Specifications of the lockstation

Two locks (in flight) with a total lift of 6.5 m (21.5 feet).

The Construction of the lockstation

The original contractor for Hartwells was a man named Walter Fenlon. He quit in 1828 (due to difficulties at Hogs Back) and the contract was given to the partnership of Thomas McKay and John Redpath. Thomas McKay (the contractor for the Ottawa locks) was the on-site contractor.

Colonel By had planned to make a canal cut through what is now Hartwells lockstation. However, faced with extensive excavation between Dow’s Great Swamp (today‘s Dows Lake) and Hogs Back, By reconsidered his plan and opted to move two of the lift locks he planned for Hogs Back to this location, in order to reduce the amount of channel excavation. Rock for the masonry work was quarried near the river at Hogs Back.

A waste weir was built to the east of the lock, draining excess water in an open channel back to the Rideau River

Structures of the lockstation

Lockmaster's House: The defensible lockmaster's house, built in the 1840s, has been altered greatly from its original design. Originally a one-storey structure of rough stone, over the years it has gained a second storey. The entire structure has been covered in clapboard, disguising its original form.

Drain System: The original weir was replaced with a sluice and culvert system in the 20th century.

Hartwells lockstation is in the midst of a popular recreational area between the Central Experimental Farm and Carleton University. The Rideau River is to the east of the lockstation on the other side of the university. The construction of Colonel By Drive and the university around World War II forced the station to retreat to the west bank of the canal. Some of the buildings on the east side of the lock were demolished and while others were moved to a new location across the canal.

In its early years, Hartwells served as a maintenance depot. A gully on the west bank was converted into a basin, providing a space for tugs and scows to be repaired out of the way of the canal traffic.

Les spécifications du poste d'éclusage

Échelle de deux écluses d’une élévation totale de 6,5 m (21,5 pi).

La construction du poste d'éclusage

Walter Fenlon est l’entrepreneur qui commença la construction du poste de Hartwells. Il démissionna en 1828, en raison des difficultés qu’il rencontra à Hogs Back, et le contrat fut donné à une société constituée par Thomas McKay et John Redpath. C’est Thomas McKay qui supervisa les travaux sur place.

Le colonel By avait prévu de creuser un canal en tranchée là où se trouve aujourd’hui le poste d’éclusage de Hartwells. Mais face à l’ampleur des travaux d’excavation à réaliser entre le grand marais Dow (aujourd’hui le lac Dow) et Hogs Back, le colonel révisa ses plans et décida d’ériger à Hartwells deux des ascenseurs à bateau qui devaient à l’origine être construits à Hogs Back. La pierre nécessaire aux travaux de maçonnerie fut extraite d’une carrière située près de la rivière à Hogs Back.

Un barrage-déversoir fut construit à l’est de l’écluse aux fins d’évacuation de l’eau excédentaire dans un chenal qui rejoignait la rivière Rideau.

Les structures du canal

Maison du maître éclusier : La maison fortifiée du maître éclusier, construite dans les années 1840, a subi de grandes modifications du plan initial. Structure d'un seul étage en pierre des champs à l'origine, la maison a acquis un deuxième étage au fil des années. L'ensemble a reçu un revêtement à clins, qui en cache la forme originale.

Ouvrages du génie : Le déversoir d’origine fut remplacé par un système de vannes et de tuyaux au 20e siècle.

Le poste d’éclusage de Hartwells se trouve au cœur d’un secteur récréatif populaire, entre la Ferme expérimentale centrale et l’Université Carleton. La rivière Rideau coule à l’est du poste d’éclusage, de l’autre côté de l’université. La construction de la promenade du Colonel-By et de l’université, à l’époque de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, obligea à déplacer le poste d’éclusage sur la rive ouest du canal. Certains des bâtiments du côté est de l’écluse furent démolis et d’autres déménagés de l’autre côté du canal.

Au cours des premières années, Hartwells servit de dépôt de maintenance. Une ravine sur la rive ouest fut transformée en bassin, créant ainsi un espace pour la réparation des remorqueurs et des chalands à l’écart de la circulation sur le canal.