Colonel By Drive – Intermittent Lane and Pathway Restrictions

Issued: April 27, 2020

Ends: May 08, 2020

Smiths Falls, Ontario, April 24, 2020–Parks Canada advises the public to expect intermittent traffic interruptions and lane closures of the southbound lane on Colonel By Drive between the Pretoria Bridge and the Highway 417 Overpass beginning on Friday, April 24th, 2020, to allow for infrastructure work along the walls of the Rideau Canal National Historic Site.

This infrastructure work will be underway for approximately two weeks and some traffic delays are anticipated during this period. The recreational trail that runs alongside this stretch of the Rideau Canal will also be closed. A detour will be available and signs will be in place to direct people to the appropriate, alternate route.

Parks Canada appreciates the patience from the travelling public and apologizes for the inconvenience of these temporary closures. The disruptions to path and roadway users are required to allow for maintenance work to be completed on the Rideau Canal wall in the area. This work is part of a larger federal infrastructure renewal project to upgrade existing canal walls, which will ensure this UNESCO World Heritage Site is maintained for future generations to enjoy.

The upgrades to the Rideau Canal walls is part of the Government of Canada’s Federal Infrastructure Investment program. Parks Canada is leading this important infrastructure work to ensure safe, high-quality experiences for visitors by improving heritage, visitor, waterway, and highway assets located within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas.

Please note:

  • Parks Canada is following advice from public health experts and implementing measures to support Canada’s efforts to limit the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) and reduce the risks to Canadians, visitors, Parks Canada team members, and contractors working at our places.
  • Parks Canada is calling on Canadians to stay home and help limit the spread of COVID-19. Camping, group activities and events at all national parks, national historic sites, heritage canals and national marine conservation areas are suspended until at least May 31, 2020. The current suspension of visitor services and vehicle access by visitors, as well as the temporary closure of visitor facilities, will remain in place until further notice. The Agency will continue to monitor the situation closely and take action, as required, to mitigate risks to visitors and team members.
  • Parks Canada’s construction projects are considered part of the Agency’s critical services to the public. Most scheduled construction activities are proceeding as planned, but are subject to change due to the evolving situation related to COVID-19. Parks Canada will continue to communicate all developments to the public.

For questions or concerns, or to receive email updates regarding this project, please contact us at Rideau.info@pc.gc.ca. For news about this or other infrastructure projects in your area, please visit our public website at www.parkscanada.gc.ca/rcinfrastructure.

Promenade du Colonel-By – Restrictions intermittentes de circulation routière et à un sentier

Émis le : 27 avril 2020

Date de levée : 08 mai 2020

Smiths Falls (Ontario), le 24 avril 2020 – Parcs Canada souhaite informer le public de prévoir des restrictions intermittentes d’accès et des fermetures de voies en direction sud sur la promenade du Colonel-By, entre le pont Pretoria et le viaduc de l’autoroute 417 à compter du vendredi 24 avril, 2020. Ceci afin de permettre la réalisation de travaux d’infrastructure le long des murs du lieu historique national du Canal-Rideau.

Ces travaux d’infrastructure s’échelonneront sur environ deux semaines et occasionneront des ralentissements de la circulation durant cette période. Le sentier récréatif qui longe cette section du canal Rideau sera également fermé. Un parcours de déviation sera aménagé et une signalisation mise en place pour rediriger les gens vers un sentier alternatif.

Parcs Canada remercie les voyageurs de leur patience et s’excuse des inconvénients que causent ces fermetures temporaires. Ces inconvénients aux usagers des sentiers et des routes sont nécessaires pour permettre la réalisation de travaux d’entretien sur le mur de cette section du canal Rideau. Ces travaux font partie d’un vaste projet fédéral de renouvellement de l’infrastructure qui vise à améliorer les murs du canal et qui assurera la préservation de ce site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO pour les générations à venir.

Les améliorations apportées aux murs du canal Rideau s’inscrivent dans le Programme d’investissement pour les infrastructures fédérales du gouvernement du Canada. Parcs Canada dirige d’importants travaux d’infrastructure pour veiller à ce que les visiteurs vivent des expériences de grande qualité en toute sécurité grâce à l’amélioration des biens patrimoniaux, des installations destinées aux visiteurs, des voies navigables et des routes situés dans les lieux historiques nationaux, parcs nationaux et aires marines nationales de conservation.

Veuillez prendre note :

  • Parcs Canada suit les conseils des experts en santé publique et met en place des mesures pour soutenir les efforts du Canada visant à limiter la propagation de la COVID-19 et réduire les risques pour la population canadienne, les visiteurs, les membres de l’équipe Parcs Canada et les entrepreneurs qui travaillent dans ses sites.
  • Parcs Canada demande aux Canadiennes et Canadiens de rester à la maison et d’aider à limiter la propagation de la COVID-19. Le camping, les activités de groupe et les événements à tous les parcs nationaux, lieux historiques nationaux, canaux historiques et aires marines nationales de conservation sont suspendus au moins jusqu’au 31 mai 2020. La suspension actuelle des services aux visiteurs et de l’accès en véhicule ainsi que la fermeture temporaire des installations destinées aux visiteurs demeureront en place jusqu’à nouvel ordre. L’Agence continuera de surveiller la situation de près et à prendre des mesures, s’il y a lieu, pour atténuer les risques pour les visiteurs et les membres de l’équipe.
  • Les projets de construction de Parcs Canada sont considérés comme faisant partie des services clés fournis par l’Agence au public. La plupart des activités de construction planifiées peuvent aller de l’avant comme prévu, mais sont sujet à changement en raison de la situation en constante évolution en lien avec la COVID-19. Parcs Canada continuera à communiquer toute nouvelle information au public.

Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations ou si vous souhaitez recevoir des mises à jour par courriel concernant ce projet, n’hésitez pas à écrire à l’adresse Rideau.info@pc.gc.ca. Pour en savoir davantage sur ce projet ou sur d’autres travaux d’infrastructure dans votre secteur, consultez notre site Web au https://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/lhn-nhs/on/rideau/visit/infrastructure