Three images: a teapot; a crystal ball; a family looking at a screen.

Introduction

The management plan for Laurier House National Historic Site is currently being reviewed and finalized. As a part of this revision, the Parks Canada Agency offered the public and community stakeholders the opportunity to give their opinions on the management approach and objectives proposed for the site for the next ten years. This public consultation was held from May 15th to July 15th, 2019 (8 weeks).

This document outlines this consultation process and presents a summary of the opinions expressed by the citizens, community stakeholders and regional representatives that were consulted.


Objectives

The consultation had two objectives:

  • To make known the management approach and objectives proposed for the draft management plan, which included elements of the site’s Visitor Experience Strategy (2017).
  • Obtain the views and comments of the public and partners to allow Parks Canada to adjust and improve the proposed management plan.

Consultation Process

The national historic site management planning team developed a “public consultation newsletter” that covered the following points:

  • The historic significance of the site;
  • The operation of the site;
  • The key achievements since the 2007 management plan came into effect;
  • The vision for the site; and
  • The proposed management approach for the next ten years, including key strategies and objectives.

The newsletter, published in French and English, was posted on the historic site’s website from May 15 2019 to July 15, 2019. The public was invited to read it and make comments and suggestions by email, in-person or by mail. This consultation was promoted on the Rideau Canal National Historic Site’s Facebook account on May 29 and May 30, 2019 where it reached 2,398 individuals. The consultation was also advertised in local newspapers (the Ottawa Citizen, Le Droit, the Centretown Buzz, and Sandy Hill’s monthly community newsletter). A link to the online consultation was posted on the Consulting with Canadians website.

Personalized emails with information about the public open house were sent to elected officials and to regional partners, inviting the parties to share their comments (see Appendix I Partners Engaged).

A public meeting was held on Thursday May 30th, 2019 from 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. and from 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m., at the site. The issues and objectives targeted by the draft management plan and the Visitor Experience Strategy, were presented by the site manager, and participant comments were recorded. Participants expressed an interest in the site’s history and were informed about the issues that Parks Canada will pay particular attention to over the coming years. The site also received five emails from members of the public.

Separate from the broader public engagement process, discussions were held with Chief Kirby Whiteduck of the Algonquins of Pikwakanagan First Nation, who expressed no concern or comment on the management direction of Laurier House National Historic Site. Moving forward, the site team will continue to engage with Indigenous partners to integrate Indigenous perspectives into the site’s narrative.


Summary of the main comments received during the consultations

Vision

The participants generally agreed with the proposed vision and found it to be inspiring. They would like to see more reference to Laurier House being one of the only mansions of its era that can be visited in Ottawa. There was support for a vision of the site as a place of debate and as a place where all Canadians can connect with the stories of two Prime Ministers. Participants in the consultation also expressed a desire for the site to work with partners to increase relevance and benefit from cross-promotion.

Strategy 1: A site of great relevance to Canadians

Political history doesn’t sell. Downton Abbey-fying the place could just be the carrot that gets people interested in King and Laurier.

Open House Participant

The management team presented some elements of the Visitor Experience Strategy (2017) at the public consultation since one of the objectives of this management plan is the implementation of this approach. This included a presentation on identified target markets and plans to develop the second and third floors of the house. Feedback was received that interactive exhibits and programs are supported, with many ideas brought up for what these visitor experience products could look like. There was a concern that any introduction of technology must be balanced so that it does not distract from the authenticity that the site is valued for. People at the public open house also expressed the desire for Parks Canada to present the Laurier House stories from many viewpoints, especially the perspective of servants, and the social history associated with a mansion like Laurier House. There was also support for resurrecting programs like “Tea and Theatre on the Veranda” and potentially involving local university theatre departments. Many neighbours miss this program and found that it was an excellent way of presenting the house and Canadian history, in entertaining and instructive ways.

I visit with my grandkids when I know there is something new going on. I assume I will learn something different.

Open House Participant

Parks Canada’s desire to increase visitation at Laurier House was understood. Questions arose about the site’s flexibility with fees for target markets the site wishes to attract. Feedback was also received that the site should work to develop a parking or transit solution, perhaps through partners.

A common theme during public consultation was the importance of the house within the Sandy Hill community. Several partnering and engagement opportunities were highlighted which reinforces the importance of objective 1.3 referring to partners being engaged in the site’s programming. The vision for the Prime Ministers Row initiative complements the proposed vision for Laurier House and the site could serve as an anchor location for this endeavor. Within the community, there are also opportunities to work with Heritage Ottawa for the Laurier Avenue walking tours, the Ottawa Historical Society, and the All Saints event venue directly across the street. Laurier House staff were encouraged to think beyond the site’s property and increase the house’s visibility through networking opportunities across the city, including the Ottawa Museums Network, the national museums, and regional heritage fairs. Alignment with the museums of Ottawa could help with promotion of the site through participation in free admission nights on Thursdays, passes at the local libraries, and packaging opportunities.

Strategy 2: A place to connect with the different stories of Canada

There was positive reception to the idea of presenting the history of Sir Wilfrid Laurier and William Lyon Mackenzie King from multiple perspectives, beyond the traditional narrative. This would have to be done respectfully through work with Indigenous groups and multicultural groups.

The site also received positive feedback for opening the back of the second and third floors for exhibits and programming. There was input that, with the development of the second and third floors, the site should consider the importance of maintaining some open spaces that could be used for temporary or rotating exhibits. A space that is left open could be beneficial for work with partners such as Library and Archives Canada or the Ottawa Art Gallery.

Strategy 3: Protection and presentation of our national treasure

There was general support for Key Strategy 3. Parks Canada could explain the authenticity of the site better (e.g. the instructions in Mackenzie King’s will). The site is an exemplary example of authenticity, the most authentic across the Parks Canada Agency, and this message needs to be delivered to Canadians. There was wide support for bringing conservation work out of the nearby Parks Canada lab and into the house for people to see.


Conclusion

The consultation exercise proved to be a positive one and enabled Parks Canada to improve its approach to the management of the national historic site and to its work with the public and stakeholders. As a whole, the people who participated in the consultations expressed that they were in favour of this approach and supported the management objectives proposed by Parks Canada.

The management plan will be finalized by the end of 2019.

Finally, Parks Canada would like to thank all the participants that took part in the consultation exercise for having submitted their ideas and vision concerning the future of this national historic site.


Appendix I – Partners Engaged

Cultural Heritage Groups

  • Action Sandy Hill
  • Arts Theatre Community
  • Prime Minister’s Row
  • Ukrainian Society of Ottawa
  • Association des Communautés Francophones d’Ottawa

Tourism Groups

  • Ottawa Gatineau Hotel Association
  • Ottawa Tourism
  • Tourisme Outaouais
  • WHERE Magazine

Government

  • City of Ottawa
  • Department of Canadian Heritage
  • Library and Archives Canada
  • Member of Parliament - Federal
    • Ottawa-Vanier : Mona Fortier
  • Member of Parliament – Provincial
    • Ottawa-Vanier : Nathalie Des Rosiers
  • National Capital Commission
  • Ontario Ministry of Tourism and Culture

Indigenous Partners

  • Algonquins of Ontario, including the Algonquins of Pikwakanagan First Nation – Chief Kirby Whiteduck

Other Area Attractions

  • All Saints Event Space
  • Canadian Museum of History
  • Canadian Museum of Nature
  • Canadian War Museum
  • Chateau Laurier
  • East Block Parliament
  • Haunted Walks Ottawa
  • Lady Dive Bus Tours
  • Mackenzie King Estate
  • Rideau Hall

Educational Institutions

  • Algonquin College Carleton University & Ottawa University
  • Local school boards, teachers who have previously visited with their classes
  • Parks Canada Campus Clubs

Trois images: une théière; une boule de cristal; une famille regardant un écran.

Introduction

Le plan directeur du lieu historique national de la Maison-Laurier est en cours de révision et sera finalisé sous peu. Dans le cadre de cette révision, l’Agence Parcs Canada a offert au public et aux intervenants communautaires l’occasion de donner leur avis sur l’approche de gestion et les objectifs proposés pour le lieu au cours des dix prochaines années. Cette consultation publique s’est déroulée du 15 mai au 15 juillet 2019 (huit semaines).

Le présent document décrit ce processus de consultation et présente un résumé des opinions exprimées par les citoyens, les intervenants communautaires et les représentants régionaux qui ont été consultés.


Objectifs

La consultation avait deux objectifs :

  • faire connaître l’approche et les objectifs de gestion proposés pour l’ébauche du plan directeur, qui comprenait des éléments de la Stratégie relative à l’expérience du visiteur (2017) pour le lieu;
  • obtenir les points de vue et les commentaires du public et des partenaires, permettant ainsi à Parcs Canada d’adapter et d’améliorer le plan directeur proposé.

Processus de consultation

L’équipe de la planification de gestion du lieu historique national a élaboré un bulletin de consultation publique qui aborde les éléments suivants :

  • l’importance historique du lieu;
  • l’opération du lieu;
  • les principales réalisations depuis l’entrée en vigueur du plan directeur de 2007;
  • la vision envisagée pour le lieu;
  • l’approche de gestion proposée pour les dix prochaines années, notamment les stratégies clés et les objectifs.

Le bulletin, publié en français et en anglais, a été affiché sur le site Web du lieu historique du 15 mai au 15 juillet 2019. Le public a été invité à le lire et à faire des commentaires et des suggestions par courriel, en personne ou par la poste. Cette consultation a été annoncée sur le compte Facebook du lieu historique national du Canal-Rideau les 29 et 30 mai 2019, où elle a joint 2 398 personnes. La consultation a également été annoncée dans les journaux locaux (Ottawa Citizen, Le Droit, Centretown Buzz et le bulletin communautaire mensuel de Sandy Hill). Un lien vers la consultation en ligne a été affiché sur le site « Consultations auprès des Canadiens ».

Des courriels personnalisés contenant de l’information sur les séances portes ouvertes ont été envoyés aux représentants élus et aux partenaires régionaux, invitant les parties à soumettre leurs commentaires (voir la section Annexe I – Partenaires sollicités).

Une réunion publique a été tenue au lieu historique le jeudi 30 mai 2019 de 13 h à 16 h et de 17 h à 19 h. Les enjeux et les objectifs visés par l’ébauche du plan directeur et la stratégie relative à l’expérience du visiteur ont été présentés par le gestionnaire du lieu, et les commentaires des participants ont été consignés. Les participants ont exprimé leur intérêt pour l’histoire du lieu et ont été informés des enjeux auxquels Parcs Canada portera une attention particulière au cours des prochaines années. Le lieu a également reçu cinq courriels de la part de membres du public.

Outre le processus de consultation du grand public, des discussions ont eu lieu avec le chef Kirby Whiteduck de la Première Nation algonquine de Pikwakanagan, qui n’a exprimé aucune préoccupation ni formulé aucun commentaire sur l’orientation de gestion du lieu historique national de la Maison-Laurier. À l’avenir, l’équipe du lieu continuera de collaborer avec les partenaires autochtones afin d’intégrer les perspectives autochtones dans le récit du lieu.


Résumé des principaux commentaires reçus lors des consultations

Vision

Les participants à la consultation étaient généralement d’accord avec la vision proposée, qu’ils ont trouvée inspirante. Ils aimeraient que la maison Laurier soit davantage présentée comme l’une des seules résidences de son époque que l’on puisse visiter à Ottawa. La vision du lieu comme un endroit de débat et un endroit où tous les Canadiens peuvent découvrir l’histoire de deux premiers ministres a reçu l’appui des participants. Ceux-ci ont également dit souhaiter que le lieu travaille avec des partenaires afin d’accroître sa pertinence et de tirer parti de la promotion croisée.

Stratégie no 1 : Un lieu d’une grande pertinence pour les Canadiens

« L’histoire politique n’a rien de vendeur. Donner à l’endroit des airs de Downton Abbey pourrait susciter l’intérêt des gens pour King et Laurier.

Un participant aux portes ouvertes

Lors de la consultation publique, l’équipe de gestion a présenté certains éléments de la stratégie relative à l’expérience du visiteur (2017), l’un des objectifs du présent plan directeur étant la mise en œuvre de cette approche. Elle a notamment fait une présentation portant sur les marchés ciblés et les plans d’aménagement du deuxième et du troisième étage de la maison. Des commentaires favorables aux expositions et aux programmes interactifs ont été reçus, et de nombreuses idées à propos de ce à quoi ces produits liés à l’expérience du visiteur pourraient ressembler ont été proposées. Certains ont soulevé des préoccupations quant à la mise en place d’une nouvelle technologie, qui doit être bien dosée si l’on ne veut pas détourner l’attention de l’authenticité qui fait le charme de l’endroit. Les participants aux portes ouvertes ont également indiqué qu’ils souhaitaient que Parcs Canada présente les récits de la maison Laurier selon différentes perspectives, plus particulièrement celle des domestiques, ainsi que l’histoire sociale associée à une résidence comme la maison Laurier. Certains participants étaient également d’accord pour relancer des programmes comme celui du thé sur la véranda et du théâtre sur la véranda, et pour solliciter la participation des départements de théâtre des universités locales. Ces programmes manquent à de nombreux résidents, qui considèrent qu’il s’agit d’un moyen divertissant et instructif de présenter la maison et l’histoire du Canada.

« Je visite la maison avec mes petits-enfants quand je sais qu’il s’y passe quelque chose de nouveau. Je me dis que j’apprendrai quelque chose de différent. »

Une participante aux portes ouvertes

Le souhait de Parcs Canada d’augmenter le nombre de visiteurs à la maison Laurier a été compris. Des questions ont été soulevées au sujet de la latitude du lieu quant aux frais exigés pour les marchés cibles que l’on souhaite y attirer. Selon certains commentaires reçus, une solution de stationnement ou de transport en commun, possiblement par l’entremise de partenaires, devrait être envisagée pour le lieu.

L’importance de la maison au sein de la collectivité de Sandy Hill a été un thème récurrent lors de la consultation publique. Plusieurs possibilités de partenariat et de mobilisation ont été soulevées, ce qui met en relief l’importance de l’objectif 1.3 à propos de l’implication des partenaires dans la programmation du lieu. La vision définie pour l’initiative de l’Allée des premiers ministres (Prime Minister’s row initiative) complète bien la vision proposée pour la maison Laurier, et le lieu pourrait servir de point d’ancrage à cette initiative. Au sein de la collectivité, il est également possible de travailler avec Patrimoine Ottawa pour les promenades guidées sur l’avenue Laurier, avec la Société historique d’Ottawa et avec l’espace événementiel All Saints situé de l’autre côté de la rue. Les membres du personnel de la maison Laurier ont été encouragés à voir plus loin que l’emplacement du lieu et à accroître la visibilité de la maison au moyen d’occasions de réseautage à travers la ville, notamment par l’intermédiaire du Réseau des musées d’Ottawa, des musées nationaux et des fêtes du patrimoine régionales. Une collaboration avec les musées d’Ottawa permettrait d’offrir l’entrée gratuite les jeudis soirs, des laissez-passer dans les bibliothèques locales ainsi que des forfaits, et de contribuer ainsi à la promotion du lieu.

Stratégie no 2 : Un lieu où découvrir différents récits liés à l’histoire du Canada

L’idée de présenter l’histoire de sir Wilfrid Laurier et de William Lyon Mackenzie King sous différents angles, et d’une manière autre que le récit traditionnel, a été accueillie favorablement. Cela devrait se faire dans le respect et en collaboration avec les groupes autochtones et multiculturels.

Le lieu a également reçu des commentaires positifs en ce qui a trait à l’ouverture de la partie arrière des deuxième et troisième étages pour les expositions et la programmation. On a fait remarquer qu’avec l’aménagement du deuxième et du troisième étages, le lieu devrait considérer garder certains espaces libres, pouvant être utilisés pour des expositions temporaires ou éphémères. Un espace libre pourrait être pratique pour travailler avec des partenaires comme Bibliothèque et Archives Canada ou la Galerie d’art d’Ottawa.

Stratégie no 3 : La protection et la mise en valeur notre trésor national

De façon générale, les participants étaient en faveur de la stratégie no 3. Parcs Canada pourrait mieux expliquer l’authenticité du lieu (p. ex. les instructions contenues dans le testament de Mackenzie King). Le lieu est un modèle exemplaire d’authenticité, le plus authentique de l’Agence Parcs Canada, et ce message doit être transmis aux Canadiens. Beaucoup se sont dits d’accord pour transférer les travaux de conservation du laboratoire de Parcs Canada situé à proximité à la maison Laurier pour que les gens puissent les voir.


Conclusion

L’exercice de consultation s’est avéré positif et a permis à Parcs Canada d’améliorer son approche de la gestion du lieu historique national et son travail avec le public et les intervenants. Dans l’ensemble, les personnes qui ont participé aux consultations se sont montrées favorables à cette approche et ont appuyé les objectifs de gestion proposés par Parcs Canada.

Le plan directeur sera finalisé d’ici à la fin de 2019.

Enfin, Parcs Canada tient à remercier tous les participants à l’exercice de consultation d’avoir soumis leurs idées et leur vision concernant l’avenir de ce lieu historique national.


Annexe I – Partenaires sollicités

Groupes du patrimoine culturel

  • Action Sandy Hill
  • La communauté du théâtre et des arts
  • Cultural Heritage Organisation of Ottawa
  • Prime Minister’s Row – Art MilnesLa Ukrainian Society of Ottawa
  • L’Association des communautés francophones d’Ottawa

Groupes de l’industrie du tourisme

  • La Ottawa-Gatineau Hotel Association Tourisme Ottawa Tourisme Outaouais Le magazine WHERE

Gouvernement

  • La Ville d’Ottawa
  • Le ministère du Patrimoine canadien
  • Bibliothèques et Archives Canada
  • Députée – gouvernement fédéral
    • Ottawa-Vanier : Mona Fortier
  • Députée – gouvernement provincial
    • Ottawa-Vanier : Nathalie Des Rosiers
  • La Commission de la capitale nationale
  • Le ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport de l’Ontario

Partenaires autochtones

  • Les Algonquins de l’Ontario, y compris les Algonquins de la Première Nation de Pikwakanagan – chef Kirby Whiteduck

Autres attractions de la région

  • Espace événementiel All Saints
  • Le Musée canadien de l’histoire
  • Le Musée canadien de la nature
  • Le Musée canadien de la guerre
  • Le Château Laurier
  • L’édifice de l’Est du Parlement
  • La Marche hantée d’Ottawa
  • Les Tours Lady Dive
  • Le domaine Mackenzie-King
  • Rideau Hall

Établissements d’enseignement

  • Le collège Algonquin
  • L’Université de Carleton et l’Université d’Ottawa
  • Les conseils scolaires locaux, les enseignants qui ont déjà visité le lieu avec leurs classes
  • Les clubs étudiants de Parcs Canada