Staff in period costume welcome you in to the house
Welcome to Bellevue House

Seeds of a Country

Heritage blooms at Bellevue House National Historic Site, the former home of Canada’s First Prime Minister, Sir John A. Macdonald. Discover the kitchen garden, orchard and ornamental garden on a guided tour that explores Macdonald’s legacy and how the initial seeds for the birth of a country were sown in Kingston.

Join a costumed guide on a 30 minute tour through the site as they reveal stories of Macdonald and Confederation. Macdonald was a divisive and controversial leader during his lifetime, and his legacy remains strongly debated. 

Lean more about the many viewpoints about Sir John A. Macdonald and explore the site’s Visitor Centre feature exhibit; Many Voices of Confederation, which includes an interactive photo booth; Imagine a County. 

***During the 2019 season, the site’s historic house will be undergoing interior and exterior restorations and will not be open to the public.

Tours are offered every hour on the hour, from 10:00am to 4:00 pm, 
Site open to 5:00 pm. From May 18 to September 2. 

Fall tours offered at 11:00am, 1:00pm, and 3:00pm
Program Fee of: $4.90

Other Program Fees

Le personnel en costume d'époque vous accueille dans la maison
Bienvenue à Bellevue House

La naissance d’un pays

Un abondant patrimoine vous attend au lieu historique national de la villa Bellevue, l’ancienne demeure de Sir John A. Macdonald, première personne à occuper le poste de premier ministre du Canada. Découvrez le potager, le verger et le jardin ornemental pendant une visite guidée qui explore l’héritage de Sir Macdonald et comment, à Kingston, allait naître un pays.

Au cours d’une visite de 30 minutes du lieu, un guide en costume d’époque vous parlera de Sir Macdonald et de la Confédération. John Macdonald a été un dirigeant qui a semé la discorde et la controverse de son vivant, et son héritage fait toujours l’objet de vifs débats.

Découvrez les nombreux points de vue sur Sir John A. Macdonald et visitez l’exposition vedette du centre d’accueil du lieu, Les nombreuses voix de la Confédération, qui comprend une cabine photo interactive, Imagine a County.

*** Au cours de la saison 2019, la villa historique fera l’objet de travaux de restauration intérieure et extérieure et ne sera pas ouverte au public.

Des visites sont offertes tous les jours, à l’heure juste, de 10 h à 16 h.
Lieu ouvert jusqu’à 17 h. Du 18 mai au 2 septembre.

Visites en automne offertes à 11 h, 13 h et 15 h
Coût du programme : 4,90 $

Autre frais d'inscription au programmes.