End of 2018 Season Operations on the Rideau Canal; Lowering of Water Levels across the System

Issued: October 08, 2018

Parks Canada encourages the public to use caution in and around the canal structures and channels over the winter months. From mid-October to the end of May, the canal’s lock stations will be closed and the use of the canal will be at one’s own risk. Unmarked hazards may exist. Wet leaves, ice, and snow may remain on stairs and walkways, and ice conditions on the waterway can vary. Boaters are advised that during the non-navigation season, aids to navigation may be missing, off-station, or inoperable until next spring. 

From mid-October until mid-November, water levels in the Rideau Canal system, between the Ottawa Locks and Burritt’s Rapids, will decrease to winter levels by adjusting dams and spillways in the Lower Rideau Watershed. The following Rideau Canal sections will be affected: 

Water levels will be decreased in the sections below Hog's Back, including Dow's Lake, beginning Monday, October 8th, 2018 and will remain at their lowest level until mid-November, after which the water level will then be raised approximately one metre between Hartwells and Ottawa lockstations to prepare for the Skateway. 

  • Water levels will be lowered between Hog's Back to Black Rapids beginning Tuesday, October 9th, 2018
  • Water levels will be lowered between Long Island to Black Rapids beginning Tuesday, October 9th, 2018
  • Water levels will be lowered between Burritt's Rapids to Long Island beginning Monday, October 29th, 2018

We would like to thank all visitors and look forward to welcoming you again in 2019. Lockage and mooring permits for 2019 will soon be available for purchase on the Parks Canada website. 

Information: 

Valerie de Winter 
Communications and Media Relations Officer 
Ontario Waterways 
Parks Canada 
613-283-7199 
valerie.dewinter@pc.gc.ca

Fin des activités saisonnières de 2018 sur le canal Rideau Abaissement des niveaux d’eau dans le réseau

Émis le : 08 octobre 2018

Parcs Canada encourage le public à faire preuve de prudence aux alentours des structures du canal et des chenaux pendant l’hiver. De la mi-octobre à la fin de mai, les postes d’éclusage du canal seront fermés et les personnes qui utilisent le canal le feront à leurs propres risques et périls. Certains dangers subsistent même s’ils ne sont pas indiqués. Des feuilles mouillées, de la glace et de la neige peuvent s’accumuler dans les escaliers et sur les allées piétonnières, et l’état des glaces sur la voie navigable peut varier. Les plaisanciers sont avisés que durant la saison morte, les aides à la navigation ne sont pas toutes en place, et certaines peuvent être déplacées ou non fonctionnelles jusqu’au printemps. 

De la mi-octobre à la mi-novembre, le niveau de l’eau dans le canal Rideau, entre les écluses d’Ottawa et celles de Burritt’s Rapids, sera abaissé au niveau d’hivernage par l’ajustement des barrages et des déversoirs du bassin versant inférieur de la rivière Rideau. Les tronçons suivants du canal Rideau seront affectés : 

Le niveau de l’eau sera abaissé aux tronçons situés en aval de Hog’s Back, y compris le lac Dow’s, à compter du lundi 8 octobre 2018, et l’eau demeurera à son niveau le plus bas jusqu’à la mi-novembre, date à partir de laquelle le niveau sera relevé d’environ un mètre entre les postes d’éclusage de Hartwells et ceux d’Ottawa afin d’entamer les préparatifs pour la patinoire. 

  • Le niveau de l’eau sera abaissé entre Hog's Back et Black Rapids à compter du mardi 9 octobre 2018
  • Le niveau de l’eau sera abaissé entre Long Island et Black Rapids à compter du mardi 9 octobre 2018
  • Le niveau de l’eau sera abaissé entre Burritt's Rapids et Long Island à compter du lundi 29 octobre 2018
Nous tenons à remercier tous les visiteurs et nous serons ravis de vous accueillir de nouveau en 2019. Nous vous rappelons que les permis d’éclusage et d’amarrage de 2019 seront bientôt disponibles sur le site Web de Parcs Canada. 

Renseignements : 

Valerie de Winter 
Agente, communications et relations avec les médias 
Voies navigables de l’Ontario 
Agence Parcs Canada 
613-283-7199 
valerie.dewinter@pc.gc.ca