Table of contents

 

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada, 2019

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français :
Énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national de la Bataille-de-Cook's Mills, 2019

For more information about the management statement or about Battle of Cook's Mills National Historic Site of Canada:

Mailing address:
   Location: Battle of Cook's Mills National Historic Site
     Southwestern Ontario Field Unit — Parks Canada
     440 King St. PO Box 321
     Niagara on the Lake, ON L0S 1J0
     Canada

Telephone:
   Phone number: 1-888-773-8888



Approval

Approved by:

Louis R. Lavoie
Field Unit Superintendent
Southwestern Ontario Field Unit
Parks Canada


Introduction

The Parks Canada Agency manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and historic areas in the world. The Agency’s mandate is to protect and present these places for the benefit and enjoyment of current and future generations. This management statement outlines Parks Canada’s management approach and objectives for Battle of Cook’s Mills National Historic Site.

The Battle of Cook's Mills National Historic Site is a rolling semi-rural landscape east of the Welland Canal bordering the north bank of Lyon’s Creek in the City of Welland, Ontario. It was the site of an engagement between British and Canadian troops and American forces during the War of 1812. After his unsuccessful siege of Fort Erie, Lieutenant-General Gordon Drummond withdrew north and concentrated his army along the Chippawa River. In October 1814, American forces under Major-General George Izard advanced northwards. On October 18 Izard ordered Brigadier General Bissell with a force of about 900 men to march to Cook's Mills, a British outpost, to seize provisions in the form of wheat intended for British troops. On October 19, at Cook's Mills, a heavy skirmish took place, involving men of the Glengarry Light Infantry and the 82nd, 100th and 104th Regiments. Led by Lieutenant-Colonel Christopher Myers, the British and Canadian troops succeeded in their objective of assessing the American forces so that Drummond could take appropriate action. Having accomplished their reconnaissance in force they withdrew in good order. Bissel also accomplished his mission of destroying the wheat stored at the mills after which he and his men withdrew to join the main American force. Shortly afterwards the Americans destroyed Fort Erie and re-crossed the Niagara River to go into winter quarters.


Management approach

There are no known extant remains of the battle; however, a cairn and plaque erected by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada in 1977 marks the south-west corner of the battle site. Official recognition refers to the designated polygon north of Lyon's Creek. This is an unmanned site, the interpretive messaging is presented by the plaque.


Management objectives

Resource conservation

Parks Canada protects cultural resources at its heritage places in accordance with its Cultural Resource Management Policy and the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada. This includes basic monitoring of the state of cultural resources, and documentation of interventions at the cairn site. The Battle of Cook’s Mills NHS was established in 1921 in recognition of the historic engagement. Parks Canada’s primary management objectives are:

  1. To protect the historic and archeological characteristics of the cairn site of the Battle of Cook’s Mills.
  2. To protect the cultural heritage associated with the location on the north side of Lyon’s Creek, a tributary of the Chippawa River, used by Drummond as a defensive position during the battle that now forms part of the designated place.

Visitor safety

Parks Canada puts appropriate measures in place to protect the health and safety of visitors to the cairn site.

Site maintenance

Parks Canada maintains a relationship with the municipality to cut the grass on the property so as to respect the site’s heritage values, present a positive image to the public, and reflect the Parks Canada brand.

Public understanding and appreciation

Parks Canada provides information about the significance of the Battle of Cook’s Mills on its website, and on the Canadian Register of Historic Places to encourage visitor and local appreciation, understanding and enjoyment of the heritage of the site.


Links

For more information, please contact:

Tables des matières

 

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada, 2019.

This publication is also available in English:
Battle of Cook's Mills National Historic Site Management Statement, 2019

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’énoncé de gestion ou des questions connexes :

Addresse postale :
   Location: Lieu historique national de la Bataille-de-Cook's Mills
     Unite de gestion du sud-ouest de l'Ontario — Parcs Canada
     440 rue King
     C.P. 321
     Niagara on the Lake (Ontario) L0S 1J0
     Canada

Téléphone :
   Phone number: 1 888 773-8888



Approbation

Approuvé par:

Louis R. Lavoie
Directeur d'unité de gestion
Unite de gestion du sud-ouest de l'Ontario
Parcs Canada


Introduction

L’Agence Parcs Canada gère l’un des plus beaux et des plus grands réseaux d’aires naturelles et historiques protégées de la planète. Son mandat consiste à les protéger et à les mettre en valeur afin que les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain puissent en profiter. Le présent énoncé de gestion décrit l’approche de gestion de Parcs Canada ainsi que les objectifs à atteindre pour le lieu historique national de la Bataille-de-Cook’s-Mills.

Le lieu historique national de la Bataille-de-Cook’s-Mills est constitué d’un paysage vallonné semi-rural situé à l’est du canal Welland et immédiatement au nord du ruisseau Lyon, dans la ville de Welland, en Ontario. Il marque l’endroit où a eu lieu un affrontement entre les troupes britanniques et canadiennes, d’une part, et les troupes américaines, d’autre part, durant la guerre de 1812. Après l’échec du siège du fort Érié, le lieutenant-général Gordon Drummond se retire vers le nord et rassemble son armée le long de la rivière Chippawa. En octobre 1814, les troupes américaines commandées par le major-général George Izard marchent vers le nord. Le 18 octobre, ce dernier ordonne au brigadier-général Bissell de se rendre avec une force d’environ 900 hommes à Cook’s Mills, un avant-poste britannique, pour saisir des provisions, à savoir du blé destiné aux troupes britanniques. Le 19 octobre éclate donc à Cook’s Mills une violente escarmouche à laquelle participent les hommes du Glengarry Light Infantry et des 82e, 100e et 104e Régiments. Dirigées par le lieutenant-colonel Christopher Myers, les troupes britanniques et canadiennes atteignent leur objectif d’évaluer les troupes américaines afin que le lieutenantgénéral Gordon Drummond puisse prendre les mesures appropriées. Après avoir accompli leur reconnaissance en force, ils se retirent sans problème. Le brigadier-général Bissell accomplit également sa mission de détruire le blé stocké dans les moulins, après quoi lui et ses hommes se retirent pour rejoindre la principale troupe américaine. Peu après, les Américains détruisent le fort Érié et retraversent la rivière Niagara pour atteindre les quartiers d’hiver.


Approche de gestion

Il n’existe aucun vestige connu de la bataille, mais la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada a érigé un cairn et installé une plaque commémorative en 1977 dans le coin sud-ouest du lieu de bataille. La reconnaissance officielle s’applique à la parcelle de terre en forme de polygone située au nord du ruisseau Lyon. Le lieu ne compte aucun personnel, et le message d’interprétation est présenté par la plaque.


Objectifs de gestion

Conservation des ressources

Canada protège les ressources culturelles situées dans les lieux patrimoniaux, conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles et aux Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada. Les mesures prises à cet égard comportent notamment la surveillance de base des ressources culturelles et la documentation des interventions menées dans le site du cairn. Le lieu historique national de la Bataille-de-Cook’s-Mills a été établi en 1921 en reconnaissance de cet affrontement historique. Les principaux objectifs de gestion de Parcs Canada sont les suivants :

  1. Protéger les caractéristiques historiques et archéologiques du se du cairn de la bataille de Cook’s Mills.
  2. Protéger le patrimoine culturel associé à l’emplacement du côté nord du ruisseau Lyon, un affluent de la rivière Chippawa, utilisé par le lieutenant-général Gordon Drummond comme position défensive pendant la bataille qui fait maintenant partie du lieu désigné.

Sécurité des visiteurs

Parcs Canada prend les mesures nécessaires pour protéger la santé et la sécurité des visiteurs du site du cairn.

Entretien du lieu

Parcs Canada entretient une relation avec la municipalité pour tondre le gazon afin de respecter les valeurs patrimoniales du lieu, de présenter une image positive au public et de refléter l’image de marque de Parcs Canada.

Compréhension et appréciation du public

Parcs Canada fournit de l’information au sujet de l’importance de la bataille de Cook’s Mills sur son site Web, et dans le Répertoire canadien des lieux patrimoniaux. Il souhaite encourager les visiteurs et la population locale à apprécier et à comprendre le patrimoine du lieu et à en profiter.


Liens

Pour obtenir d’autres renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :