In an innovative collaborative effort, Parks Canada and Inuit are working together on a multiyear investigation of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror. Experts anticipate that the thousands of artifacts remaining on the two shipwrecks - which may include written documents – together with Inuit knowledge will help further unravel the mystery of the Franklin Expedition.

Inuit knowledge, or Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit, helped preserve some of the earliest known encounters by Inuit of the Franklin Expedition, and aided in the discovery of each wreck. This wealth of knowledge, of the land and its history, will continue to aid in modern research as the wrecks and the surrounding landscape is documented.

Nature and science

Archaeology

The location of the Erebus and Terror had been a mystery for over 150 years, after Sir John Franklin and his crew went missing in 1846. But with the powerful combination of traditional Inuit knowledge and modern technology, the ships were discovered in 2014 and 2016, resting on the bottom of the Arctic Ocean near King William Island, also known as Qikiqtaq.

Dans le cadre d’une collaboration novatrice, Parcs Canada et les Inuits collaborent à une enquête pluriannuelle sur le HMS Erebus et le HMS Terror. Les experts de Parcs Canada prévoient que les milliers d'artefacts se trouvant encore sur les deux naufrages, et qui pourraient inclure des documents écrits, - de concert avec les connaissances des Inuits aideront à mieux percer le mystère de l'expédition Franklin.

Le savoir Inuit, ou Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit, a aidé à préserver certaines des premières rencontres connues par les Inuits de l'expédition Franklin, et aidé à la découverte de chaque épave. Cette richesse de la connaissance, de la terre et de son histoire, continuera à aider dans la recherche moderne au fur et à mesure que les épaves et le paysage environnant sera documenté.

Archéologie

L’emplacement des épaves du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror a été une énigme pendant plus de 150 ans, et ce, même après la disparition de sir John Franklin et de son équipage en 1846. Cependant, grâce à la combinaison efficace du savoir traditionnel inuit et de la technologie modernes, les navires ont été découverts en 2014 et 2016, reposant sur le fond marin de l’océan Arctique près de l’île du Roi-Guillaume, aussi connue sous le nom de Qikiqtaq.