Table of contents


Introduction

The management plan for Bethune Memorial House National Historic Site is currently being reviewed and finalized. As a part of this revision, the Parks Canada Agency offered the public and community stakeholders the opportunity to give their opinions on the management approach and objectives proposed for the site for the next ten years. This public consultation was held from May 15 to July 15, 2019 (8 weeks).

This document outlines this consultation process and presents a summary of the opinions expressed by the public, community stakeholders and regional representatives that were consulted.


Objectives

The consultation had two objectives:

  • To make known the management approach and objectives proposed for the draft management plan.
  • Obtain the views and comments of the public and partners to allow Parks Canada to improve and adjust the proposed management plan.

Consultation process

The national historic site’s planning team developed a “public consultation newsletter” that covered the following points:

  • The historic significance of the site;
  • The operation of the site;
  • The key achievements since the 2001 management plan came into effect;
  • The vision for the site; and
  • The proposed management approach for the next ten years, including key strategies and objectives.

The newsletter, published in French, English and Simplified Chinese was posted on the historic site’s website. The public and partners were invited to read it and make comments and suggestions by email or mail between May 15 and July 15 2019. The consultation was shared on the Town of Gravenhurst, My Muskoka Now and MooseFM Facebook pages that collectively have over 30 thousand followers. A link to the online consultation was posted on the Consulting with Canadians website: https://www.canada.ca/en/government/system/consultations/consultingcanadians.html.

Personalized emails were sent to elected officials and partner organisations inviting the parties to share their comments. A public open house was held on Monday June 3rd, 2019 from 1:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. The issues and objectives targeted by the draft management plan were presented, and all comments were recorded.

Since there is an increased focus on partnering initiatives in the updated management plan, the site reached out directly to 64 partner groups for comment. Among these groups were representatives from ten local school boards, twenty local attractions, along with many national and international partners, as advised by Global Affairs Canada (Greater China Policy and Coordination Division).

A workshop was held with municipal partners and comments were received from 35 national and international partners. The site also received 14 emails or comments from members of the public.

Separate from the broader public engagement process, the site management team reached out to the Moon River Métis and the Wahta Mohawks, and made a presentation to the Chippewas of Rama. The Moon River Metis have shown an interest in using Bethune Memorial House as a meeting site for future community gatherings. Moving forward, the site will continue to engage with Indigenous partners to integrate Indigenous perspectives into the site’s narrative.


Summary of the main comments received during the consultations

Vision

The partners and general public participants generally agreed with the proposed vision and were especially moved by the connection to Bethune’s legacy in inspiring future generations. There was also wide support for Bethune Memorial House to continue to be a bridge between Sino-Canadian relations through meaningful partnerships and programming that resonates with all visitors. The majority of the feedback received focused on the site’s visitor experience program and partnering opportunities. This is consistent with the key strategies that have been proposed in the management plan.

“I really like the idea of using Bethune’s story to inspire others to look beyond their differences and collaborate for a better world.”

“As a hero and role model of his era, Norman Bethune encourages us to not forget our aspirations, to remember our ultimate mission, to move forward and promote his legacy, to explore and investigate the profound accomplishments of his legacy, and to tell his story properly.”

—General public participants

Key strategy 1: Facilitating a personal connection to the Bethune legacy through visitor experience

“We hope that in the future, Bethune Memorial House will have an expanded site, display a greater number of detailed and accurate historical materials and artifacts, have forums for more communication and exchange, and provide a more accessible setting.”

—General public participants

Objective 1.1 to create experiences that connect with and inspire a diversity of visitors was met with positive feedback during consultation. Dr. Norman Bethune holds immense spiritual and personal meaning to visitors of Chinese descent, from Canada and abroad. Feedback received during the consultation period acknowledged that Parks Canada needs to do more to increase awareness about Bethune’s legacy in Canada. Feedback also indicated that the site should develop more experiential and family-friendly programming, with a potential focus on Bethune’s connection to art.

Many respondents agreed with Objective 1.2 that a wider range of visitor experiences should be featured at the site. Some participants suggested that an emphasis to off-peak visitation periods and year-round visitor offers should be explored, with the support of partners, in order to draw a local audience and increase local familiarity with the site, (e.g. school programs, Christmas program, or a free day for the local community). Other suggestions proposed that Parks Canada present the elements of Bethune’s life and legacy that are still relevant today including his push to socialize medicine and his humanitarianism.

“Do not lose sight of the fundamental asset...the house is what gives this site the magic. To walk into the house and feel you might meet the occupants at any moment preparing dinner, entertaining parishioners or young Norman tearing through is, to my mind, the desired effect, and this has been, and is being done admirably.”

—General public participants

During consultation, visitors and partners commented that the authenticity of Bethune Memorial House is valued. Objective 1.3 states the importance that visitors have authentic experiences, that they feel transported back in time, and that historic objects be well cared for and displayed. Feedback from the participants suggested that more could be done to enrich this element of the visitor experience program.

Key strategy 2: Partnering strategically to benefit visitors and Bethune Memorial House National Historic Site

“I believe your updated management plan will allow the site to become a platform for spreading Bethune’s legacy, a source of friendship between China and Canada, and a bridge for Sino-Canadian exchange and communication.”

—General public participants

This key strategy focuses on the need for a strong partnering strategy, as defined by objective 2.1. This strategy resounded well with participants in public consultation. The most common feedback received during the consultation period regarded partnering opportunities. Suggestions were also provided on a local, regional and an international scale. Locally, the site has strong municipal support and there is great interest in connecting the site with the downtown core, with community initiatives, and in cross-promotional opportunities. Internationally, the site is revered as a link between Canada and China. Many organizations in China expressed their interest in continuing to work with Parks Canada in the future. It was also suggested by various partners that the recognition of Bethune’s impact on Spain is growing, and that the site could benefit from deepening ties with Spain.

Objective 2.2 highlights the desire to improve awareness among visitors and Canadians about Bethune Memorial House. Feedback received was in agreement and resulted in several ideas for increasing awareness through marketing, cross promotion and outreach opportunities. It was suggested that the site could benefit from a marketing plan to successfully reach target markets in the Greater Toronto Area and to align with federal and provincial tourism strategies. Participants expressed that partnerships and outreach activities should be an important priority for Bethune Memorial House. Many partners identified the need for the site to be present at conferences, in schools, and with tourism associations.

“If Bethune were alive today, we are sure he would turn his attention to more local matters, especially the plight of our First Nations People. Bethune’s work should remain active here and his story should be told in Canada.”

—General public participants

Most respondents agreed with objective 2.3, that connections to the First World War and to Indigenous histories are important to emphasize the importance of Bethune’s story on both a national and an international scale. Among the feedback received, there was wide support for the presentation of Bethune’s connection to the world wars, and a link with Indigenous stories.

It was also noted that the importance of capturing Bethune’s spirit and his legacy was well documented in the proposed vision, but that this element was not as strong in the main strategies and objectives of the plan.


Conclusion

The consultation exercise proved to be a positive one and enabled Parks Canada to improve its approach to the management of the national historic site and to its work with the public and stakeholders. As a whole, the people who participated in the consultations expressed that they were in favour of this approach and supported the management objectives proposed by Parks Canada.

The results of public consultation reinforced the vision and key strategies laid out in the draft Management Plan for Bethune Memorial House National Historic Site. Feedback was heavily centred around and in favour of increasing relevance through visitor experiences, and leveraging partnering opportunities. While considering this feedback, edits have been made to the draft plan to include further details on the importance of developing authentic and accurate experiences for visitors as well as building and maintaining a strong network of support with partners. Given the participant’s comments, the draft management plan was also edited to include further details on the importance of the inspirational nature of the Bethune story. The management plan now states that the site will strive to be recognized as a “place of inspiration”, where visitors, volunteers and virtual visitors continue to be inspired by the legacy of Dr. Bethune. The management plan will be finalized by the end of 2020.

Parks Canada would like to thank all the participants that took part in the consultation exercise for having submitted their ideas and vision concerning the future of this national historic site.


Appendix I – Partners consulted/engaged

Cultural heritage/Special interest groups
  • Bethune Bai Qiuen Canadian Alliance (BBCA) (Canada-wide, Winnipeg & Vancouver based)
  • Centre Internationaliste Ryerson Fondation Aubin (Montreal based)
  • Henry Norman Bethune International Alliance of Canada
  • In bound travel host companies
    • Sunny Tours
    • Bulk GTA day trip companies (e.g., Tai Pan)
  • The Canadian Museum for Human Rights
  • MSF (Médecins Sans Frontières/Doctors without Borders)
  • Canada-China Friendship Society
  • Ostler Library of the History of Medicine

Tourism groups
  • Destination Ontario
  • Discover Canada
  • Discover Ontario (Corporate and Travel)
  • Explorer’s Edge (RTO 2)
  • Gravenhurst Chamber of Commerce
  • Muskoka Tourism

Government
  • Global Affairs Canada (Public Affairs and China)
  • Chinese Government in Canada
    • The Chinese Consulate in Toronto
    • The Chinese Embassy
  • Department of Canadian Heritage
  • Members of Parliament - Federal
    • Tony Clement, MP Parry Sound - Muskoka
  • Members of Parliament – Provincial
    • Norm Miller, MPP Parry Sound - Muskoka
  • Ontario Ministry of Tourism and Culture
  • Town of Gravenhurst
    • Mayor and Council
    • Heritage Committee
    • Tourism Department / Business Retention and Attraction

Indigenous groups
  • First Nation - Chippewas of Rama (Ojibway)
  • First Nation - Wahta Mohawks
  • The Moon River Métis Council

Other area attractions
  • Museums of Muskoka

Educational institutions
  • Norman Bethune College at York University
  • Dr. Norman Bethune Collegiate Institute in Scarborough
  • Concordia University
  • McGill University (holding his archives)
  • University of Toronto (Bethune graduated from U of T)
  • Local school boards

International
  • Bethune International Peace Hospital
  • Bethune Memorial Hall (museum twinned with BMH)
  • Bethune Military Medical College of the People’s Liberation Army
  • Bethune Spirit Research Association
  • Jesus Majada (Partner in Spain)
  • Municipality of Tang County (twinned with Gravenhurst)
  • Soong Ching Ling Foundation
  • The City of Rivas Vaviamadrid (Partner in Spain)
  • Norman Bethune University of Medical Sciences
  • Norman Bethune Health Science Center of Jilin University
  • Bethune Specialized Medical College (Shijiazhuang)
  • Bethune International Peace Hospital (Shijiazhuang)

Other/Individual
  • Andrew Beckett
  • Bethune relatives (Toronto and California)
  • Colin Old
  • Jeffrey Brown
  • John Wilson
  • Jordan Paterson
  • Larry Hannant
  • Maryellen Corcelli
  • Roderick & Sharon Stewart
  • Rt. Hon. Adrienne Clarkson

Appendix II – Summary of topics

Topics from consultation

Topics raised Number of participants
Work with partners 14
Visitor experience/Program 11
Resources (Marketing and promotion) 11
Outreach/Youth 10
Local interest 10
Bethune's legacy and relevance 9
Indigenous stories 7
Cultural resources and authenticity 6
Open year round/Off-peak 5
First World War 4
Technology 3
Knowledge of Bethune in Canada 3
Facilities/Rental 3
Volunteer program 2
Connection with Spain 2
Resources (Staffing) 1

Table des matières


Présentation

Le plan directeur du lieu historique national de la Maison Commémorative Bethune fait présentement l’objet d’un examen en vue de sa modification. Dans ce contexte, l’Agence Parcs Canada a offert au public et aux intervenants communautaires l’occasion de donner leur avis sur l’approche de gestion et les objectifs proposés pour le lieu historique au cours des dix prochaines années. Cette consultation publique s’est déroulée du 15 mai au 15 juillet 2019 (huit semaines).

Le présent document décrit ce processus de consultation et présente un résumé des opinions exprimées par le public, les intervenants communautaires et les représentants régionaux consultés.


Objectifs

La consultation avait deux objectifs :

  • Faire connaître l’approche et les objectifs de gestion proposés pour l’ébauche du plan directeur.
  • Obtenir les points de vue et les commentaires du public et des partenaires pour que Parcs Canada puisse améliorer et modifier le plan directeur proposé.

Processus de consultation

L’équipe de planification du lieu historique national a élaboré un bulletin de consultation publique qui traitait des éléments suivants :

  • l’importance historique de la maison commémorative Bethune;
  • l’exploitation du lieu historique;
  • les principales réalisations depuis l’entrée en vigueur du plan directeur de 2001;
  • la vision établie pour le lieu historique;
  • l’approche de gestion proposée pour les dix prochaines années, notamment les stratégies et les objectifs clés.

Le bulletin, publié en français, en anglais et en chinois simplifié, a été affiché sur le site Web du lieu historique. Le public et les partenaires ont été invités à le lire et à faire des commentaires et des suggestions par courriel ou par la poste entre le 15 mai et le 15 juillet 2019. La consultation a été diffusée sur les pages Facebook de la Ville de Gravenhurst, de MooseFm et My Muskoka Now, qui comptent collectivement plus de 30 000 abonnés. Un lien vers la consultation en ligne a également été affiché sur le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens : https://www.canada.ca/fr/gouvernement/systeme/consultations/consultationdescanadiens.html.

Des courriels personnalisés ont été envoyés aux représentants élus et aux organisations partenaires, invitant les parties intéressées à faire des commentaires. Une journée portes ouvertes a été organisée à l’intention du public le lundi 3 juin 2019 de 13 h à 19 h. Les questions et les objectifs abordés dans l’ébauche du plan directeur ont été présentés, et tous les commentaires ont été consignés.

Puisque le plan directeur actualisé met davantage l’accent sur les initiatives de partenariat, on a communiqué directement avec des représentants de 64 groupes partenaires pour obtenir leurs commentaires. Parmi ces groupes figuraient dix conseils scolaires locaux, vingt sites touristiques locaux ainsi que de nombreux partenaires canadiens et étrangers, ceux-ci ayant été ciblés en collaboration avec Affaires mondiales Canada (Direction de la Chine élargie – Politique et coordination).

Un atelier a été organisé avec les partenaires municipaux, et 35 partenaires canadiens et étrangers ont soumis des commentaires. Le site a également reçu 14 courriels et commentaires de la part de membres du public.

En plus de consulter le grand public, l’équipe de gestion du lieu historique a aussi consulté les Métis de Moon River, la Première Nation des Mohawk Wahta, en plus de faire un exposé à l’intention des Chippewas de Rama. Les Métis de Moon River ont manifesté leur intérêt à utiliser la maison commémorative Bethune comme lieu de rencontre pour de futurs rassemblements communautaires. À l’avenir, l’équipe du lieu historique continuera de collaborer avec les partenaires autochtones afin d’intégrer leurs perspectives aux récits qui sont racontés sur place.


Résumé des principaux commentaires reçus lors des consultations

Vision

Les partenaires et les participants du grand public se sont pour la plupart dits d’accord avec la vision proposée et ont été particulièrement touchés par les liens établis avec l’héritage du Dr Bethune et la façon dont il a inspiré les prochaines générations. Ils ont également été très nombreux à appuyer la poursuite, par la maison commémorative Bethune, de sa mission de consolidation des relations sino-canadiennes grâce à des programmes et à des partenariats pertinents qui trouvent écho auprès de tous les visiteurs.

La majorité des commentaires reçus ont porté sur le programme de l’expérience du visiteur au lieu historique et sur les possibilités de partenariat, ce qui va dans le sens des stratégies clés qui ont été proposées dans le cadre du plan directeur.

« J’aime beaucoup l’idée de faire appel à l’histoire du Dr Bethune pour inspirer les gens à laisser de côté leurs différences et à collaborer pour bâtir un monde meilleur. »

« Norman Bethune est un héros, un modèle pour son époque. Son parcours nous incite à ne pas oublier nos rêves, à garder en tête notre mission ultime, à promouvoir son héritage en poursuivant sa mission, à explorer et à étudier ses réalisations exceptionnelles, et à raconter son histoire comme il se doit. »

— Participants du grand public

Stratégie clé no 1 : Aider les visiteurs à tisser des liens personnels avec le legs du Dr Bethune en mettant l’accent sur l’expérience du visiteur

« Nous aimerions qu’à l’avenir, la maison commémorative Bethune dispose d’un site plus vaste, expose un plus grand nombre de matériaux et d’artéfacts historiques détaillés et précis, offre des tribunes permettant des communications et des échanges améliorés, et offre un cadre plus accessible. »

— Participants du grand public

L’objectif 1.1, qui consiste à créer des expériences permettant d’établir un lien avec une diversité de visiteurs et d’inspirer ceux-ci, a suscité des réactions positives lors de la consultation. Le Dr Norman Bethune revêt une immense importance spirituelle et personnelle pour les visiteurs d’origine chinoise venus du Canada ou d’ailleurs. D’après les commentaires reçus lors de la période de consultation, Parcs Canada devrait en faire davantage pour faire connaître l’héritage laissé par le Dr Bethune au Canada, et le lieu historique devrait proposer des programmes plus participatifs et adaptés aux familles, en mettant possiblement l’accent sur l’intérêt du Dr Bethune pour l’art.

De nombreuses personnes se sont dites d’accord avec l’objectif 1.2 : offrir aux visiteurs un plus vaste éventail d’expériences au lieu historique. Certains participants ont suggéré de mettre l’accent sur les visites hors saison et sur l’offre de visites tout au long de l’année, grâce au soutien de partenaires, afin d’attirer un public local et de mieux faire connaître le lieu historique (par exemple, programmes scolaires, programme de Noël ou journée gratuite pour les membres de la collectivité locale). D’autres ont proposé que Parcs Canada présente des éléments de la vie et de l’héritage du Dr Bethune qui sont encore pertinents aujourd’hui, notamment sa volonté de socialiser la médecine et ses qualités humanitaires.

« Ne perdez pas de vue l’atout fondamental… La maison est ce qui donne à ce lieu toute sa magie. Quand on entre dans la maison, on doit avoir l’impression de pouvoir à tout moment croiser les occupants en train de préparer le souper ou de divertir des paroissiens, ou encore voir le jeune Norman traverser une pièce à toute vitesse. C’est là l’effet recherché, et il est admirablement réussi. »

— Participants du grand public

Lors de la consultation, les visiteurs et les partenaires ont affirmé apprécier l’authenticité de la maison commémorative Bethune. L’objectif 1.3 précise qu’il est important d’offrir aux visiteurs des expériences authentiques, de les transporter dans le temps et de bien entretenir et exposer les objets historiques. Les participants ont estimé que l’on pourrait en faire davantage pour enrichir cet élément du programme de l’expérience du visiteur.

Stratégie clé no 2 : Établir des partenariats stratégiques au profit des visiteurs et du lieu historique de la Maison Commémorative Bethune

« À mon avis, votre plan directeur actualisé permettra au lieu historique de devenir une plateforme de diffusion de l’héritage du Dr Bethune, une source d’amitié entre la Chine et le Canada, et un pont pour favoriser les échanges sino-canadiens et la communication entre nos deux peuples. »

— Participants du grand public

La deuxième stratégie clé est axée sur la nécessité de s’appuyer sur de solides partenariats, conformément à ce que décrit l’objectif 2.1. Elle a trouvé un écho favorable auprès des participants lors de la consultation publique. Les commentaires les plus fréquents, lors de la période de consultation, concernaient les possibilités de partenariat. Des suggestions ont également été faites à l’échelle locale, régionale et internationale. À l’échelle locale, le lieu historique bénéficie d’un fort soutien municipal, et on souhaite vivement le relier au centre-ville grâce à des initiatives communautaires et des possibilités de publicité croisée. À l’échelle internationale, l’endroit est considéré comme un pont entre le Canada et la Chine. De nombreuses organisations en Chine ont exprimé leur intérêt à continuer de travailler avec Parcs Canada. Différents partenaires ont également souligné que l’importance du Dr Bethune est de plus en plus reconnue en Espagne, et que l’on pourrait donc approfondir les liens avec ce pays.

L’objectif 2.2 met l’accent sur la volonté de mieux faire connaître la maison commémorative Bethune aux visiteurs et aux Canadiens. Les commentaires reçus allaient en ce sens, et plusieurs personnes ont suggéré de mieux faire connaître le lieu historique en ayant recours à des activités de marketing, de publicité croisée et de sensibilisation. On a mentionné qu’un plan de marketing pourrait être utile si l’on veut toucher les marchés cibles du Grand Toronto et aller dans le sens des stratégies touristiques fédérales et provinciales. Les participants ont affirmé que les partenariats et les activités de rayonnement devraient constituer une priorité essentielle pour le lieu historique. De nombreux partenaires ont mentionné la nécessité que les employés participent à des conférences, se rendent dans les écoles et collaborent avec les associations touristiques.

« Si le Dr Bethune était vivant aujourd’hui, nous sommes certains qu’il porterait son attention sur des enjeux plus locaux, en particulier la situation difficile des Premières Nations. L’œuvre de Norman Bethune devrait demeurer vivante chez nous, et son histoire devrait être racontée au Canada. »

— Participants du grand public

La plupart des personnes interrogées étaient d’accord avec l’objectif 2.3, à savoir que les liens avec la Première Guerre mondiale et avec les récits des Autochtones sont importants pour souligner l’importance historique du Dr Bethune à l’échelle nationale et internationale. La majorité des personnes consultées étaient d’accord pour mettre en valeur les liens du Dr Bethune avec les guerres mondiales et les récits des Autochtones.

On a également souligné que l’importance de capturer l’esprit du Dr Bethune et son héritage est bien documentée dans la vision proposée, mais n’est pas aussi présente dans les principaux objectifs et stratégies du plan.


Conclusion

L’exercice de consultation s’est avéré positif et a permis à Parcs Canada d’améliorer son approche en ce qui a trait à la gestion du lieu historique national et à son travail avec le public et les intervenants. Dans l’ensemble, les personnes qui ont participé aux consultations se sont montrées favorables à cette approche et ont appuyé les objectifs de gestion proposés par l’Agence.

Les résultats de la consultation publique ont renforcé la vision et les stratégies clés énoncées dans l’ébauche du plan directeur du lieu historique national de la Maison Commémorative Bethune. Les commentaires ont largement porté sur la nécessité d’accroître la pertinence du lieu historique en offrant des expériences enrichissantes aux visiteurs, et de tirer parti des possibilités de partenariat. Afin de tenir compte de ces commentaires, des modifications ont été apportées à l’ébauche du plan; on a précisé l’importance de créer des expériences authentiques et justes pour les visiteurs, ainsi que d’établir et de maintenir un réseau de soutien solide avec les partenaires. L’ébauche du plan directeur a également été modifiée de façon à y intégrer d’autres éléments soulignant l’importance de l’histoire du Dr Bethune et sa nature inspirante, comme le suggéraient les commentaires formulés par certains participants. Le plan directeur précise désormais que le lieu historique aspirera à être reconnu comme « un lieu d’inspiration » où les visiteurs, les bénévoles et les visiteurs virtuels peuvent continuer de se laisser inspirer par l’héritage du Dr Bethune. Le plan directeur sera finalisé d’ici à la fin de 2020.

Parcs Canada tient à remercier tous les participants à l’exercice de consultation d’avoir présenté leurs idées et leur vision concernant l’avenir de ce lieu historique national.


Annexe I — Partenaires consultés et participants au processus de mobilisation

Groupes du patrimoine culturel/groupes d’intérêt
  • Bethune Bai Qiuen Canadian Alliance (BBCA) (organisme pancanadien, basé à Winnipeg et à Vancouver)
  • Centre Internationaliste Ryerson Fondation Aubin (basé à Montréal)
  • Henry Norman Bethune International Alliance of Canada
  • Agences de voyages organisant des visites du lieu historique
    • Sunny Tours
    • Agences de voyages de la région du Grand Toronto organisant des excursions de groupe d’une journée (p. ex. Tai Pan)
  • Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne
  • Médecins sans frontières
  • Société d’amitié Canada-Chine
  • Bibliothèque Osler d’histoire de la médecine

Groupes à vocation touristique
  • Destination Ontario
  • Découvrez le Canada
  • Découvrir l’Ontario (Entreprises et voyages)
  • Explorer’s Edge (RTO 2)
  • Chambre de commerce de Gravenhurst
  • Tourisme Muskoka

Gouvernement
  • Affaires mondiales Canada (Affaires publiques et Chine)
  • Représentants du gouvernement chinois au Canada
    • Consulat de Chine à Toronto
    • Ambassade de Chine
  • Ministère du Patrimoine canadien
  • Députés fédéraux
    • Tony Clement, député de Parry Sound-Muskoka
  • Députés provinciaux
    • Norm Miller, député provincial de Parry Sound-Muskoka
  • Ministère des Industries du patrimoine, du sport, du tourisme et de la culture de l’Ontario
  • Ville de Gravenhurst
    • Maire et conseillers municipaux
    • Comité du Patrimoine
    • Service du Tourisme/Attrait et rétention des entreprises

Groupes autochtones
  • Première Nation – Chippewas de Rama (Ojibway)
  • Première Nation – Mohawk Wahta
  • Conseil des Métis de Moon River

Autres attractions de la région
  • Musées de Muskoka

Établissements d’enseignement
  • Collège Norman-Bethune à l’Université York
  • Dr. Norman Bethune Collegiate Institute à Scarborough
  • Université Concordia
  • Université McGill (conservation des archives du Dr Bethune)
  • Université de Toronto (Bethune est diplômé de l’Université de Toronto)
  • Conseils scolaires locaux

Organismes étrangers
  • Hôpital international de la Paix Norman Bethune
  • Lieu commémoratif de Bethune (musée jumelé avec le lieu historique national de la Maison Commémorative Bethune)
  • Collège médical militaire Bethune de l’Armée populaire de libération
  • Association de recherche sur l’esprit de Norman Bethune
  • Jesus Majada (partenaire en Espagne)
  • Municipalité du comté de Tang (jumelée avec Gravenhurst)
  • Fondation Soong Ching Ling
  • Ville de Rivas Vaviamadrid (partenaire en Espagne)
  • Université des sciences médicales Norman Bethune
  • Centre des sciences de la santé Norman Bethune de l’université de Jilin
  • Collège médical spécialisé Bethune (Shijiazhuang)
  • Hôpital international de la paix Norman Bethune (Shijiazhuang)

Autres/particuliers
  • Andrew Beckett
  • Famille du Dr Bethune (Toronto et Californie)
  • Colin Old
  • Jeffrey Brown
  • John Wilson
  • Jordan Paterson
  • Larry Hannant
  • Maryellen Corcelli
  • Roderick et Sharon Stewart
  • La très honorable Adrienne Clarkson

Annexe II — Résumé des sujets abordés

Sujets de consultation

Sujets abordés Participants
Collaboration avec les partenaires 14
Expérience du visiteur/programmes 11
Ressources (marketing et promotion) 11
Diffusion externe/jeunes 10
Intérêt local 10
Héritage et pertinence du Dr Bethune 9
Récits des Autochtones 7
Ressources culturelles et authenticité 6
Ouverture à l’année/hors-saison 5
Première Guerre mondiale 4
Technologie 3
Connaissance du Dr Bethune au Canada 3
Installations/location 3
Programme de bénévolat 2
Liens avec l’Espagne 2
Ressources (dotation en personnel) 1