Restricted area and activities in The Wrecks Of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site Of Canada

Pursuant to Section 12(1) of the National Historic Parks General Regulations, the Field Unit Superintendent of the Nunavut Field Unit hereby designates entry to and listed activities in the Wrecks of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site as restricted activities requiring written authorization from the Field Unit Superintendent.

These restrictions do not affect the right of access by Nunavut Inuit for harvesting as provided in the Nunavut Agreement (NA).

Restricted Area

No person shall enter the Wrecks of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site of Canada without written authorization from the Field Unit Superintendent, except where a person is a Nunavut Inuk accessing the site for harvesting as provided in the NA.

Purpose

The purpose of this Order is to conserve the heritage value of significant archaeological, historical and cultural resources located in the Wrecks of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site of Canada.

Penalty

An offence under the Canada National Parks Act by an individual is punishable by a fine of up to $100,000. An offence by a corporation is punishable by a fine of up to $500,000.

Map of the Wrecks Of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site Of Canada
Location map of the wrecks 

For more information, call the Parks Canada office at 867-975-4673

Zone et activités réglementées dans le lieu historique national du Canada des Épaves-du-HMS-Erebus-et-du-HMS-Terror

Conformément au paragraphe 12(1) du Règlement général sur les parcs historiques nationaux, la directrice de l'unité de gestion du Nunavut désigne par la présente l'accès au lieu historique national des Épaves-du-HMS-Erebus-et-du-HMS-Terror ainsi que les activités énumérées et exercées dans le lieu susmentionné comme étant des activités réglementées nécessitant une autorisation de la directrice de l'unité de gestion.

Ces restrictions n'affectent en rien le droit d'accès des Inuits du Nunavut aux fins de récolte comme le prévoit l'Accord du Nunavut (AN).

Zone réglementée

Il est interdit d'entrer dans le lieu historique national du Canada des Épaves-du-HMS-Erebus-et-du-HMS-Terror sans autorisation écrite de la directrice de l'unité de gestion, sauf si la personne est un Inuk du Nunavut accédant au lieu à des fins de récolte, comme le prévoit l'AN.

But

Le but du présent décret est de préserver la valeur patrimoniale des ressources archéologiques, historiques et culturelles situées dans le lieu historique national du Canada des Épaves-du-HMS-Erebus-et-du-HMS-Terror.

Sanction

Toute personne commettant une infraction à la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada s'expose à une amende pouvant aller jusqu'à 100 000 $. Si l'infraction est commise par une personne morale, l'amende peut aller jusqu'à 500 000 $.

Lieu historique national du Canada des Épaves-du-HMS-Erebus-et-du-HMS-Terror
Plan de localisation des épaves 

Pour de plus amples informations, appelez le bureau de Parcs Canada au 867-975-4673