Giving our past a future!

Bellevue House was built in the 1840s and was home to Sir John A. Macdonald at the beginning of his political career.
Exterior view of Bellevue House.

Recent architectural assessments have identified the need for repairs to the original plaster of the ceiling at Bellevue House. It is not abnormal that a house of this age and architectural significance requires restoration work.  

The historic house itself is closed for restoration work. The house is only one component of the visitor offer at Bellevue House National Historic Site. The site will remain open with interpretive programming, costumed gardeners on the heritage grounds, the heirloom orchard, and a new gift shop in the Visitor Centre. Exhibits in the Visitor Centre, including the Many Voices of Confederation, the Imagine A Country interactive photo booth, and Guided Tours will continue to be offered. 

A family plays in the gardens.

Regular admission fees will not apply during the restoration. We apologize for the inconvenience that this may cause visitors and thank them for their cooperation during this time.

Parks Canada encourages Canadians to explore the many viewpoints related to Sir John A. Macdonald’s legacy and Confederation. Through this restoration, Bellevue House will continue to be a place of discovery, learning and reflection for present and future generations.

Donnons un avenir à notre passé!

La villa Bellevue a été construite dans les années 1840 et a hébergé sir John A. Macdonald au début de sa carrière politique.
Vue extérieure de Bellevue House.

À la suite d’évaluations architecturales récentes, il a été déterminé qu’il fallait réparer le plâtre d’origine dans certaines parties du plafond. Il n’est pas anormal qu’une maison de cet âge et revêtant une telle importance sur le plan architectural doive faire l’objet de travaux de restauration. 

La maison historique est fermée pour les travaux de restauration. La maison n'est qu'un élément de l'offre touristique au lieu historique nationale de la Villa-Bellevue. Le lieu demeurera ouvert grâce à une programmation interprétative, des jardiniers costumés sur les terres patrimoniales, le verger patrimonial et une nouvelle boutique de cadeaux au centre d’accueil.   Des expositions dans le centre d'accueil, y compris Les Nombreuses Voix de la Confédération, une cabine interactive «Rêvez un Pays» , et des visites guidées continueront d'être offertes.  

Une famille joue dans les jardins.

Les frais d'admission réguliers ne s'appliqueront pas pendant la restauration. Nous nous excusons de tout inconvénient que cela pourrait causer aux visiteurs et nous les remercions de leur coopération durant cette période.

Parcs Canada encourage les Canadiens à explorer les nombreux points de vue associés à l’héritage de Sir John A Macdonald et à la Confédération. Grâce à ces travaux de restauration, la villa Bellevue demeurera un endroit de découverte, d’apprentissage et de réflexions pour les générations présentes et futures.