The historic house is closed for restoration work

The gardens and visitor centre remain open.

Every person coming for a visit perceives Canada in a different way: a country of refuge, the most beautiful country in the world, a place symbolized by beloved icons, land that settler-ancestors ‘built’, a construct on the back of Turtle Island, a place whose creation caused oppression, inequality and generational trauma, and more. The Parks Canada team is ready to welcome everyone in an open and respectful way, learn about these different perspectives and explore the ways in which events are remembered and experienced differently.

The exhibits of the historic house at the heart of Bellevue House National Historic Site are undergoing a complete renewal to present and promote a more diverse story about the early history of Canada and examine how Macdonald’s controversial legacy continues to influence Canadians and Indigenous people in modern everyday life. 

The house is expected to reopen to the public in 2023. In the meantime, the Visitor Centre and heritage grounds and gardens remain open (mid-May to mid-October) to welcome you and to share key themes and stories from the renewal underway. 

Getting here

Directions

Bellevue House National Historic Site is located at 35 Centre Street in Kingston, Ontario, 2.3 km (less than 1 1/2 miles) west of Kingston City Hall on King Street West and 1/2 block north on Centre Street.

By car

Exit Hwy 401 via Sir John A. Macdonald Blvd. (Exit 615) south 5.5 km to Union Street, left on Union Street to Centre Street, right on Centre Street 1 1/2 blocks.

By bus

Bellevue House National Historic Site is on three bus routes (#2 Division/Calvin Park, #3 Kingscourt/Polson Park and #6 Cat).

Hours of operation

Complete hours.

Fees

Free admission for youth. Other fees still apply.
Detailed fees list

Facilities and services

Accessible Facilities Accessible services
Information Information
Restrooms Restrooms
Bus parking Bus parking
Parking Parking
Gift Shop Gift shop
Picnic area Picnic area

La maison historique est fermée pour les travaux de restauration

Les jardins et le centre d’accueil demeurent ouverts.

Chaque personne qui vient en visite a une perception différente du Canada : un pays d’accueil, le plus beau pays au monde, un lieu symbolisé par des emblèmes célèbres, un territoire « construit » par ses ancêtres colons, un endroit édifié aux dépens de l’île de la Tortue, un lieu dont la création a causé de l’oppression, des inégalités et des traumatismes générationnels, et autres. L’équipe de Parcs Canada est prête à accueillir chaque personne dans un esprit d’ouverture et de respect, à découvrir les différents points de vue et à songer aux différentes façons dont chaque personne se rappelle et vit les événements.

Les expositions dans la villa historique, qui est au cœur du lieu historique national de la Villa-Bellevue, font l’objet d’un renouvellement complet afin de présenter et de mettre en valeur un portrait plus diversifié des débuts du Canada et de faire connaître comment l’héritage controversé de Macdonald continue d’influencer le quotidien de la population canadienne et des peuples autochtones de nos jours. 

La villa devrait être de nouveau accessible au public en 2023. Entre-temps, le centre d’accueil ainsi que les jardins et les terrains historiques restent ouverts (de la mi-mai à la mi-octobre) et peuvent vous accueillir pour vous faire découvrir les principaux thèmes et récits liés aux travaux de renouvellement en cours.

Comment s’y rendre

Directions 

La villa Bellevue est situé au 35, rue Centre, à Kingston (Ontario), 2,3 km (moins de un mille et demi) à l'ouest de l'hôtel de ville de Kingston sur la rue King Ouest et au nord de la rue Centre.

En voiture

De l'autoroute 401, prendre le boulevard Sir John A. Macdonald sud (sortie 615) en direction sud, sur 5,5 km, jusqu'à la rue Union. Tournez à gauche sur la rue Union, puis à droite sur la rue Centre. La villa est située au milieu du deuxième pâté de maisons.

En autobus

Deux parcours d'autobus (le nº 2 Division/Calvin Park, le nº 3 Kingscourt/Polson Park et le nº 6 Cataraqui Town Centre/Grenadier Village) proposant des départs fréquents du centre-ville, permettent de se rendre au lieu historique national de la Villa-Bellevue.

Heures d'ouverture

Les heures complètes.

Tarifs

Entrée gratuite pour les jeunes. Les autres frais s’appliquent.
Tarification complète

Installations et services

Accessible Facilities Installations accessibles
Information Renseignements
Restrooms Toilettes
Stationnement d’autocars Stationnement pour autocars
Parking Stationnement
Gift Shop Boutique de souvenirs
Aire de pique-nique Aire de pique-nique