Niagara River

The Niagara River connects Lakes Erie and Ontario. For millennia it has served as a highway and as a source of natural resources. Starting with the Indigenous Peoples, people have used it as a highway for transportation and travel, using watercraft such as canoes, boats and ships. Archaeology of Indigenous sites in the Niagara Peninsula has identified numerous objects used for acquiring food from the river and lakes such as harpoon heads, net sinkers, fish hooks, and more.
Early European settlers realized the importance of the Niagara river too, and the river is in essence the entire reason for the location of many fortifications, including those of the Niagara National Historic Sites.

View of Niagara River from Fort George
View of Niagara River from Fort George

By terms of a 1796 treaty, the British moved their operations to the Canadian bank of the river. Fort George was established to house British troops and their supplies, and to guard the mouth of the river and Navy Hall. By keeping troops at this site on the high ground overlooking the entrance to the river, they hoped to "show the flag" and continue British rule in this part of North America. Likewise, they built the Indian Council House on the Commons to house the operations of the Indian Department charged with keeping good relations between the Army and the Indigenous Peoples who had treaties of alliance with the Crown. Records show that the British Army relied on the river for food for its personnel at Fort George and elsewhere. Soldiers used nets to haul in fish, which they ate once a week. 
Navy Hall and Navy Island National Historic Sites were the site of shipyards, docks and warehouses, necessary for the transport of supplies sent to destinations further into the interior of the North American Continent. Queenston was the start of the Portage Road that allowed supplies to be carried in carts around the Niagara Falls, which otherwise blocked river traffic. 
When war was declared in 1812, both Britain and the United States developed strategies for attack and defense that used the Niagara River to their advantage. The river was both an obstacle and a route. The outnumbered British could use the river as a defensive line, but the United States forces could also use it to move troops and supplies to their own advantage. Unlike on the Great Lakes, where both sides built fleets of warships for combat and transport, the river was contested from the land. Only boats and smaller watercraft could be maneuvered to any advantage in the fast flowing current, but they would at all times be vulnerable to artillery placed on either side of the river. 
At the Battle of Queenston Heights, the Americans planned to cross the river using boats and bring their army into Canada. The fragile boats had to contend with swift, alternating currents in the river as well as British artillery at the Redan Battery above the village of Queenstown, which could destroy their boats as they transported the men. 

The Niagara Escarpment

Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls

The Escarpment dominates the landscape in the Niagara region, and produces the Niagara Falls which has long been a transportation challenge, a natural wonder, and a tourist destination. But in the War of 1812, its heights also provided an advantage to defenders and a challenge to attackers. During the war, several places on either bank of the Niagara River were the location of fortifications of several types. There were redoubts, such as Fort Drummond at Queenston Heights, which were small forts where soldiers were stationed to keep watch for the enemy and to form a first line of defence against an invasion of either river bank. There were also batteries, or fortifications, designed to provide a protected location for artillery. These were built either for defense of a crossing point over the river, like the Redan Battery or Vrooman's Battery, or for the purpose of bombarding an enemy target, like the American Salt Battery at Youngstown NY, which was built for the express purpose of bombarding Fort George in May 1813. Putting a fortification on the heights of the Escarpment made it more secure from enemy attack, since attackers would have to scale the heights under fire from the defenders to be able to take the position. It gave defenders a clearer field of vision while watching for attackers, as well as a better field of fire for their artillery. The science of military engineering, which designed fortifications and planned operations to take them, was both challenged and aided by the Niagara Escarpment. 

The Commons

When the British military surveyed the lands acquired from the Mississaugas through the Niagara Purchase of 1783, the area outside of the town lots of Newark (today's Niagara-on-the-Lake) was designated as a "military reserve.” This tract today is known as the Commons. At different points it has served as a military training ground, a pasture for livestock, and as a recreational nature area.

The Great Lakes

Fort Mississauga overlooking Lake Ontario
Fort Mississauga overlooking Lake Ontario

The Great Lakes are some of the largest bodies of fresh water in the world and to many they are the "fourth coast" of both Canada and the United States. They are sites of recreation, trade, and industry. In the earlier periods of human history, most trade or travel was done over water, in canoes, boats and ships. In times of conflict, such as the War of 1812, the waterways were critical in any path to victory.

Rivière Niagara

La rivière Niagara relie les lacs Érié et Ontario. Pendant des millénaires, elle a servi d’autoroute et de réserve de ressources naturelles. À commencer par les peuples autochtones, les gens l’ont utilisée comme autoroute pour le transport et les déplacements, avec des embarcations telles que des canoës, des bateaux et des navires. L’archéologie des sites autochtones de la péninsule du Niagara a permis de retrouver de nombreux objets qui servaient à extraire de la nourriture de la rivière et des lacs, tels que des pointes de harpon, des plombs de filet, des hameçons, etc.

Les premiers colons européens ont également compris l’importance de la rivière Niagara, qui justifie à elle seule l’emplacement de nombreuses fortifications, y compris celles des lieux historiques nationaux de la région de Niagara.

Une vue de la rivière Niagara à partir du site historique national de Fort George
Une vue de la rivière Niagara à partir du site historique national de Fort George

Par un traité datant de 1796, les Britanniques ont déplacé leurs opérations sur la rive canadienne de la rivière. Le fort George a été créé pour abriter les troupes britanniques et leurs approvisionnements, ainsi que pour garder l’embouchure de la rivière et le Navy Hall. En conservant des troupes à cet endroit sur les hauteurs surplombant l’entrée de la rivière, ils espéraient « hisser le drapeau » et maintenir la domination britannique dans cette partie de l’Amérique du Nord. De même, ils ont construit la chambre du conseil du ministère des Affaires indiennes sur le terrain communal pour abriter les opérations de ce ministère britannique, chargé de maintenir de bonnes relations entre l’armée et les peuples autochtones qui avaient des traités d’alliance avec la Couronne. Les archives indiquent que l’armée britannique dépendait de la rivière pour nourrir son personnel au fort George et en d’autres lieux. Les soldats utilisaient des filets pour prendre du poisson, qu’ils mangeaient une fois par semaine. 

Les lieux historiques nationaux du Navy Hall et de l’Île-Navy abritaient des chantiers navals, des quais et des entrepôts nécessaires au transport des fournitures envoyées vers l’intérieur du continent nord-américain. Queenston était le point de départ de la route de portage qui permettait de transporter les fournitures dans des chariots afin de contourner les chutes du Niagara qui entravaient le trafic fluvial. 

Lorsque la guerre a été déclarée en 1812, la Grande-Bretagne et les États-Unis ont tous deux mis au point des stratégies d’attaque et de défense mettant à profit la rivière Niagara. La rivière était à la fois un obstacle et une voie de passage. Les Britanniques, plus nombreux, pouvaient utiliser le fleuve comme ligne de défense, mais les forces américaines pouvaient également l’utiliser à leur propre avantage pour acheminer des troupes et des approvisionnements. Contrairement aux Grands Lacs, où les deux parties ont construit des flottes de navires de guerre pour le combat et le transport, on se disputait la rivière depuis la terre ferme. Seuls les bateaux et petites embarcations pouvaient être bien manœuvrés dans le courant rapide, mais ils demeuraient vulnérables à l’artillerie placée de chaque côté de la rivière. 

Lors de la bataille des Hauteurs de Queenston, les Américains avaient prévu de traverser la rivière en bateaux pour amener leur armée au Canada. Les fragiles embarcations transportant des hommes devaient affronter des courants rapides et changeants dans la rivière ainsi que l’artillerie britannique de la batterie du Redan, au-dessus du village de Queenstown. 

L’escarpement du Niagara

Les chutes du Niagara
Les chutes du Niagara

L’escarpement domine le paysage de la région de Niagara et produit les chutes Niagara, qui représentent depuis longtemps un problème de transport, une merveille naturelle et une destination touristique. Mais pendant la guerre de 1812, ses hauteurs ont également constitué un atout pour les défenseurs et un défi pour les attaquants. Pendant la guerre, plusieurs endroits sur les deux rives de la rivière Niagara ont été choisis comme emplacement de fortifications de plusieurs types. Il y avait des redoutes, comme le fort Drummond sur les hauteurs de Queenston, qui étaient de petits forts où l’on postait des soldats pour surveiller l’ennemi et former une première ligne de défense contre une invasion de l’une ou l’autre rive. Il y avait aussi des batteries, ou des fortifications, conçues comme des lieux de protection de l’artillerie. Elles étaient construites soit pour défendre un point de franchissement de la rivière, comme la batterie du Redan ou la batterie de Vrooman, soit pour bombarder une cible ennemie, comme la batterie de sel américaine à Youngstown, qui a été construite dans le but exprès de bombarder le fort George en mai 1813. Placer une fortification sur les hauteurs de l’escarpement la sécurise contre les attaques ennemies, puisque les attaquants doivent escalader les hauteurs sous le feu des défenseurs pour pouvoir prendre la position. Cela donnait aux défenseurs un meilleur champ de vision pour surveiller les attaquants, ainsi qu’un meilleur champ de tir pour leur artillerie. Pour la science du génie militaire, qui visait à concevoir les fortifications et à planifier les opérations pour les prendre, l’escarpement du Niagara a représenté à la fois un défi et un atout. 

Le terrain communal

Lorsque l’armée britannique a arpenté les terres acquises auprès des Mississaugas lors de l’achat de la région de Niagara en 1783, la zone située en dehors des terrains de la ville de Newark (aujourd’hui Niagara-on-the-Lake) a été désignée « réserve militaire ». Cette parcelle est aujourd’hui connue sous le nom de terrain communal. Selon les endroits, elle a servi de terrain d’entraînement militaire, de pâturage pour le bétail et de zone naturelle récréative.  

Les Grands Lacs

Une vue de Fort Mississauga à partir du lac Ontario
Une vue de Fort Mississauga à partir du lac Ontario

Les Grands Lacs comptent parmi les plus grands plans d’eau douce du monde, et beaucoup les considèrent comme la « quatrième côte » du Canada et des États-Unis. Ce sont des lieux de loisirs, de commerce et d’industrie. Dans les premières périodes de l’histoire de l’humanité, la plupart des échanges commerciaux ou des déplacements se faisaient sur l’eau, dans des canoës, sur des bateaux ou des navires. En temps de conflit, comme lors de la guerre de 1812, les voies navigables étaient essentielles pour accéder à la victoire.