HMCS Haida is Canada’s “most fightingest ship,” the first-ever ceremonial flagship of the Royal Canadian Navy, and the last of the twenty-seven tribal class destroyers in the world. Canada’s most famous warship served in the Royal Canadian Navy from 1943 to 1963, participating in the Second World War, the Korean Conflict, and the Cold War. HMCS Haida is now a Parks Canada National Historic Site docked in Hamilton, Ontario. As a museum ship, she now serves as a place to remember, explore, and connect.

Indigenous culture

HMCS Haida was named after the Haida Nation on the west coast of Canada. When HMCS Haida was designated the Flagship of the Royal Canadian Navy, the Hereditary Chiefs of the Haida Nation gave the ship a red and white flag bearing the two-headed Thunderbird. The flag is flown on the ship’s yardarm during special events.

History

HMCS Haida was commissioned in the Royal Canadian Navy in 1943, serving in the Second World War, two tours of duty in the Korean Conflict, and the Cold War. HMCS Haida was a fighting ship and in twenty years of service only lost two men.

Engineering

The Canadian Tribal Class destroyers were very sophisticated warships equipped with the latest radar and sonar detection and communications technology, and thicker hull plates designed to withstand ice in Canadian waters.

Le NCSM Haida a été le « navire le plus belliqueux » du Canada, le tout premier navire amiral cérémonial de la Marine royale canadienne, et le dernier des vingt-sept destroyers de la classe Tribal du monde. Le plus célèbre navire de guerre canadien a servi la Marine royale canadienne de 1943 à 1963, participant à la Seconde Guerre mondiale, à la guerre de Corée et à la guerre froide. Le NCSM Haida repose désormais dans un lieu historique national de Parcs Canada à Hamilton, en Ontario. Comme navire-musée, il constitue maintenant un lieu d’exploration, de découverte et de remémoration.

Culture autochtone

Le NCSM Haida tire son nom de la nation Haida de la côte ouest canadienne (http://www.haidanation.ca/). Quand le NCSM Haida a été consacré navire amiral de la Marine royale canadienne, les chefs héréditaires de la nation Haida ont donné au navire un drapeau blanc et rouge affichant un oiseau-tonnerre à deux têtes, qui est hissé lors d’événements spéciaux.

Histoire

Le NCSM Haida a rejoint la Marine royale canadienne en 1943 pour participer à la Seconde Guerre mondiale, à deux affectations dans la guerre de Corée, et à la guerre froide. En vingt années de services, seuls deux hommes ont perdu la vie sur ce navire de guerre.

Ingénierie

Les destroyers canadiens de la classe Tribal étaient des navires de guerre très sophistiqués pourvus de la plus récente technologie en matière de communications, de sonars et de radars, en plus d’une coque plus épaisse conçue pour résister aux glaces des eaux canadiennes.