacs Cranberry, Little Cranberry et Whitefish.

Les structures du poste d'éclusage

Maison du maître éclusier : Cette maison est l'une des 11 maisons fortifiées construites à divers postes d'éclusage afin de les protéger contre une attaque américaine. Située au sommet de la colline qui surplombe le poste d’éclusage, c’est une structure en pierre d’un étage qui a été construite aux environs de 1842.

Ouvrages du génie : On creusa un chenal artificiel à Upper Brewers dans lequel furent placées les deux écluses. Un barrage en arc de 5,5 m (18 pi) de haut, en terre et en pierre, et un barrage déversoir ont été construits à l’extrémité nord du chenal; un second barrage fut érigé près de l’actuel village de Morton.

Ancien pont tournant : Un pont tournant en bois a été installé au-dessus de l’écluse en aval en 1850. Après avoir été entretenu et même remplacé au fil des ans, il a été supprimé en 1967 lorsqu’un nouveau pont fixe surélevé a été construit en aval de Lower Brewers.