Back by popular demand, Bellevue House National Historic site will present two whisky tasting seminars on the heritage grounds this summer. Join whisky sommelier, Sylvain Bouffard of Just a Wee Dram, as he inspires your senses with whisky tasting and food pairings. 

For two nights only, Parks Canada will be hosting whisky tastings at Bellevue House with Just a Wee Dram Whisky Seminars on Thursday, July 5, and on Thursday, August 9, from 5:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. Sylvain Bouffard, a retired Canadian Armed Forces Colonel, will lead guests through a selection of fine whiskies. This spirited journey from grain, to cask, to glass will also reveal how whisky is connected to the establishment of modern Canada. Guests will learn about whisky making and a variety of whisky sampling techniques. Each tasting will be matched with a specific food sample that will bring out the flavours in each whisky. To make the experience even more authentic, the whisky will be served in special crystal sampling glasses imported from Scotland. 

Whether new to whisky or an aficionado, the serene grounds of Bellevue House National Historic Site offer an intimate location that will inspire the senses. Early in his political career, Sir John A. Macdonald chose to live at Bellevue House for its whimsical character and tranquil surroundings. Visitors can enjoy the same tranquility, and a wee dram, as they contemplate the history of Canada while surrounded by the backdrop of the Italianate Villa, an heirloom orchard and manicured grounds.  

A “spirited” journey from grain, to cask to glass, learn how whisky is linked to the building of Canada. … Slàinte Mhath!

Reservations required 24 hours in advance: 613-545-8666.  

Program fee:
$75.00 + tax

Dates: July 5th and August 9th, 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

À la demande générale, le lieu historique national de la Villa-Bellevue offrira cet été deux séminaires de dégustation de whisky sur ses terrains patrimoniaux. Joignez-vous à Sylvain Bouffard, le spécialiste du whisky chez Just a Wee Dram, qui guidera vos sens lors d’une dégustation de whisky avec accord des mets.  

Pour deux soirées seulement, Parcs Canada tiendra des dégustations de whisky à la villa Bellevue dans le cadre des séminaires Just a Wee Dram le jeudi 5 juillet et le jeudi 9 août de 17 heures à 20 heures. Le colonel retraité des Forces canadiennes, Sylvain Bouffard, guidera les participants dans une sélection d’excellents whiskys. Ce voyage enivrant de la céréale au fût et au verre distillera l’histoire du whiskey et son rôle dans l’établissement du Canada moderne. Les participants en apprendront davantage sur la fabrication du whisky et sur les diverses techniques de dégustation. Chaque whisky sera assorti d’une bouchée qui en fera ressortir les saveurs. Pour que l’expérience soit encore plus authentique, le whisky sera servi dans des verres de dégustation spéciaux en cristal, importés d’Écosse. 

Que vous soyez néophyte ou connaisseur en matière de whisky, les terrains du lieu historique national de la Villa-Bellevue vous offriront la quiétude qui saura mettre vos sens en éveil. Dès le début de sa carrière politique, sir John A. Macdonald a choisi de vivre à la villa Bellevue pour son caractère insolite et sa tranquillité. Les visiteurs peuvent aussi profiter du calme des lieux, tout en dégustant un petit verre de whisky dans un décor évocateur de l’histoire du Canada, agrémenté d’une villa d’inspiration italienne, d’un verger ancien et de pelouses impeccablement entretenues.  

Faites un voyage « spiritueux », des grains au verre en passant par le fût, et apprenez quels liens unissent cet alcool à l’édification de notre nation… Slàinte Mhath!

Réservation requise 24 h à l’avance : 613-545-8666


Coût du programme :
 75 $ plus taxes

Date : Du 5 juillet et 9 août, 18 h à 20 h.