Situated along the banks of the historic Beveridges Lockstation and the gateway to the Tay Canal, the Lockmaster's House is your chance to experience an overnight vacation like no other. Here you are surrounded by sprawling green lawns and forest, adjacent a bustling boating and paddling corridor that brings friendly visitors and fellow travelers through the locks every day. This restored accommodation has everything you need to stay the night on your way through, or plan a week-long family getaway.

Location

The Lockmaster's House is located adjacent to Beveridges Lower Lockstation (Lock 33) situated on the Tay Canal adjacent to Big Rideau Lake. It is a 15-minute drive to the historic village of Perth and a short scenic drive away from the village of Westport.

  • 1h 15 minutes from Highway 401 Kingston
  • 1 hour from downtown Ottawa
Address

155 Beveridges Lock Rd
Drummond/North Elmsley, ON

Google maps


What to expect

The Lockmaster’s House at Beveridges is a beautiful private home that fronts directly onto the quiet Tay Canal. Inside you will find a fully updated historic home, with all the amenities of a modern vacation rental. The fully equipped kitchen includes a cozy banquette for early morning coffee or late night games. The large dining room has seating for six and custom stemware and china for elegant celebrations. There are two completely renovated washrooms, one featuring a large soaker tub and glass-enclosed shower. From the outside wraparound deck, watch the boats lock up and down, while cooking a nice meal on the barbecue. The place comes stocked with unique board games and some good local literature, making the whole experiencing comfy and memorable.

Inside the house
  • 3 bedrooms;
    (2 Queen and 2 Twin beds)
  • Luxurious bathrooms
  • Large dining room table
  • Elegant living room w/ fireplace
  • Modern kitchen appliances
  • Laundry facilities
On the property
  • Large private deck with ample seating
  • Propane BBQ and propane
  • Private driveway and parking
  • Canoe
  • Fire pit and chairs
  • Historic lockstation

Book your stay

Reservations for the Lockmaster's House are managed by Rideau Lakes Cottages. For more information regarding reservations, rates and availability, visit their website.


Things to do nearby
Visit the Village of Perth

A short 15-minute drive from Beveridges lockstation takes you to the historic Village of Perth. There you will find beautiful historic homes, an active main street with numerous fine dining options, casual waterfront patios on the Tay Basin, Stewart Park, and a long season of festivals and musical events on offer.

Paddling

Your canoe awaits you for gentle paddling up the Tay Canal or more adventurous travel on Big Rideau Lake. Grab your life jackets and paddles from the convenient storage shed attached to the house and experience an afternoon or early morning paddle on the water. Take a day trip to the beach at Murphy’s Point Provincial Park or paddle the quiet Tay Canal to explore the wildlife and natural shoreline at your leisure./p>

Picnicking

A number of picnic tables are scattered about the lockstation grounds if you feel like sharing a lunch with some new friends or simply watching the boats go through the locks. Use your fully-serviced kitchen in the house to prepare some snacks, then take them down to the lockstation just a short walk away from your front steps.

See a Drive-in movie

2 minutes away by car from the Beveridges lockstation you will find the historic Port Elmsley Drive-In which has been offering an outdoor movie experience since 1953. Pack up the kids and grab some snacks before taking a very short drive to the quaint outdoor theatre. For more information visit: portelmsleydrivein.com

La visite du lieu historique national du Canal-Rideau sera différente de ce qu’elle était par le passé. On demande aux visiteurs de planifier à l’avance en consultant le site Web du lieu historique national du Canal-Rideau avant leur visite.

Située sur la rive au poste d’éclusage historique Beveridges, à l’entrée du canal Tay, la maison du maître-éclusier vous donne la chance de vivre des vacances sans pareilles. Vous serez entourés de vastes pelouses vertes et de forêts, en bordure d’un corridor de navigation de plaisance animé qui amène chaque jour des visiteurs amicaux et d’autres voyageurs aux portes des écluses. Cette solution d’hébergement restaurée a tout ce dont vous pourriez avoir besoin pour vous arrêter en route vers votre prochaine destination ou passer une semaine en famille.

Comment s'y rendre

La maison du maître-éclusier est située à côté du poste d’éclusage de Lower Beveridges (no 33), sur le canal Tay, à côté du Grand lac Rideau. Elle se trouve à seulement 15 minutes de route du village historique de Perth et non loin du village de Westport, auquel on peut accéder par une route panoramique.

  • À 75 minutes de l’autoroute 401 vers Kingston
  • À une heure du centre-ville d’Ottawa
Addresse

155 route Beveridges Lock
Drummond/North Elmsley, ON

Google maps


Ce qui vous attend

La maison du maître-éclusier, à Beveridges, est une superbe résidence privée située directement sur la rive du paisible canal Tay. À l’intérieur, vous trouverez une maison historique complètement restaurée comportant toutes les commodités d’un logement de villégiature moderne. La cuisine tout équipée inclut une banquette confortable où siroter son café tôt le matin ou jouer à des jeux tard le soir. La vaste salle à manger peut accueillir six convives; les verres à pied et la porcelaine permettent d’organiser d’élégantes célébrations. La maison compte deux salles de bain entièrement rénovées, dont l’une inclut une vaste baignoire ainsi qu’une douche vitrée. De la terrasse extérieure, qui longe deux côtés de la maison, vous pouvez observer les bateaux qui franchissent les écluses dans les deux sens tout en cuisinant un bon repas sur le barbecue. Des jeux de société et des livres d’auteurs locaux complètent une expérience agréable et inoubliable.

Dans la maison
  • 3 chambres
    (2 grands lits à deux places et deux lits jumeaux)
  • Salles de bain luxueuses
  • Grande table de salle à manger
  • Salon élégant avec foyer
  • Cuisine dotée d’appareils ménagers modernes
  • Buanderie
     
Sur la propriété
  • Vaste terrasse privée et chaises pour plusieurs personnes
  • Barbecue au propane et propane
  • Allée et stationnement privés
  • Canot
  • Foyer et chaises
  • Poste d’éclusage historique
     

Réservez votre séjour

Les réservations pour la maison du maître-éclusier sont gérées par l’entreprise Rideau Lakes Cottages. Pour en savoir plus sur les réservations, les tarifs et les disponibilités, visitez son site Web. (en anglais seulement)


Activités dans les environs
Visitez le village de Perth

À seulement 15 minutes de route du poste d’éclusage de Beveridges se trouve le village historique de Perth. Vous y trouverez de belles résidences historiques, une rue principale animée comportant de nombreux restaurants de choix, des terrasses décontractées au bord du bassin de la Tay, le parc Stewart et une longue saison de festivals et de spectacles musicaux.

Sports de pagaie

Montez à bord du canot qui vous est fourni et pagayez en toute sérénité sur le canal Tay ou partez à l’aventure sur le Grand lac Rideau. Prenez votre veste de flottaison et vos pagaies dans le hangar de rangement attenant à la maison et partez sur l’eau en après-midi ou tôt le matin. Faites une excursion d’une journée à la plage du parc provincial Murphy’s Point ou découvrez la faune et la rive naturelle du canal Tay en toute quiétude.

Pique-niques

Plusieurs tables de pique-nique sont installées sur le terrain du poste d’éclusage et sont à votre disposition si vous souhaitez vous faire de nouveaux amis autour du repas de midi ou simplement observer les bateaux qui passent par les écluses. Préparez des collations dans votre cuisine entièrement équipée, puis apportez-les au poste d’éclusage qui se trouve à courte distance de marche de la maison.

Allez au ciné-parc

À deux minutes de route du poste d’éclusage de Beveridges, le ciné-parc historique de Port Elmsley offre des films en plein air depuis 1953. Apportez des collations et conduisez avec vos enfants vers ce cinéma extérieur au charme pittoresque. Pour en savoir plus, visitez le : portelmsleydrivein.com (en anglais seulement)