41st Fife and Drum Corps

The 41st Fife and Drum Corps was raised in 1987 by Gavin A. Watt and Peter Alexander as an animation program for Parks Canada at Fort George National Historic Site. They gathered period music, instruments and created a successful music animation program. Recruiting was achieved by performing at local schools and offering a unique learning environment that included music, self discipline and citizenship. The Corps performs in parades, festivals and hosts an annual muster every third week in August at Fort George. The Corps attends local functions as honour guards and are recognized by visitors as a fixture in the town of Niagara-on-the-Lake. We have been recently recognized by the Niagara-on-the-Lake Chamber of Commerce as Youth Citizens of the Year' 2002 and by the Ontario Heritage Association with the Youth Heritage Award' 2002. The Corps has also produced an award winning recording.

Joining our program

The Corps has been created for young people between the ages of ten and fourteen. You are welcome to visit any Sunday between 1:30 p.m. and 4 p.m. There are no formal music requirements and your uniform and equipment is provided by Parks Canada. You will receive instruction in drill, music and music ensemble. Once you have memorized and can perform ten fife songs or drum beatings you will be issued with your music equipment and uniform free of charge. When you turn fifteen you can compete for a paid position in the professional Corps. The only requirements are attendance every Sunday and three days a week including Sundays during the summer from July 1st to Labour Day.

Do you need more information?

Peter Alexander
Historic Music Coordinator
Niagara National Historic Sites


Outreach and special event volunteer

Volunteers will help Parks Canada staff deliver activities to the public at our own special events and also at local festivals, celebrations, trade shows, and sporting events in Southwestern Ontario. We are looking for volunteers in the following areas: Niagara Falls, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Hamilton, Kitchener-Waterloo, London, Windsor, Amherstburg, or Leamington, Ontario. 

What you will be doing: 

  • Promoting Parks Canada to the public and answering questions. 
  • Promoting an active and healthy lifestyle
  • Learning about Canadian culture, history, and nature.
  • Sharing your passion of Parks Canada places with others.
  • Setting up and taking down portable booths and activities. 
  • Assisting with activities such as airbrush tattoos, scavenger hunts, green screen photo booths, and family crafts.
  • Demonstrating our website using portable tablet devices.
  • Bringing Parka to life, taking pictures with event goers, reading story time with Parka, and performing her “song and dance.”
  • Encouraging others to volunteer for Parks Canada. 

Note:

  • You must be 14 years or older to apply.
  • Prior experience is not required.
  • Good communication skills are an asset.
  • Volunteers will be expected to travel at their own cost. Some meals may be provided or reimbursed.
  • A screening process will follow the application to suitability.
  • Volunteers will be contacted on an as needed basis, based on events going on in their communities. 

How to apply: 

Contact the Southwestern Ontario Field Unit Volunteer Coordinator: JoelAnthony.Forget@Canada.ca or 289-775-1271.

Le Corps de fifres et tambours du 41e régiment

Le Corps de fifres et de tambours du 41e régiment a été mis sur pied en 1987 par Gavin A. Watt et Peter Alexander dans le cadre d'un programme d'animation de Parcs Canada au lieu historique national du Fort-George. Watt et Alexander ont rassemblé de la musique et des instruments de l'époque, et ont créé un programme d'animation musical très réussi. C'est en jouant dans les écoles locales et en offrant un environnement d'apprentissage unique alliant la musique, la discipline et le civisme qu'on recrute les membres du Corps. Le Corps joue dans les défilés, les festivals et organise un rassemblement annuel qui a lieu à Fort-George la troisième semaine du mois d'août. Les membres du Corps participent également à des activités locales à titre de gardes d'honneur et font partie des attraits appréciés par les visiteurs de la ville de Niagara-on-the-Lake.
La chambre de commerce de Niagara-on-the-Lake nous a récemment décerné le titre de « Jeunes citoyens de 2002 » et la Ontario Heritage Association le prix « Patrimoine jeunesse 2002 ». Le Corps a également produit un enregistrement qui a mérité un prix.

Pour participer à notre programme

Le Corps s'adresse aux jeunes âgés de dix à quatorze ans. Nous vous invitons à venir nous rendre visite le dimanche entre 13 h 30 et 16 h. Aucune connaissance musicale formelle n'est exigée; l'uniforme et l'équipement sont fournis par Parcs Canada. Vous recevrez une formation en manœuvres, en musique et en ensemble de musique. Lorsque vous aurez mémorisé et que vous pourrez jouer dix chants de fifre ou batteries de tambour, on vous remettra gratuitement votre équipement de musique et votre uniforme. Lorsque vous aurez atteint l'âge de quinze ans, vous pourrez poser votre candidature à un poste rémunéré dans le corps professionnel. Les seules exigences sont votre présence chaque dimanche, et trois jours par semaine, y compris les dimanches durant l'été, du 1er juillet jusqu'à la fête du Travail.

Vous voulez plus d'information?

Peter Alexander
Coordonateur du programme de musique d'époque
Lieux historique nationaux du Niagara


Bénévole, diffusion externe et activités spéciales

Nos bénévoles aident notre personnel à organiser des activités pour le grand public lors des activités spéciales de Parcs Canada, ainsi que lors de festivals locaux, de célébrations, de salons professionnels ou même d’activités sportives se déroulant dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario. Nous sommes à la recherche de bénévoles dans les régions suivantes : Niagara Falls et Niagara-on-the-Lake, Hamilton, Kitchener et Waterloo, London, Windsor et Amherstburg, Leamington.

Ce que vous ferez

  • Promouvoir au public à propos de Parcs Canada et répondre aux questions.
  • Promouvoir un mode de vie sain et actif.
  • Avoir des connaissances ou un intérêt dans la culture, l’histoire et la nature canadiennes.
  • Partager leur passion des lieux de Parcs Canada avec les autres.
  • Installer et démanteler des kiosques transportables.
  • Aider lors d’activités telles que le tatouage à l’aérographe, la coordination de chasses au trésor, l’utilisation d’un kiosque photo extérieur avec écran vert et de l’artisanat en famille.
  • Démontrer notre site Web à l’aide de tablettes mobiles.
  • Aider Parka à prendre vie en prenant des photos avec les participants des activités, en lisant l’heure du conte avec Parka et en participant à sa démonstration de « danse et chanson ».
  • Inciter d’autres personnes à faire du bénévolat pour Parcs Canada.

Remarque :

  • Il faut être âgé de 14 ans ou plus.• Aucune expérience préalable n’est requise.
  • De bonnes compétences en communication sont un atout.
  • Les bénévoles devront voyager à leurs frais. Certains repas seront fournis ou remboursés.
  • La pertinence de votre demande sera déterminée lors d’un processus de sélection. 
  • Les bénévoles seront contactés selon les besoins et en fonction des activités qui se déroulent dans leurs communautés.

Comment présenter une demande :

Communiquez avec le coordonnateur des bénévoles de l’Unité de gestion du sud-ouest de l’Ontario : joelanthony.forget@pc.gc.ca ou 289-775-1271.