Based on the Australian model, the Indigenous Guardians program supports Indigenous land management and oversight in their territories based on a cultural responsibility for the land.

The program provides training and career opportunities for Indigenous Peoples to work as equal partners with governments and industry on the protection and management of land and resources.

Inspired by other Guardian and Watchmen programs at cooperatively managed places, Parks Canada worked with the Franklin Interim Advisory Committee to develop a Guardians Program for the wrecks of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror, which began in 2017.

Each summer, community members from Gjoa Haven undertake their duties at Guardian camp locations near both wreck sites.

The Guardians program involves Inuit in the protection and monitoring of the wreck sites and contributes to further integrating Inuit knowledge into site operations. When possible, the Guardians work closely with Parks Canada’s Underwater Archaeology Team during their work each summer.

Eventually, the Guardians will play a key role in hosting visitors to the wreck sites – sharing knowledge and Inuit culture and presenting the Franklin story as well as monitoring the two wreck sites.

Basé sur le modèle australien, le programme des Gardiens Autochtones soutient la gestion et la surveillance des terres sur leurs territoires en fonction d'une responsabilité culturelle pour la terre.

Le programme offre des formations et des opportunités de carrière pour les peuples autochtones afin de travailler comme partenaires égaux avec les gouvernements et l'industrie pour la protection et la gestion des terres et des ressources.

Inspiré par d'autres programmes de gardiens dans des endroits gérés coopérativement, Parcs Canada a travaillé avec le Comité consultatif intérimaire de Franklin au développement d'un programme de gardiens pour les épaves de HMS Erebus et HMS Terror qui a débuté en 2017.

Chaque été, des membres de la communauté de Gjoa Haven vaquent à leurs occupationssur les lieux des campements des gardiens près du site de chacune des deux épaves.

Le programme des Gardiens implique les Inuits dans la protection et la surveillance des sites d'épaves et contribue à intégrer davantage les connaissances inuites aux sites opérationnels. Lorsque possible, les Gardiens travaillent en étroite collaboration avec l'équipe d'archéologie subaquatique de Parcs Canada lors de leur travail estival.

Finalement, les Gardiens joueront un rôle clé dans l’accueil des visiteurs sur les sites des épaves, soit le partage des connaissances et la culture inuite, ainsi que la présentation de l'histoire de Franklin et la surveillance du site de chacune des deux épaves.