Table of contents

 

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada, 2019

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français :
Énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national de la Colline-de-la-Bataille, 2019

For more information about the management statement or about Battle Hill National Historic Site of Canada:

Mailing address:
   Location: Battle Hill National Historic Site
     Southwestern Ontario Field Unit — Parks Canada
     440 King St. PO Box 321
     Niagara on the Lake, ON L0S 1J0
     Canada

Telephone:
   Phone number: 1-888-773-8888



Approval

Approved by:

Louis R. Lavoie
Field Unit Superintendent
Southwestern Ontario Field Unit
Parks Canada


Introduction

The Parks Canada Agency manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and historic areas in the world. The Agency’s mandate is to protect and present these places for the benefit and enjoyment of current and future generations. This management statement outlines Parks Canada’s management approach and objectives for Battle Hill National Historic Site.

Battle Hill National Historic Site is located on a rolling landscape in the valley of Battle Hill near Highway 2 (also known as Longwoods Road) west of Wardsville, Ontario. The site is associated with the Battle of Longwoods, which occurred on March 4, 1814 on an open landscape near what is now Battle Hill Creek. Following a short skirmish between the British Regulars and American forces, the British were forced to retreat back to Delaware, while the Americans abandoned their advance and retreated to Detroit. Official recognition refers to a polygon of land near Highway 2 in Wardsville, Ontario. The site is maintained by Parks Canada.


Management approach

Battle Hill was designated by the HSMBC as a national historic site on 1924-06-04. There are no known extant remains of the battle; however, the site is marked by a plaque and cairn positioned on a small rise of land and surrounded by an iron fence. Official recognition refers to a polygon of land near Highway 2 in Wardsville, Ontario. The cairn site is maintained by Parks Canada. This is an unmanned site, the interpretive messaging is presented by the plaque.


Management objectives

The Battle Hill NHS was established in 1924 in recognition of the special historic features of the Battle Hill and the Battle of Longwoods. Parks Canada’s primary management objectives are:

Resource conservation

Parks Canada protects cultural resources at its heritage places in accordance with its Cultural Resource Management Policy and the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada. This includes basic monitoring of the state of cultural resources, and documentation of interventions at the site.

  1. To protect the historic and archeological characteristics of the cairn site of the Battle of Longwoods.
  2. To protect the cultural heritage associated with the cairn site and the viewscape from the battlefield to Battle Hill.

Visitor safety

Parks Canada puts appropriate measures, such as site inspections to protect the health and safety of visitors to the site.

Site maintenance

Parks Canada maintains a relationship with a local organisation to cut and maintain the grounds so as to respect the site’s heritage values, present a positive image to the public, and reflect the Parks Canada brand.

Public understanding and appreciation

Parks Canada provides information about the significance of the Battle Hill NHS on its website, and on the Canadian Register of Historic Places.


Links

For more information, please contact:

Tables des matières

 

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada, 2019.

This publication is also available in English:
Battle Hill National Historic Site Management Statement, 2019

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’énoncé de gestion ou des questions connexes :

Addresse postale :
   Location: Lieu historique national de la Colline-de-la-Bataille
     Unite de gestion du sud-ouest de l'Ontario — Parcs Canada
     440 rue King
     C.P. 321
     Niagara on the Lake (Ontario) L0S 1J0
     Canada

Téléphone :
   Phone number: 1 888 773-8888



Approbation

Approuvé par:

Louis R. Lavoie
Directeur d'unité de gestion
Unite de gestion du sud-ouest de l'Ontario
Parcs Canada


Introduction

L’Agence Parcs Canada gère l’un des plus beaux et des plus grands réseaux d’aires naturelles et historiques protégées de la planète. Son mandat consiste à les protéger et à les mettre en valeur afin que les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain puissent en profiter. Le présent énoncé de gestion décrit l’approche de gestion de Parcs Canada ainsi que les objectifs à atteindre pour le lieu historique national de la Colline-de-la-Bataille.

Le lieu historique national de la Colline-de-la-Bataille se trouve dans une région onduleuse, au coeur de la vallée de la colline de la Bataille, près de la route 2 (aussi connue sous le nom de chemin Longwoods), à l’ouest de Wardsville, en Ontario. Le lieu est associé à la bataille de Longwoods, qui s’est déroulée le 4 mars 1814 dans une plaine, près de ce qui est aujourd’hui appelé le ruisseau Battle Hill. Après une brève escarmouche entre les membres de la force régulière britannique et les forces américaines, les Britanniques doivent se replier au Delaware, tandis que les Américains abandonnent leur avance et se retirent à Detroit. La reconnaissance officielle s’applique à un terrain en forme de polygone situé près de la route 2, à Wardsville, en Ontario. Le site est entretenu par Parcs Canada.


Approche de gestion

La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada a désigné la colline de la Bataille « lieu historique national » le 04/06/1924. Il ne subsiste aucun vestige connu de la bataille, mais le lieu est marqué d’une plaque et d’un cairn, installés au sommet d’une petite colline et entourés d’une clôture de fer. La reconnaissance officielle s’applique à un terrain en forme de polygone situé près de la route 2, à Wardsville, en Ontario. Le site du cairn ne compte aucun personnel, et le message d’interprétation est présenté par la plaque.


Objectifs de gestion

Le lieu historique national de la Colline-de-la-Bataille a été établi en 1924 en reconnaissance des caractéristiques historiques spéciales de la colline de la Bataille et de la bataille de Longwoods. Les principaux objectifs de gestion de Parcs Canada sont les suivants :

Conservation des ressources

Canada protège les ressources culturelles situées dans les lieux patrimoniaux, conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles et aux Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada. Les mesures prises à cet égard comportent notamment la surveillance de base des ressources culturelles et la documentation des interventions menées dans le lieu.

  1. Protéger les caractéristiques historiques et archéologiques du site du cairn de la bataille de Longwoods.
  2. Protéger le patrimoine culturel associé au site du cairn et le panorama depuis le champ de bataille vers la colline de la Bataille.

Sécurité des visiteurs

Parcs Canada prend les mesures appropriées, comme l’inspection des lieux, pour protéger la santé et la sécurité des visiteurs.

Entretien du lieu

Parcs Canada entretient une relation avec un organisme local pour tondre le gazon et entretenir les terrains afin de respecter les valeurs patrimoniales du lieu, de présenter une image positive au public et le refléter l’image de marque de Parcs Canada.

Compréhension et appréciation du public

Canada fournit de l’information au sujet de l’importance de la colline de la Bataille sur son site Web, et dans le Répertoire canadien des lieux patrimoniaux.


Liens

Pour obtenir d’autres renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :