Camping in 2020

  • Starting September 4th, 2020, camping at some sites on the Rideau Canal has been made available at the Lockmaster’s discretion.

  • This includes camping for cyclists and hikers, as well as camping for boaters (paddlers and vessels under power)

  • Camping for organized groups (eg. Scouts, paddle groups) can be reserved on a case by case basis, by calling 613-283-5170 x278.

  • Unfortunately, due to measures taken to reduce the spread of COVID-19, the Rideau Canal will be unable to offer “car camping”, or experiences reserved through Parks Canada’s online reservation system, such as oTENTiks, for the remainder of the 2020 Navigation Season

  • Parks Canada is pleased to offer this fully restored vintage cottage as a short-term vacation rental for visitors travelling by water or by land. Located along the Rideau Canal at Lock 21 (Newboro Village) and situated halfway between Kingston and Smith Falls, this charming cottage offers visitors an opportunity to enjoy a relaxing stay between historic walls. Bring your family or a group of friends to this spacious private abode and unwind while you explore the neighbouring village or picturesque grounds around the lockstation.


    Location

    The Canalman's Cottage is located adjacent to Newboro Lockstation in the quaint village of Newboro. It is a short scenic drive away from the villages of Elgin and Westport.

    • 40 minutes from the City of Kingston and Highway 401
    • 1.5 hours from downtown Ottawa.
    • 200m from the municipal boat launch.
    Address

    1 Block House Lane
    Newboro, ON

    Google maps


    What to expect

    The Canalman's Cottage is a beautiful and quiet retreat steeped in history. This is the original canalman's house relocated from the southern side of the Newboro lockstation in 1941. Subsequent renovations have enlarged the space and modernized the interior to include comfortable furnishings and exceptional interior decor. Sunlight streams into the spacious common areas through several large windows and gives the cottage a warm and inviting feel. With enough room for up to 8 people, this is a charming place to unwind in the company of good friends and family.

    Inside the cottage
    • 4 bedrooms
    • 2 bathrooms
    • Spacious common area
    • Eat-in kitchen with chairs
    • In-suite laundry appliances
    On the property
    • Large fenced in backyard
    • Seasonal gardens
    • Private driveway and garage
    • Large deck with furniture for 6
    • Propane BBQ and propane

    Book your stay

    Reservations for The Canalman's Cottage are managed by Rideau Lakes Cottages. For more information regarding reservations, rates and availability, visit their website.


    Things to do nearby
    Fishing

    The docks at Newboro and Upper Rideau lakes are just a short walk away from the front steps of the Canalman’s Cottage, making this a great place to cast your line. Whether you’re a seasoned angler, or simply teaching your kids how to bait a hook, you are sure to have fun. Stay close to shore or take the canoe out on the water for a truly enjoyable experience.

    Paddling

    The Canalman's Cottage comes with a complimentary 16' canoe for you to enjoy. Required safety gear, including life jackets, are also provided. Paddle docks for launching the canoe are located a short walk away at either Newboro or Opinicon Lake. Wake up early and capture some solitude on the morning water,  just you and the loons.

    Picnicking

    Prepare a delicious lunch in the kitchen and then and head down to the sprawling lawns that surround the Newboro lockstation to enjoy a picnic in the open air. With plenty of picnic tables to choose from and a couple of charcoal grills, you can spend a whole afternoon here enjoying the sights and sounds.

    Photography

    Don’t forget to bring your camera when you visit. Spend the day walking the grounds capturing nature's colours or the reflections of birds as they swoop above the water. No matter your skill level, unforgettable images are everywhere at the Canalman’s Cottage.

    Shop and eat

    Explore the quaint little village of Newboro, stopping in at a few of the local shops and restaurants. From ice cream cones and French fries, to upscale dining and women’s fashion, strolling up and down the strip is a nice way to spend the afternoon just a short walk away from the property.

Le camping en 2020

  • À partir du 4 septembre 2020 et à la discrétion du maître-éclusier, certains emplacements de camping situés le long du canal Rideau sont à la disposition de cyclistes, de randonneurs, ou de plaisanciers (embarcations à pagaie et embarcations à propulsion mécanique)..

  • Il est possible de faire des réservations (au cas par cas) pour le camping de groupes structurés (p. ex. Scouts, groupes de pagayeurs).Composez le 613-283-5170 x278.

  • Malheureusement, en raison des mesures prises pour réduire la propagation de la COVID-19, il ne sera plus possible d’utiliser le Service de réservation de Parcs Canada pour réserver un séjour de « camping en voiture » ou une expérience dans une oTENTik le long du canal Rideau pour le reste de la saison de navigation 2020.

  • Parcs Canada a le plaisir d’offrir cette maison de maître-éclusier ancestrale entièrement restaurée pour la location à court terme aux visiteurs qui voyagent par la voie maritime ou par la route. Situé le long du canal Rideau à l’écluse 21 (village de Newboro), à mi chemin entre Kingston et Smith Falls, ce charmant chalet offre aux visiteurs l’occasion de profiter d’un séjour relaxant dans un cadre historique. Emmenez votre famille ou un groupe d’amis loger dans une demeure privée spacieuse et se détendre en explorant le village voisin ou les terres pittoresques avoisinant le poste d’éclusage.


    Comment s'y rendre

    Le chalet Canalman est situé dans le village de Newboro et à une courte distance en voiture des villages d’Elgin et de Westport en passant par une route pittoresque.

    • Quarante minutes de la ville de Kingston et de l’autoroute 401
    • Une heure et demie du centre-ville d’Ottawa
    • 200 mètres à pied de la rampe municipale de mise à l’eau
    Addresse

    1 ruelle Blockhouse
    Newboro , Ontario

    Google maps


    À quoi s’attendre

    Le chalet Canalman est un endroit paisible empreint d’histoire. Il s’agit du chalet d’origine du préposé de canal, qui se trouvait du côté sud du poste d’éclusage de Newboro et a été déplacé en 1941. Des rénovations subséquentes ont permis d’agrandir les lieux et de moderniser l’intérieur afin d’inclure un décor exceptionnel et un mobilier confortable. Plusieurs vastes fenêtres laissent entrer les rayons du soleil dans les grandes pièces communes et donnent au chalet un décor accueillant et invitant. Avec suffisamment d’espace pour accueillir huit personnes, c’est l’endroit idéal où se détendre en compagnie de ses proches.

    À l'intérieur
    • 4 chambres
    • 2 salles de bain
    • Grandes pièces communes
    • Cuisine avec coin-repas
    • Buanderie
    Sur la propriété :
    • Grande cour clôturée
    • Jardins saisonniers
    • Entrée privée et garage
    • Grande terrasse avec mobiliers pour six personnes
    • Barbecue au propane et propane

    Réservez votre séjour

    Les réservations pour Le chalet Canalman sont gérées par l’entreprise Rideau Lakes Cottages. Pour en savoir plus sur les réservations, les tarifs et les disponibilités, visitez son site Web. (en anglais seulement)


    Activités dans les environs
    Pêche

    Les quais de Newboro et du lac Rideau supérieur se trouvent à une courte distance de marche du chalet Canalman; il s’agit d’endroits parfaits d’où lancer votre ligne. Que vous soyez un pêcher aguerri ou que vous souhaitiez seulement enseigner à vos enfants comment appâter des hameçons, vous aurez du plaisir, c’est garanti! Restez près de la berge ou faites une sortie en canot pour vivre une expérience des plus agréables.

    Canotage

    Les occupants du chalet Canalman peuvent aussi utiliser gratuitement un canot de 5 m. Tout l’équipement de sécurité obligatoire, y compris les gilets de sauvetage, est fourni. Des quais pour mettre le canot à l’eau sont situés à une courte distance de marche, sur le lac Newboro ou le lac Opinicon. Levez-vous tôt et profitez d’un moment de solitude matinal en compagnie des huards.

    Pique-nique

    Préparez un délicieux repas dans la cuisine et descendez sur les terrains spacieux qui entourent le poste d’éclusage de Newboro pour faire un agréable pique-nique en plein air. De nombreuses tables et foyers sont à votre disposition.

    Photographie

    N’oubliez pas d’apporter votre appareil photo lors de votre visite! Passez la journée à vous promener à pied et immortalisez les couleurs de l’automne et les reflets des oiseaux qui volent au-dessus de l’eau. Peu importe votre niveau d’expérience, un seul clic vous permettra de conserver les moments inoubliables de votre séjour au chalet Canalman.

    Magasinage et repas

    Explorez le village pittoresque de Newboro en faisant quelques arrêts dans les magasins et restaurants locaux. Que vous soyez à la recherche d’un cornet de crème glacée, de frites, d’un repas somptueux ou de vêtements féminins, vous trouverez de tout en vous promenant le long de la rue principale, une bonne façon de passer l’après-midi à courte distance de marche du chalet.