Niagara on the Lake has a significant number of historic sites, buildings, and monuments. Together, they help tell the story of 250 years of Canadian history, from the early Loyalist days, to the War of 1812, the 1837 Rebellion, as well as the story of Camp Niagara during the Boer War, First World War, Second World War, and Korean War. As military reserve properties, all of our sites (except Navy Island) were used to train soldiers during the First World War and the Second World War for overseas service.

Fort George National Historic Site

Fort George National Historic Site is a glimpse into one of the most important chapters of Canadian history, the War of 1812. This fort served as the headquarters for the Centre Division of the British Army and Major-General Sir Isaac Brock.  Fort George was destroyed by artillery before Americans invaded and took over the fort for seven months, in 1813.

Battlefield of Fort George National Historic Site

The Battlefield of Fort George National Historic Site was the site of one of the fiercest and most important battles of the War of 1812. Outnumbered five to one, the British defenders fought a desperate beachhead battle while under artillery fire from the U.S. Fleet.

Navy Hall

Navy Hall was a storehouse and wharf establishment started by the British at Fort Niagara in 1765. The first complex later served as a residence for the first Lieutenant-governor of the Province. It later became a mess and residences of the officers of Fort George. The first complex was destroyed by artillery fire in November, 1812. The current structure was built by the British military in 1815-1817 as a part of a key military supply facility for British forts on the upper Great Lakes. It was relocated in 1863 and again during renovations in 1937.

Fort Mississauga National Historic Site

Fort Mississauga’s construction began during the War of 1812 and was completed just after the 1837 Mackenzie Rebellion. The Fort is located at a strategic position at the mouth of the Niagara River, opposite Fort Niagara, to protect the British/Canadian side of the Niagara frontier.

Mississauga Point Lighthouse National Historic Site

Mississauga Point Lighthouse was the first lighthouse on the Great Lakes. It was built in 1804. During the battle of Fort George, Lighthouse Keeper Dominick Henry and his wife tended to casualties on the battlefield near the lighthouse. The lighthouse was ultimately destroyed during the US occupation of Niagara. In 1814, work began to build Fort Mississauga on that location.

Navy Island National Historic Site

Navy Island National Historic Site is where the first British-decked vessels to sail the upper Great Lakes were built. It was no longer a good place to build vessels when the east side of the Niagara River was turned over to the United States by Jay’s Treaty in 1796. In 1838 William Lyon Mackenzie occupied the Island as a staging point for an intended invasion of Canada.

Butler's Barracks National Historic Site

Butler's Barracks National Historic Site is a historic military complex of four wooden buildings located at the edge of the Commons, 1 kilometre west of Fort George National Historic Site. Construction of the barracks complex began during the War of 1812, out of range of the American Guns at Fort Niagara. The surviving buildings are post -War of 1812 construction and were used by the military until the 1950’s.

Queenston Heights National Historic Site and Brock's Monument

Queenston Heights National Historic Site protects  the battlefield where a small force of British defenders fought off an invasion by a significantly larger American Army in the first battle for the Niagara frontier in October, 1812. Major General Isaac Brock and his aide-de-camp John Macdonell both died trying to reclaim the Heights from the US troops. Both men are buried and commemorated in Brock’s Monument, built where the climax of the battle took place and over 900 US soldiers were taken prisoner.

Niagara-on-the-Lake compte un nombre important de lieux, de bâtiments et de monuments historiques, qui témoignent collectivement de 250 ans d’histoire canadienne, allant des premiers colons loyalistes à la guerre de 1812 et la rébellion de 1837, ainsi que l’histoire du « Camp Niagara » durant la guerre des Boers, la Première Guerre mondiale, la Seconde Guerre mondiale, et la guerre de Corée. À titre de propriétés de la réserve militaire, tous nos lieux historiques (à l’exception de l’Île-Navy) ont servi à l’entraînement de soldats pendant la Première Guerre mondiale et la Seconde Guerre mondiale pour le service outre-mer.

Lieu historique national du Fort-George

Le lieu historique national du Fort-George donne un aperçu de l’un des chapitres les plus marquants de l’histoire canadienne, à savoir la guerre de 1812. Le fort a servi de quartier général à la division centrale de l’Armée britannique et au major-général sir Isaac Brock. Fort-George a été détruit par l’artillerie américaine avant l’envahissement et la prise du fort par les Américains pendant sept mois, en 1813.

Lieu historique national du Champ-de-Bataille-du-Fort-George

Le lieu historique national du Champ-de-Bataille-du-Fort-George fut le lieu d’une des batailles les plus féroces et les plus importantes de la guerre de 1812. Cinq fois moins nombreux que leurs adversaires, les défenseurs britanniques ont mené une bataille de tête de plage désespérée tout en étant la cible de tirs de l’artillerie de la flotte américaine.

« Navy Hall »

Le salle maritime était un magasin et quai que les Britanniques ont commencé à établir à Fort-Niagara en 1765. Le premier complexe a plus tard servi de résidence au lieutenant-gouverneur de la Province. Il est ensuite devenu un mess et une résidence d’officiers de Fort-George. Le premier complexe a été détruit par des tirs d’artillerie en novembre 1812. L’ouvrage actuel a été bâti par l’armée britannique entre 1815 et 1817 comme partie intégrante d’une importante installation de ravitaillement militaire pour les forts britanniques dans la région supérieure des Grands Lacs. Il a été déménagé en 1863 et de nouveau en 1937.

Lieu historique national du Fort-Mississauga

La construction du fort Mississauga a commencé pendant la guerre de 1812 et s’est terminée peu de temps après la rébellion de 1837 dirigée par Mackenzie. Le fort est situé à un endroit stratégique à l’embouchure de la rivière Niagara, en face du fort Niagara, en vue de protéger le côté britannique/canadien de la frontière Niagara.

Lieu historique national du Phare-de-la-Pointe-Mississauga

Le Phare-de-la-Pointe-Mississauga est le premier phare des Grands Lacs. Il a été bâti en 1804. Pendant la bataille de Fort-George, le gardien du phare Dominick Henry et sa femme s’occupaient souvent à soigner des blessés sur le champ de bataille près du phare. Le phare a finalement été détruit pendant l’occupation de Niagara par les Américains. En 1814, les travaux de construction du fort Mississauga ont commencé à cet emplacement.

Lieu historique national de l’Île-Navy

C’est au lieu historique national de l’Île-Navy que les premières embarcations pontées britanniques destinées à naviguer dans la région supérieure des Grands Lacs ont été construites. Cet endroit ne convenait plus à la construction d’embarcations après la prise du contrôle de la rive est de la rivière Niagara par les États-Unis en vertu du traité Jay en 1796. En 1838, William Lyon Mackenzie a occupé l’île comme lieu de rassemblement d’un projet d’invasion du Canada.

Lieu historique national des Casernes-de-Butler

Le lieu historique national des Casernes-de-Butler est un complexe militaire historique composé de quatre bâtiments en bois situés en bordure du terrain communal à 1 kilomètre à l’ouest du lieu historique national du Fort-George. La construction du complexe de casernes a commencé pendant la guerre de 1812, à un endroit hors de portée des tirs américains au fort Niagara. Les bâtiments qui ont survécu sont des constructions de l’après-guerre de 1812 qui ont servi à l’armée jusque dans les années 1950.

Lieu historique national des Hauteurs-de-Queenston

Le lieu historique national des Hauteurs-de-Queenston protège le champ de bataille où une petite troupe de défenseurs britanniques a combattu une invasion par une armée américaine beaucoup plus grande à la première bataille livrée à la frontière pour le Niagara en octobre 1812. Le major général Isaac Brock et son aide de camp John Macdonell sont tous deux morts en essayant de reprendre possession des Hauteurs des mains des troupes américaines. Les deux hommes sont inhumés et commémorés dans le monument Brock, bâti à l’endroit où la bataille a atteint son point culminant et où plus de 900 soldats américains ont été faits prisonniers.