Specifications of the lockstation

One lock with a lift of 0.7 m (2.3 feet).

The Construction of the lockstation

The contractor for Kilmarnock was Bell, Richardson & Co.

For most of the 19th century, Kilmarnock was known as Maitland's Lock, after James Maitland, a retired soldier, on whose property the lockstation was built. Maitland was appointed the first lockmaster of the station.

Large boulders lodged in soft mud proved extremely difficult to excavate and Colonel By was compelled to revamp his original plans, repositioning the lock and lowering its planned lift in order to speed up construction at the site.

Structures of the lockstation

Lockmaster's House: The defensible lockmaster's house is believed to have been built in 1842. It was originally a one-storey structure but a stone second storey was added early in the 20th century.

Engineering Structures: In 1832 a wooden rolling bridge was built across the lock. In 1871 it was replaced by a wooden swing bridge, which has been maintained over the years and is now one of only four bridges of this type remaining on the Rideau, the others are at Lower Brewers, Brass Point and Nicholsons.

Spécifications du poste d'éclusage

Une seule écluse d’une élévation de 0,7 m (2,3 pi).

La construction du poste d'éclusage

L’entrepreneur chargé de la construction était la société Bell, Richardson & Co.

Pendant la majeure partie du 19e siècle, le poste de Kilmarnock fut appelé « Écluse de Maitland », du nom de James Maitland, soldat à la retraite propriétaire du terrain sur lequel le poste d’éclusage a été construit. Maitland fut nommé premier maître-éclusier du poste.

Les grands blocs rocheux enfouis dans la vase molle étaient extrêmement difficiles à extraire, et le colonel By se vit contraint de repenser son plan initial; il changea l’emplacement de l’écluse et réduisit l’élévation de l’écluse afin de faire avancer plus rapidement les travaux de construction.

Les structures du poste d'éclusage

Maison du maître éclusier : La maison fortifiée du maître éclusier aurait été bâtie en 1842. À l'origine, il s'agissait d'une structure d'un seul étage, mais un deuxième étage en pierre fut ajouté au début du XXe siècle.

Ouvrages du génie : En 1832, un pont roulant en bois a été construit au-dessus de l’écluse. En 1871, il a été remplacé par un pont tournant en bois, qui a été entretenu au fil des ans et qui est aujourd’hui l’un des quatre seuls ponts de ce type à subsister sur le canal Rideau, les autres étant ceux de Lower Brewers, Brass Point et Nicholsons.