Fort Malden National Historic Site offers a fascinating look into Canada’s military history including the War of 1812 and the Upper Canada Rebellion of 1837-38. Overlooking the Detroit River, this was the southern-most British outpost in North America when it was established in 1796. It was used by the British to defend the western frontier against the Americans and the place where Major General Sir Isaac Brock and Shawnee Chief Tecumseh formed a key alliance. It was occupied by the Americans from 1813-1815.

History

In the late 18th and 19th centuries, fortifications at Fort Malden witnessed and participated in important struggles that helped to define this country. The original fort was the headquarters for the Right Division of the British Army in Upper Canada during the war of 1812. This fort was destroyed by the British when they retreated in September, 1813. Americans occupied the ruins until July 1815. British troops were slow to rebuild the fort until 1820. Between 1820 and 1825, they built several buildings including the barracks, officer’s quarters, powder mag, latrines, cookhouses, and gunshed.

The British withdrew from the fort in 1836, but rushed back during the Upper Canadian Rebellion of 1837-38. The fort has been an army garrison, British Indian Department post, dockyard for the Upper Great Lakes, a lunatic asylum, and the place where Chief Tecumseh and British Major General Brock met to form an alliance.

Standing in the centre of the fort is a stunning piece of architecture constructed in 1861-1862. The Hough House is our museum, and it has been a home, a mill, and part of an asylum.

Bois Blanc Island Lighthouse and Blockhouse National Historic Site

Across the Detroit River from the fort is Bois Blanc Island Lighthouse National Historic Site, the entrance/gateway to the mouth of the Detroit River and access to the Upper Great Lakes. Constructed in 1836, the tall limestone lighthouse was the scene of an 1838 invasion by Canadian rebels and their American supporters. The wooden blockhouse was part of the defences of Fort Malden in 1839.

Amherstburg Navy Yard National Historic Site

Amherstburg Navy Yard is located near Fort Malden along the waterfront of the Detroit River. This British naval yard operated during the War of 1812, from 1796-1813. All of the ships used by the British Fleet on Lake Erie and Lake Huron were constructed here. The Lake Erie fleet was defeated by the Americans at the Battle of Lake Erie on September 10, 1813. Fort Amherstburg was burned and abandoned by the British in retreat and occupied by the Americans until 1815.

Le lieu historique national du Fort-Malden propose un aperçu fascinant de l’histoire militaire canadienne, comprenant la guerre de 1812 et la rébellion du Haut-Canada de 1837-38. Surplombant la rivière Détroit, il constituait l’avant-poste britannique le plus au sud de l’Amérique du nord lorsqu’il fut établi en 1796. Il était utilisé par les Britanniques pour défendre la frontière ouest contre les Américains et c’est l’endroit où le major-général Sir Isaac Brock et le chef shawnee Tecumseh formèrent une alliance cruciale. Il a été occupé par les Américains de 1813 à 1815.

Histoire

À la fin du 18e et du 19e siècle, les fortifications du fort Malden assistèrent et participèrent à des combats importants qui ont aidé à définir notre pays. Le fort d’origine servait de quartier général à la division de droite de l’armée britannique dans le Haut-Canada pendant la guerre de 1812. Ce fort fut détruit par les Britanniques lorsqu’ils se retirèrent en septembre 1813. Les Américains occupèrent les ruines jusqu’en juillet 1815. Les troupes britanniques ont été lentes à reconstruire le fort jusqu’en 1820. Entre 1820 et 1825, ils construisirent plusieurs bâtiments incluant les casernes, les quartiers des officiers, la poudrière, les latrines, les cuisines et l’abri à fusils.

Les Britanniques se retirèrent du fort en 1836, mais sont revenus à la hâte pendant la rébellion du Haut-Canada de 1837-38. Le fort joua plusieurs rôles; il fut une garnison de l’armée, un poste pour le ministère britannique des Affaires indiennes, un atelier de construction navale pour le secteur supérieur des Grands Lacs, un « asile d’aliénés » et l’endroit où le chef Tecumseh et le major-général britannique Brock se rencontrèrent pour former une alliance.

Au centre du fort se trouve une splendide pièce d’architecture construite en 1861-1862. Notre musée occupe la maison Hough, et elle fut une maison, un moulin et une partie d’un asile.

Lieu historique national du Phare-et-du-Blockhaus-de-l'Île-Bois-Blanc

Le Lieu historique national du Phare-et-du-Blockhaus-de-l'Île-Bois-Blanc se trouve de l’autre côté de la rivière Détroit, et constitue l’entrée/le point d’accès à l’embouchure de la rivière Détroit et l’accès au secteur supérieur des Grands Lacs. Le haut phare de calcaire fut construit en 1836, et, en 1838, fut le théâtre d’une invasion par les rebelles canadiens et leurs sympathisants américains. Le blockhaus en bois faisait partie des fortifications du fort Malden en 1839.

Lieu historique national du Chantier-Naval-d'Amherstburg

Le chantier naval d’Amherstburg est situé près du fort Malden et surplombe la rivière Détroit. Ce chantier naval britannique était actif de 1796 à 1813, et pendant la guerre de 1812. Tous les navires utilisés par la flotte britannique sur les lacs Érié et Huron y ont été construits. La flotte du lac Érié perdit la bataille du lac Érié contre les Américains le 10 septembre 1813. Le fort d’Amherstburg fut brûlé et abandonné par les Britanniques, qui battirent en retraite, puis fut occupé par les Américains jusqu’en 1815.