Laurier House is a national historic treasure for school groups to visit in the National Capital Region. Hands-on, curriculum-based, experiential learning opportunities are proposed for students, catered to class’ specific needs. Students will see history come alive through an interactive guided tour of the home of two of Canada’s past Prime Ministers, Sir Wilfrid Laurier and William Lyon Mackenzie King. With a comedic game of true or false, they will discover lesser known and scandelous facts about the two Prime Ministers. Educational activities will be seamlessly integrated into the tour, and a variety of learning resources will be made available to you both before and after your visit.

Grade 7: Canada 1800-1850, a period for change

Students will enhance their knowledge of the Upper and Lower Canada Rebellions of 1837-1838 during this interactive guided tour. Specific focus will be given to the causes and outcomes of the rebellions, as well as to the connection they had with the two prime ministers, Sir Wilfrid Laurier and William Lyon Mackenzie King, who both resided in Laurier House.

Grade 8: Forming a nation, challenges and triumphs

Students will gain a greater understanding of the various groups and perspectives in Canada during the post- Confederation period throughout this interactive guided tour. The main focus of this program will be the relations between the English and French living in Canada and their views on significant events such as the South African War, the Manitoba Schools Question, and conscription. Attention will also be given to the ways Sir Wilfrid Laurier and William Lyon Mackenzie King approached these conflicts and assisted in shaping Canada into what it is today.

Dates
  • May, June and September, upon reservations.
Price
  • $4.90 per student
  • Program lasts 1 ½ to 2 hours
Details
  • Group reservations are required
  • There is a 28 maximum number of people allowed on the experience
Reserve
  • By telephone: 613-992-8142
  • By email: laurier-house@pc.gc.ca
Travel trade
  • Suitable for large groups
  • Suitable for small groups
  • Group reservations are required
  • Available in French and in English
  • Washrooms on site
  • Gift shop

La Maison-Laurier est un véritable joyau historique national pour les groupes scolaires qui visitent la région de la capitale nationale. On y offre des occasions d’apprentissage concrètes et amusantes pour les élèves, axées sur le programme d’études et adaptées aux besoins précis de chaque classe. Les élèves revivent l’histoire grâce à une visite guidée interactive de la maison de deux anciens premiers ministres du Canada, sir Wilfrid Laurier et William Lyon Mackenzie King. Grâce à un jeu cocasse de vrai ou faux, les élèves découvriront des anecdotes croustillantes et des faits méconnus concernant les deux Premier ministres. Des activités éducatives sont parfaitement intégrées à la visite et diverses ressources d’apprentissage sont mises à la disposition des enseignants et des élèves avant comme après la visite. 

7e année : Le Canada de 1800 à 1850, une période de transformation  

Les élèves amélioreront leur connaissance des rébellions de 1837-1838 dans le Haut-Canada et le Bas-Canada au cours de cette visite guidée interactive. Un accent particulier sera mis sur les causes et les résultats des rébellions ainsi que sur leur rapport avec les premiers ministres sir Wilfrid Laurier et William Lyon Mackenzie King, qui ont tous deux vécu dans la Maison-Laurier. 

8e année : L’édification de la nation, défis et triomphes  

Au cours de cette visite guidée interactive, les élèves amélioreront leur compréhension des divers points de vue au Canada pendant la période ayant suivi la Confédération. Le programme sera principalement axé sur les relations entre anglophones et francophones, vivant au Canada et leurs points de vue sur des événements importants tels que la guerre d’Afrique du Sud, la question des écoles du Manitoba et la conscription. L’accent sera également mis sur la façon dont Laurier et Mackenzie King ont abordé ces conflits et ont aidé à faire du Canada ce qu’il est aujourd’hui. 

Dates
  • Mai, juin et septembre, sur réservation
Prix
  • 4,90 $ par élève
  • Le programme dure de 1 ½ à 2 heures
Détails
  • Les réservations sont obligatoires pour les groupes
  • L’expérience peut être offerte à un maximum de 28 personnes à la fois
Réservations
  • Par téléphone : 613 992-8142
  • Par courriel : maison-laurier@pc.gc.ca
Professionnels de voyage
  • Convient aux grands groupes
  • Convient aux petits groupes
  • Réservations obligatoires pour les groupes
  • Disponible en français et en anglais
  • Toilettes sur place
  • Boutique