Download the visitor guide in Deutsch, Español, 简体中文, Italiano, العربية, or فارسی below!

 (PDF, 1.3 Mb)


Fort Malden National Historic Site opens a fascinating doorway into Canada’s early military history as the location of an historic meeting between Major General Sir Isaac Brock and Shawnee Chief Tecumseh.

The fort served as the British stronghold on the Detroit frontier during the War of 1812 and the Rebellions of 1837-38. It was also the site of the longest American occupation on Canadian soil.

Today, a unique and enjoyable experience awaits when you enter Fort Malden! Whether you are looking to take in the beautiful scenery along the Detroit River or seeking an authentic experience of the early 1800’s, we have something for everyone.

Fort Malden walking tour

Points of interest

map of points of interest

  1. Visitor Centre, 1939
    Constructed in “old French chateau” style, this building was the original Fort Malden museum when the fort became a National Historic Park in 1939.
  2. Military Pensioner’s Cottage, circa 1851 (Restoration)
    After the regulars left the fort, they were replaced by enrolled pensioners. These men and their families were settled on the military reserve around the fort, where 86 cottages were constructed.
  3. Museum, circa 1861
    Originally a laundry and baking facility for the insane asylum established in 1859. After the asylum closed, the structure became a planing mill and was eventually converted into a private family residence in 1918. Acquired in 1946, the building now acts as the interpretive centre, containing Fort Malden’s exhibits.
  4. Earthworks, 1813 & 1838-40 (Remnants)
    The raised hilltop defencive structure, or bastion, located on the fort’s north-west corner, was constructed by American forces when they seized control of the fort in 1813. New ditches were dug and a wooden palisade was installed at the bottom of the ditch. After the War of 1812, a time of peace ensued and the defenses fell into disrepair. However, the fort was reinforced in 1838-1840 and the earthworks were rebuilt.
  5. No 1. Framed Barracks, 1839 (Foundation Outline)
    A two-story, wooden-frame barracks was built here to help house the expanded Rebellion garrison. Together with a similar structure built within the Fort called No 2. Framed Barracks, were meant to house 400 soldiers and their dependents. The barracks survived until the early 1900’s when it was divided and rebuilt near the fort as three private residences.
  6. Brick Cookhouse, circa 1820 (Foundation Outline)
    The cookhouse provided facilities for the preparation of daily rations and was separate from the sleeping quarters as a fire safety precaution. Allowed to fall into disrepair, the cookhouse was demolished in 1853.
  7. Cesspit, circa 1820s (Excavation)
    This was a junction for the fort’s draining system. A brick drain from the privies can be seen at the bottom of the pit. From here, waste waster was carried through the fort’s north wall and into an open drain at the bottom of the north ditch.
  8. Privies, 1820 (Excavation)
    The wooden frame privies (latrines) provided sanitary facilities for the soldiers and their families. The weather boarded structure was surrounded by a wooden fence that obscured the outdoor urinals. Relocated in 1841, all that remains is the excavated stone foundation.
  9. Hospital Kitchen, circa 1842
    Constructed sometime after 1842, this addition housed the hospital kitchen. Of note are two large boilers used in preparing the special diets administered to the patients.
  10. Brick Barracks, circa 1820 (Restoration)
    The last remaining building of those constructed after the reoccupation of Fort Malden by the British. This single story barracks has three rooms and was designed to accommodate 66 soldiers. In the 1840s, the barracks was converted into the fort’s hospital and a kitchen was added to its southeast corner.
  11. Ordnance Shed, circa 1820s (Remnants)
    Originally erected as a gun shed, this structure was gradually expanded and upgraded. It held stores, supplies and ordnance (cannon and their related equipment). The shed was used for a number of purposes before being demolished early in the 20th century. Remnants of the west-end wall are still visible.
  12. Officer’s Brick Barracks, 1839 (Foundation Outline)
    Constructed during the Rebellion, the officers’ barracks was a two-story building with eight rooms on the ground floor and four above. Unlike the troops, each officer had his own room with a fireplace. The second floor provided living quarters for the officers’ servants.
  13. Brick Officer’s Guardroom and Staff Sergeants’ Quarters 1839 (Foundation Outline)
    Located just south of the fort’s gate, this one-story brick building offered quarters for the duty officer and for the staff sergeants with storage space in the attic.
  14. Brick Guardhouse, circa 1821 (Foundation Outline)
    This area housed a framed brick building containing two cells, a room for on-duty soldiers and a cellar used for solitary confinement. The guardhouse was demolished in the 1850’s and its outline is mostly obscured by the asylum-era cookhouse and laundry.
  15. Bois Blanc Island Lighthouse National Historic Site
    The lighthouse, constructed in 1836, played an important role in navigation of the Detroit River. The island itself was strategically important in defence of Fort Malden in 1837-38 during a period of border raids from the United States by Canadian rebels.

During your visit to Fort Malden

Explore all of the sights, as you stroll through our grounds. Welcoming staff, a renowned interpretation centre, and historic landscape are all available to you as you take in Fort Malden’s rich and colourful history.

Home to many unique and original artifacts, including the only known surviving Republic of Canada flag. Interactive activities for kids, an orientation film and a gift shop will complete your visit.

Walk through the gates of the fort and learn how soldiers and their families lived during the early 1800’s. The interior of the fort includes an original 1820 barracks, with recreations of an officer’s quarters, soldiers’ living quarters and a cookhouse.

A few steps away from Fort Malden

Extend your stroll beyond Fort Malden to the King’s Navy Yard Park, which is home to the Commissariat building, constructed in 1831 to serve as the office responsible for purchasing and storing goods. Look across the river and enjoy panoramic views of Bois Blanc Island (Boblo Island).


Did you know...
  • The first military post at this location, constructed in 1796, was named Fort Amherstburg.
  • Fort Amherstburg was both the first and last site to see action in the War of 1812.
  • Nothing remains of the first fortification built here because it was burned by the British in 1813.
  • Fort Malden was the first site where a third meal was provided to British Army soldiers.
  • Fort Malden was used as a provincial asylum after the military abandoned it. Ask us more about the site’s post-military past.

Other languages

(PDF, 1.3 Mo)

Téléchargez le guide du visiteur dans d'autres langues ci-dessous!


Guide du visiteur

Le lieu historique national du Fort-Malden présente de façon originale les débuts de l’histoire militaire du Canada en tant que lieu de la rencontre historique entre le major-général Sir Isaac Brock et le chef shawnee Tecumseh.

Le fort a servi de bastion britannique à la frontière de Détroit pendant la guerre de 1812 et les rébellions de 1837-1838. C’est aussi le lieu de la plus longue occupation américaine en sol canadien.

Aujourd’hui, une expérience unique et agréable vous attend lorsque vous entrez dans le fort Malden! Que vous souhaitiez admirer le magnifique paysage le long de la rivière Détroit ou que vous recherchiez une expérience authentique du début des années 1800, il y en a pour tous les goûts.

Visite guidée du fort Malden

 carte des points d'intérêt

Points d'intérêt

  1. Centre d'accueil, 1939
    Construit dans le style d’un « vieux château français », ce bâtiment était le musée original du fort Malden lorsque le fort est devenu un parc historique national en 1939.
  2. Cottage d’un pensionné militaire, vers 1851 (restauration)
    Après le départ des défenseurs, des pensionnaires ont été enrôlés pour les remplacer. Ces hommes et leurs familles ont été installés sur la réserve militaire autour du fort, où 86 cottages ont été construits.
  3. Musée, vers 1861
    À l’origine, une blanchisserie et une boulangerie pour l’asile d’aliénés établi en 1859. Après la fermeture de l’asile, la structure est devenue une usine de rabotage et a finalement été convertie en résidence familiale privée en 1918. Acquis en 1946, le bâtiment sert aujourd’hui de centre d’interprétation, offrant les expositions du fort Malden.
  4. Remblais, 1813 et 1838-1840 (vestiges)
    La structure défensive surélevée, ou bastion, située à l’angle nord-ouest du fort, a été construite par les forces américaines lorsqu’elles ont pris le contrôle du fort en 1813. De nouveaux fossés ont été creusés et une palissade en bois a été installée au fond du fossé. Après la guerre de 1812, une période de paix s’ensuit et les défenses tombent en désuétude. Cependant, le fort a été renforcé en 1838-1840 et les remblais ont été reconstruits.
  5. No 1. Caserne à charpente, 1839 (contours des fondations)
    Une caserne à ossature en bois de deux étages a été construite ici pour aider à loger la garnison en expansion. Avec une structure similaire construite à l’intérieur du fort, appelée No 2. Encadrée par des baraquements, elle était destinée à accueillir 400 soldats et leurs personnes à charge. La caserne a survécu jusqu’au début des années 1900, où elle a été divisée et reconstruite près du fort sous la forme de trois résidences privées.
  6. Cuisine de chantier en brique, vers 1820 (contours des fondations)
    La cuisine de chantier permettait de préparer les rations quotidiennes et était séparée des dortoirs par mesure de sécurité en cas d’incendie. Laissée à l’abandon, la cuisine de chantier a été démolie en 1853.
  7. Fosse de décantation, vers les années 1820 (déblai)
    Il s’agissait d’une jonction pour le système de drainage du fort. Un drain en briques provenant des toilettes est visible au fond de la fosse. De là, les eaux usées étaient transportées à travers le mur nord du fort et dans un drain ouvert au fond du fossé nord.
  8. Toilettes, 1820 (déblai)
    Les toilettes en bois (latrines) fournissaient des installations sanitaires aux soldats et à leurs familles. La structure bardée de planches était entourée d’une clôture en bois qui masquait les urinoirs extérieurs. Déplacée en 1841, il n’en reste que les fondations en pierre dégagées.
  9. Cuisine de l’hôpital, vers 1842
    Construit après 1842, cet ajout abritait la cuisine de l’hôpital. Il faut noter la présence de deux grandes chaudières utilisées pour préparer les régimes alimentaires spéciaux administrés aux patients.
  10. Caserne en briques, vers 1820 (restauration)
    Le dernier bâtiment restant de ceux construits après la réoccupation du fort Malden par les Britanniques. Cette caserne de plain-pied comporte trois pièces et a été conçue pour accueillir 66 soldats. Dans les années 1840, la caserne a été convertie en hôpital du fort et une cuisine a été ajoutée dans son coin sud-est.
  11. Hangar à munitions, vers les années 1820 (vestiges)
    Construite à l’origine comme un hangar à fusils, cette structure a été progressivement agrandie et améliorée. Elle contenait des magasins, des provisions et des munitions (canons et leurs équipements connexes). Le hangar a été utilisé à plusieurs fins avant d’être démoli au début du XXe siècle. Des vestiges du mur de l’extrémité ouest sont encore visibles.
  12. Caserne en briques des officiers, 1839 (contours de la fondation)
    Construite pendant la rébellion, la caserne des officiers était un bâtiment à deux étages avec huit pièces au rez-de-chaussée et quatre à l’étage. Contrairement aux troupes, chaque officier avait sa propre chambre avec un foyer. Le deuxième étage servait de logement aux domestiques des officiers.
  13. Salle de garde en brique des officiers et quartiers des sergents d’état-major 1839 (contours de la fondation)
    Situé juste au sud de la porte du fort, ce bâtiment en brique d’un étage abritait les quartiers pour l’officier de service et pour les sergents d’état-major avec un espace de rangement dans le grenier.
  14. Poste de garde en brique, vers 1821 (contours de la fondation)
    Cette zone abritait un bâtiment en brique à charpente contenant deux cellules, une salle pour les soldats en service et une cave utilisée pour l’isolement. Le poste de garde a été démoli dans les années 1850 et son contour est en grande partie masqué par la cuisine et la buanderie de l’époque de l’asile.
  15. Lieu historique national du Phare-de-l’Île-Bois Blanc
    Le phare, construit en 1836, a joué un rôle important dans la navigation sur la rivière Détroit. L’île elle-même a joué un rôle stratégique dans la défense du fort Malden en 1837-1838, pendant une période de raids frontaliers des États-Unis par des rebelles canadiens.

Pendant votre visite au fort Malden

Explorez tous les panoramas en vous promenant sur notre sentier au bord de l’eau. Un personnel accueillant, un centre d’interprétation réputé et un paysage historique sont à votre disposition pour vous faire découvrir l’histoire riche et colorée du fort Malden.

Notre centre d’interprétation abrite de nombreux artefacts uniques et originaux, dont le seul drapeau connu de la République du Canada encore existant. Des activités interactives pour les enfants, un film d’orientation et une promenade dans la boutique de souvenirs complèteront votre visite.

Franchissez les portes du fort et découvrez comment les soldats et leurs familles vivaient au début des années 1800. L’intérieur du fort comprend une caserne originale datant de 1820, avec des reconstitutions des quartiers des officiers, des quartiers des soldats et d’une cuisine.

À quelques pas du fort Malden

Prolongez votre promenade au-delà du fort Malden jusqu’au parc King’s Navy Yard qui abrite le Bureau de l’intendance, construit en 1831 pour servir de bureau responsable de l’achat et du stockage des marchandises. Regardez de l’autre côté de la rivière et profitez d’une vue panoramique sur l’île Bois Blanc (île Boblo).


Le saviez-vous?
  • Le premier poste militaire à cet endroit, construit en 1796, s’appelait fort Amherstburg.
  • Le fort Amherstburg a été impliqué au tout début et à la toute fin de la guerre de 1812.
  • Il ne reste rien de la première fortification construite ici, car elle a été brûlée par les Britanniques en 1813.
  • Le fort Malden a été utilisé comme asile provincial après son abandon par l’armée.

D'autres langues